We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe GianMario

Caffe GianMario
Bajcsy-Zsilinszky ut 35, Budapest 1065, Hungary
003612695044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,778 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The only true italian caffetteria in budapest!!! if you want to feel 20 minutes in italy don`t hesitate to visit us. real italian creamy strong coffee, cappuccino, latte macchiato a.s.o. starting from last june we also prepare italian pizza!!!a must for everyone!!!Come and see!!!
Budapest
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I have been in Italy luckily quite a few times and I can only say that this place is really how an Italian restaurant should be like. The decor is faded somewhat (as it usually is in Italy), but the food is great at relatively good prices. Spagettis are not on the menu, because they change daily in regard to what is fresh. I ate a mussel spagetti and as opposed to what you usually get in Budapest it had a very decent amount of mussel in it. In addition they also had cannoli siciliani which I have never ever eaten outside of Italy! It was also great.
Come here if you want to eat good food, at reasonable prices, with Italian atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    66
    26
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
1 review
“:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great food, great people, perfect mood. It's great too that all products are imported from Italy and the TV programme is also Italian :)))

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Looks like a dump, best pizza ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The first thing you see when you enter is that basically you can only east pizza there and the place isn't quite fancy and that's an understatement. However, when you get your pizza you can only say Mamma Mia!! Amazing pizza!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eilat, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“simpley the best !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

little italy in the heart of budapest ... very home hospitality from giovanni and the crew .
stunning place , make yoy feel like a family member .
tasty coffee and marvellous pizza .
thank you giovanni , we love you !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreni Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In warm, friendly company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

First, i must say : here i had the best pizza from Budapest, at least so far :)

The owners are very friendly and always ready to help you...i have a bar in Romania and im the same kind of person like them, always talking and smiling around.

I would recommand you to visit their caffe, a very warm place with great latino atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inmario, Proprietario at Caffe GianMario, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very much to apreciate our easy and genuine way to run our business! Both of us Giovanni and me (Mario) we try to give attention that all our customers are properly advised of what could be that best food to serve for them. Most of the people appreciate our way. Thank you to appreciate our work! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe GianMario also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Caffe GianMario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe GianMario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.