We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool jazz and reasonably priced food near the Danube” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otkert

Otkert
Zrinyi u. 4, Budapest, Hungary
+36 70 330 8652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #779 of 1,864 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: International, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bar, Music venue, Club, Á la carte, Live music, Special party, International and Hungarian Kitchen, Dj Sets, Dail Menu.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Cool jazz and reasonably priced food near the Danube”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

For our last night in Budapest we decided to take a chance on this place despite the fact that there were other restaurants rated more highly in the neighborhood near the Chain Bridge. We were tempted by the wonderful jazz wafting in the air, and just wanted to make the meal last as long as possible, lingering before conceding that we had to go back to real life the next day. What a great decision! While this is not haute cuisine, the food was well prepared, flavorful, reasonably priced and plentiful. It was nice that they had little symbols on the menu for vegetarian dishes, and one of them, the Papardelle with wild forest mushrooms, was more than adequate, it was delicious. Maybe I was just ready and able to enjoy the food so much because the music was so wonderful--but, in the end, who cares, as long as the entire experience was pleasurable. We both had mango daiquiris, and they were good too. My husband enjoyed himself as well, and he is not easily impressed. The only negative was the confused, and dare I say it, less than intelligent server (a blonde woman with her hair up in a clip and dangly earrings) who was clueless. Again, nothing much mattered, because the evening was so enjoyable and we didn't mind that the waitress forgot about us for a while, it just meant that we could listen to the next set of music! If you are looking for the consummate gourmet meal, this is not your place, but if you're looking for a place to relax, have a casual meal and listen to some nice jazz, then this is where you can enjoy yourself, just around the corner from the Four Seasons, Gresham Palace Hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a complete privilege reading your review! Thanks a million for sharing your kind thoughts here with the community. The whole staff were more than delighted to read that you had a great time with us! We are very happy that our work has been appreciated - Thank you! Quality is our first priority, and you ensured us that we are on the right way!
We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    55
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

On our first night in Budapest, Easter Saturday, we strolled along the streets looking for a restaurant and came across Otkert. We decided to give it a try and were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food we had was great. A two piece jazz band played quietly in the background. We were there fairly early, but long enough to witness people starting to arrive in numbers. We visited the establishment one more time, which happened to be on a Wednesday when they offer 50% discount on their meals. This evening was much busier, but the staff on duty went out of their way to accommodate us in every aspect. We waited about 10 minutes before being seated at a table. The atmosphere was as good as our first experience. The food was, once again, excellent. This time they had a solo guitarist playing some jazz music. Not as good as the two piece band, but still enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest!

It is our greatest reward that you had a fantastic time with us, as our only aim is to privide quality and great atmosphere for our costumers! We hope to see you again!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“FAB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great place, great staff and amazing food. We went on a weds it was 50% off the food OMG the food was to die for my boyfriend had Beef fillet and it was cooked to perfection and i had pork knuckle and it was so amazing. So loved this place would defo go back

Even with the 50% off the food on a weds ( thats not all the time think it was just because time of the year ) it was still a great priced place LOVED IT defo would go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming and bohemian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived late at Otkert and were warmly welcomed and shown to our table. An acoustic guitarist was playing close to where we were seated and we chose a starter to share followed by our main course. The lemonade and mojitos were delicious- quite a young vibe with a lot of pazazz.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Otkert, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilege to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great vibe and nice people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ötkert? An upgraded local, not only for locals. A place in the middle of Budapest,
which always changes and varies. In the past years Ötkert has hosted huge
parties, live performances of internationally known star DJ-s and concerts of
the best Hungarian bands, besides continuously providing grounds for the
exhibitions of talented young artists. Live music, gastronomic experience and
a memorable treat to both foreign and Hungarian visitors in the very heart of
Budapest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otkert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Otkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otkert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.