We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most balanced hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oktober 6 utca, 26, at Szabadsag ter, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
España
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most balanced hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

From you arrive everything is perfect. The welcome on the reception desk is wonderful, you can sit while you are checking in and they offer you a beberage (water or orange juice). My room had an incredible view to Szabasag square. Rooms are modern but functional. Bathroom is perfect and there is free wifi.
A very nice little 5 star hotel. Maybe the best choice considering all factors.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear guest,
In first place, Thank you for choose Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest for so a important moment like holidays. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel so much during your stay.

Make our guest feel welcome, give them an excellent service, improve each day an outstanding cuisine and make our guest delight with our hotel facilities are of prime importance to Iberostar.

Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Online Reputation Manager

Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    157
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
448
33
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcudia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I spent there one night with my girlfriend at the end of a 6 days trip in Budapest and I could not be happier about the choice. I wish I would have decided to stay there during my whole stay in the city. The room was fabulous. Spotless, with a very comfortable bed, large bathroom, nice decoration and great views.

The staff was very helpful. The waiters were very kind and gave a good service. We only had breakfast but it was great (you could order anything from a large menu and everything was very tasty!). The reception desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The black-haired lady checked us in in a very smooth and friendly way, giving us her favourite room (502) and recommended a great italian restaurant near the basilique for dinner.

I fully recommend this hotel to anyone and I'm surely going back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

In the first place we would like to thank you for your choose our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest . We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank again for your positive comments and your motivating words regarding the amiability of our staff .

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner and I have just arrived back home from a 6 night stay in this hotel. There are many great things about this hotel:

1) Location is fabulous just down the road from the beautiful Basilica and many lovely restaurants and bars. Short 5-10 minute walk to other main attractions such as Parliament building, River Danube and chain bridge

2) The restaurant and the service from the waiters/waitresses is outstanding.. close to Michelin star quality. We had two meals at the restaurant, the first night we arrived and got to the restaurant a little too late for service. Tamas the head waiter greeted us and asked the chef if we could still eat there and we had a three course meal... AND THEN SOME. They included many little aperitifs that were complimentary and free of charge. Fabulous out of this world food with great service even though we arrived at 10:00pm and the only people left at the restaurant we were not rushed at all. Although it comes at a price the quality and the originality of the food is a great experience and worth paying for.

We also ate at the restaurant for New Years Eve approx 10 course set menu... SUBLIME a great experience and a big thank you to the restaurant and Tamas for making our stay in Budapest so special.

3) The room. We stayed in a deluxe room on the first floor with a view of the park. I have stayed in many hotels and the suite was so very luxurious and spacious. The ceiling heights are over 12ft, beautiful character whilst very modern furnishings. The biggest and most powerful shower I have ever used and a beautiful large free standing bath tub.

There were a few niggles that for me did spoil the 5* rating and I think this is partly down to the hotel being so new.

1) The bed although absolutely beautifully dressed and enormous in size (super super king size) it was far too soft and gave no back support. I ended up sleeping on the little sofa in the room because my back was so sore. My partner did not have the same problem although did find the mattress way too soft as well, I guess its down to personal taste.

2) BEWARE OF HIDDEN CHARGES - Although we had paid for our accomodation and flights on expedia we were presented with an additional tax bill we had to pay before we entered our hotel room. Also the very tempting and lovely tasting tea and coffee next to the coffee machine YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR.... I have stayed in many hotels and usually in such a high star hotel you atleast get complimentary tea and coffee in your room. We felt a little cheated as no where in the room did it suggest we would be charged.

3) We requested the hotel book us a couple of restaurant reservations, this was done three days in advance because the restaurants were very popular and we did not wish to be disappointed. The lady at the reception desk contacted us to let us know the reservations had been booked. Unfortunately we turned up at the restaurant and the front of house had no clue we were due to arrive and as a result we had to wait for a table!!!! Pretty embarrassing.

Now although we did manage to get in at the restaurant I was really disappointed that a 5* hotel had failed to arrange such a simple thing. When we explained this to the hotel manager he did apologise, however it seems to me there is no communication between any of the reception team, I guess that's something that will hopefully improve

4) The breakfast is very pricey for what it is, £20 each per day. It was mainly bread and fruit. We were very glad we did not get breakfast every day as there were some delicious breakfasts available near by for a fraction of the price at some of the local restaurants, THE STRUDEL HOUSE is definitely worth a visit!!

Overall a good experience of the hotel but the little things are slightly letting it down at the moment. Budapest is a fabulous city we will be trying another hotel next time as not quite the service we were expecting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The room we had was big and nicely decorated. however, it was located right on top of the kitchen or something so there was always a silent hum (from freezer?) noticeable. Breakfast was nice too, but lots of stuff was not in the buffet so it was made to order. It took 3 days before we got the complete set when starting breakfast (orange juice, some fruit and coffee). That is not that big of a problem, but if they charge 5 star money they should pay more attention to these details.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Absolutely one of the best hotels in Budapest! Fantastic location, very good service, our room is fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The best location in town. Near excellent restaurants - foie gras is incredible - and very calm, sleep like an innocent....if you enjoy clubs, iberostar is your place, near but calm. The hotel is brand new, really cozy, the oppened was in set/2011

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We really enjoyed everything. The room was huge with very special design (I think that the photos cannot capture how good and large the room is). The location was great (elegant and close to the main points of interest). The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They responded successfully to our requests. Good breakfast (location and food). My minor points of recommendation would be to be more thorough with the renewal of the bathroom amenities. In the busy days the service in the breakfast room seemed to go a little slow although it appeared to be sufficiently staffed (I would recommend to allocate tasks between the staff). In my opinion, I consider that having free of charge in room coffee amenities is a valuable service that costs almost nothing to the hotels. So I would recommend this hotel to provide free the coffee from the espresso machine or, alternatively provide amenities for instant coffee or tea. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,847 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6 utca, 26, at Szabadsag ter, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest welcomes you to an exclusive boutique hotel in Budapest with spa and wellness centre. Located in the heart of the capital of Hungary, this five-star establishment in Budapest offers a range of facilities and services to make your romantic getaway or business trip an unforgettable experience.Enjoy the fitness room, luxury suites, concierge service, gourmet food, and more! The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, a hotel in Liberty Square (Szabadsag ter) that meets your needs. Luxury hotel in central Budapest. The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest has everything it needs to be considered one of the best luxury hotels in east-bank Pest, across Liberty Square. It is surrounded by stately buildings that are home to embassies and ministries, within walking distance of the city's shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.