We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too little, too late” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Jubilee Budapest

Cafe Jubilee Budapest
Szent Istvan Krt. 13., Budapest 1055, Hungary
+36 1 789 3357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $14
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Too little, too late”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A 90-120 minute wait from sitting down to receiving my breakfast.
They must have had staffing problems on the day, but that's no excuse for the lack of communication over how long it was going to take.
Other tables sat down, waited, waited and ended up leaving before being acknowledged.The place wasn't even a quarter full.
Fortunately it was raining outside and I was with a group that were in no rush, so it somewhat eased the painful wait.
When the food arrived, it was ok... just ok. The beef sandwich has such a think sliver of beef inside, it was only saved by the flavour of the gorgonzola and onion chutney. Others in the group had nice enough meals, but certainly not worth the long wait.
The decor was fun and impressive, but I went there to eat, not to admire the decor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    96
    13
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perhaps caught them at a bad time.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went for breakfast at the jubilee last week while visiting the city with friends.
8 of us arrived just before 10 and ordered breakfast and drinks. There was only one guy front of house and we could tell he was very busy, although he was very polite and spoke excellent English.

Unfortunately Breakfast turned into lunch and it over 2 hours until we got our meals. This wasn't terrible as the atmosphere is very good and it was hurling rain down outside anyway so we probably would have stayed, but none the less it did take far too long and a number of other people actually left before their food arrived.

Value wise it wasn't bad however we did eat at better places through out the week, so perhaps avoid if you want food, as there are plenty of better establishments close by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Read the reviews on this sight and as Café Jubilee turned out to be just round the corner from our hotel decided to give it a go. Liked it straight away. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Renata with her sunny smile. Menu varied and good value with generous portions. Loved the home made lemonade. Good mix of music and great décor. Ate there 5 out of 7 nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cafe Jubilee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good food at reasonable prices. Their cheese platter to share was great and their pasta with angustini. lovely and original decor. Friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm not quite sure how this is an Italian and Mediterranean restaurant since it primarily serves traditional Hungarian meals and has a British theme in terms of decorations. Anyway, I live in the building that Jubilee is located in and can tell you they have a fantastic breakfast menu for Budapest. I eat there every Sunday and the service is always professional and personable. I have had dinner there too and it is definitely good, but not a place I would go out of my way to eat at for dinner. Breakfast or lunch, sure, but not dinner. The summer terrace is nice, unless you are put off by the occasional ambulance siren.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jubilee Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Jubilee Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Jubilee Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.