We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pest-Buda Bistro

Pest-Buda Bistro
Fortuna utca 3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
+361 225 0377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 1,783 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Hungarian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pest-Buda is located on the ground floor of a baroque house in the medieval castle district. Until 1900, the building functioned as an inn, its ground floor housing a pub or a restaurant, and three bedrooms on each of the upper floors. The world changed, the inn became a residential building but the pub stayed, or more precisely, transformed into a restaurant.Around the sixties and the seventies, it was still considered a place of good fame. When it became vacant in 2010, our team took over the place and began developing the new concept of Pest-Buda.We decided that our bistro should feature a simple Hungarian home-cuisine-like approach and that we should show how this can be done in an outstanding, state-of-the-art way, with a short but seasonal menu. We are not trying to renew it or deconstruct it, venturing into molecular gastronomy, but instead by offering excellent stews, grilled sausages, french fries and flamed pies straight out of the oven.As simple as this sounds, this might be the greater of the two challanges. Bringing forward the best beef stew in the world is an enormous challange. It takes a long time to achieve this and we have much work ahead us, but we are already on the right track concerning grilled sausages and the oven-baked flamed pies.
Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent food. Our waiter was fabulous and very patient and explained everything. We had traditional dishes which were good. The setting was lovely and the price was good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    195
    43
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location is great, just a street from the FIshermen's Bastion. The food is quite good, we had the hungarian pizza. Prices are reasonable and service is fast and friendly

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was a nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Food was actually tasty and the portions big
The Service was also good, our waiter was very kind and open
The Atmosphere was very good, modern and classic at the same time
The Value was fair for what it served

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I ate here for lunch. The restaurant has outdoor seating on a quiet street with pretty buildings. The fish soup and goulash were both good, as were the Hungarian pizzas. There was free Wi-Fi. Overall, the food and service were good, but it was pricier than other restaurants we ate at, perhaps due to its location in the touristy castle hill area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant in Castle district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First, Manager very obliging in every way - first class in every way. Our server was excellent too.
Now the food - extremely tasty at very reasonable prices.
Just across the street from where we were staying, the St George Residence All Suite.
The home made sausages were succulent and very tasty. The Crepes,as a starter, were ' to die for '. The Vienna Schnitzel so tender and good as was the cucumber in cream sauce - everything was so good. When back in Budapest, shall return. Highly recommended to say the least.
Thankyou other Trip Advisor reviewers, main reason we tried it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pest-Buda Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pest-Buda Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pest-Buda Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.