We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oktober 6 utca, 26, at Szabadsag ter, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We came here for 3 nights on our recent honeymoon and it was perfect. Champagne on arrival, a beautiful room with a lovely view and friendly staff. Plus the breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want. The location was perfect as you could walk everywhere and there were some great restaurants on the same street. Highly recommended, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear guest,

In the first place, we would like to congratulate you once more for your recent wedding and we thank you for choosing our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest for such a special occasion. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms. We try to fulfill and even surpass all the expectations of all our target groups as they range from families to golden agers of many different cultures and nationalities. Therefore, all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. This is why we can confirm that they provide a personalized service. When you write that you find our employees very friendly, it strengthens our determination to continue developing an authentic service culture that enchants each and every of our clients.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we allocated you in. It is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

We also pay the finest attention to detail when it comes to remarkably prepared food and unmatched service. We are very happy to see that you felt absolutely satisfied with the gastronomy that our kitchen staff prepares for our guests, we are sure that compliments like yours make their work worthwhile and we will certainly congratulate them for enriching your holiday with tasty culinary highlights.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    106
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
303
25
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel has got it all. Location , rooms , great service and comfy beds. The only problems we ran into we're the safes and the showers. The showers drain out into the bathroom and the safes didn't work properly.
The cost is a high but you pay for what you get and we got all we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Clay,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced with the shower and safe. Our technical service was informed about it and our technicians are trying to solve the inconvenience.

On the other hand, we are delighted and we want to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our rooms, the beautiful location, and the quality of our culinary performances as the personalized and close service. Those are very important aspects for us and the key to satisfy our guests.

In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This Hotel is a must, the staff were the most friendly i have ever had in my travels, the rooms were modern, clean and beautiful but most of all the location was the best. You could walk everywhere, we only took a cab one time other than that you can walk to almost everything, even across the river we walked the chain bridge to the other side and its not far at all, you see the parliment the whole way once you hit the river. The Iberostar is the place to stay all around you can't go wrong here. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Melissa, Waylon, Chelsea & Alex

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Budapest and the Iberostar Hotel was one of the many highlights.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms amazing. We had the tasting menu in the hotel restaurant one evening and equal to the Michelin star restaurants we have in Scotland. Breakfasts excellent too.

The staff were at all times very professional and always helpful, and the manager Laurent gave us a guided tour of the hotel with its history which we appreciated.

The hotel itself will encourage us back to Budapest in the future, and we will seek this chain also when we stay in other parts of the world.

Ruth Walker

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We asked for an executive suite and it was definitely worth the money. Our room was big, comfortable and overlooking liberty square, close to chain bridge and St. Stephan's basilica. The staff was helpful (helped us with reservations to visit the Parliament) mad WIFI was included.

Room Tip: We loved the view to Liberty square ( room 204)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent hotel! Located mid-way between the Parliament and St. Steven's church, it's in easy walking distance to all the major tourist attractions. We almost stayed at the InterContinental since my wife has priority status there. But the fact that InterContinental charged for wifi and an extra person was a big turn off. So we were very happy with our choice at Iberostar!

As many others have mentioned in these reviews, the hotel is very modern. Following the tips here on TripAdvisor, I asked for a room on the top level (fifth floor) with a view of the square when we arrived. The receptionist was extremely helpful, and after some checking, was able to accommodate us. The room itself was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The in-room safe was a tad small. My wife typically brings her small laptop with her which can usually fit in most hotel in-room safes. But, unfortunately, this wasn't the case with Iberostar's safe.

The bathroom, while very nice, was unusual in that it had a clear glass pane as the wall separating it from the rest of the room. While this makes it convenient for watching TV in the other room (especially with the extra volume controls in the bathroom), a curtain to close off the glass wall would have been good for additional privacy and to prevent disturbing the person in the other room during late night bathroom breaks or early morning showers. The knobs on the faucet sink were also very difficult to turn with soapy hands. You basically had to leave the water running while soaping your hands, or you could never get them turned on again!

Still, these are just a few nits in an otherwise perfect hotel stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms. We try to fulfill and even surpass all the expectations of all our target groups as they range from families to golden agers of many different cultures and nationalities. Therefore, all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training to provide the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. We will inform our reception about your satisfaction with their performance.

We thank you for recommending us and it is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Iberostar is right in e middle of the city, around 10mins taxi ride from the main station, it can also be ached very easily with the subway. Check-in was friendly and competent, I got upgraded to a nice junior suite. The hotel is brandnew, the rooms spacious, modern with all amenities one can wish for! The bathroom was really nice - the only downside was that there were some problems with the heating in there. Breakfast is a buffet and one can order whatever warm egg-dish one wants. In the basement there is a small spa area witha central whirlpool, a sauna and turkish bath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear John,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are very happy that on this occasion we have been able to do so.

It is enjoyable to read how comfortable you felt in our modern hotel with spacious rooms. However, we apologize for the inconvenience when having punctual difficulties with the heating system. By now, this has been remedied.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are delighted that you could enjoy their professionalism and competence.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6 utca, 26, at Szabadsag ter, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the new concept of boutique hotel with a cozy spa, the IBEROSTAR Grand Budapest hotel is intended for get-aways and luxury travel, since it not only boasts style and good taste but also a prime location across from Liberty Square (Szabadsag ter) on the Pest side of the city, near the Danube that separates the area from the popular Buda side. In an environment of excellence and good taste, with personal attention and the most modern of facilities, the Grand Budapest, which opened in 2011, joins the ranks of the IBEROSTAR Grand Collection, a hotel concept designed for top executives, VIP's and deluxe travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.