We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confuses Luxury with Modern but a nice place to stay all the same!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Residence to your Saves list
Boscolo Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8, Osvat utca, Budapest 1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Confuses Luxury with Modern but a nice place to stay all the same!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the luxury apartments over the New Year. The Apartments were great, modern with a large bathroom and nice balcony which although too cold to use would have been appreciated in the summer.

My only negative comment in relation to this accommodation is that I did not think the accommodation to be luxurious, although probably now not brand new, the finishes were bad in places and the fittings were modern but not what I would call luxury.

The Kitchen was great for us who just wanted a slice of toast in the morning but there was no tea or coffee in the room to make your own drinks. I do, however, accept that drinks could be made in the hotel foyer on the ground floor. Not ideal if you are having a lazy morning with breakfast in bed! I would expect at the very least to have tea and coffee. If you had wanted a completely self catering experience in Budapest (which in my view would be a shame as there are some fabulous restaurants!) the kitchen was probably not sufficient, very basic!

The living and bedroom were modern and very light due to the floor to ceiling glass windows, although don't worry for those that require a dark room (like me) to get to sleep on a night there were black out curtains. A great nights sleep in very comfortable beds. One added bonus was the large wardrobes. Another plus for me was that the hairdryer was not fitted and could be plugged in and used wherever you wished.

The bathroom would have been my idea of luxury had the finishes been great. The bath was a real blessing after a freezing cold day sightseeing!

Although this review sounds negative in places I do not mean it to be, this place is really really good with some nice touches. I say all of the above as I was a little disappointed in what was a fantastic apartment due to the use of the word luxury. Many will probably disagree with me as we all envisage different things when we see the word luxury. Go with a view of modern rather than luxury and I believe you will not be disappointed.

I believe all the luxury is waiting for you in the New York Cafe! Now that was a WOW!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    131
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
66
168
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thonon-les-Bains, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A beautiful place for a marvelous stay. Thank for the staff, kind and professionnal.
We recommand this adress well situated for a stay. New York cafe : a wonderful place for enormous breakfast and diner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have booked 4 days in boscolo luxury residence via voyageprive.com. The residence is connected to the hotel (where the spa facilities are located) but it tooks a bit to understand (same for the fitness). there were no funny surprise, but the advertising on the internet site has created an expectation which was disappointed. The bedroom is "cold" (but the heating is working), you have to cross several corridors before to get it (as well as the spa and the fitness). Breakfast is fantastic. People for the hotel are nice (but some better than others). All in all, disapponted but dut to the above expectations created by the internet site.

Room Tip: Better to be near the hotel (or to the elevator of the residence or of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igny, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have booked a studio in the Boscolo Luxury Residence with a discount thanks to the website verychic.com.

We are satisfied of the studio, the staff and the residence for the price that we have paid but won't be the same opinion if we had paid the full price.

Some things have to be changed to pretend that this is "luxury" residence.
The finishes in the studio are of poor quality, the breakfast is basic.

The staff is very helpful. The SPA is amazing like the New York Palace that is connected to the residence.
We have dinner once in the New York Café inside the Palace and it was just perfect !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at Boscolo Residence for making our 3 day stay in Budapest so memorable -- the beautiful blonde receptionist (forgot her name!) and Attila were both so cordial and professional -- we'll definitely come back for another visit!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Easy, efficient and friendly staff. Always polite, courteous and professional.
Great rooms with spacious and modern facilities.
Arrangement of taxis excellent, including helpfulness of staff to communicate necessary directions with the driver.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the Boscolo Luxury Residence for a short weekend trip to discover Budapest.
Yulia was our receptionist and she was extremely helpful, very pleasant and accommodating. She gave us great advice, and was always available for us. The same goes for the rest of the staff working at the hotel: very professional and pleasant!

Our "grand suite" room was great, very modern, plenty of room: kitchen, living room, two bathrooms, large bedroom, free WIFI, two TVs. Very clean, warm, nice books / magazines to look through. Kitchen was equipped with all kinds of utensils. The shower had no doors so was slightly wet in the room after taking a long shower, but there were always plenty of clean towels. Oh, and the shower gels smell *really* nice - a little plus!!

The breakfast was a bit disappointing, we were expecting more warm things like eggs and bacon. But there was plenty to keep us going. The reception area is very nice to relax in.

We went to the spa and really enjoyed it - it is very nicely done up, very clean, relaxing, the Turkish bath / Hammam was great, the relaxation room is a pleasant touch (try the "love tea" which we really enjoyed, fruity and perfect after a seance in the sauna). To get to the spa you walk through the sister hotel which is absolutely stunning.

The New York Salon (part of the sister hotel) is well worth a visit, it is very grand and definitely merits its name of "the most beautiful cafe in the world".

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
St. George Residence in the Buda Castle
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,844 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 334 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Residence

Address: 2-8, Osvat utca, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Business Hotel in Budapest
#77 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Budapest, these stylish 5-star apartments of Boscolo Residence offer lots of space and fully equipped kitchenettes.Within a 1-minute walk you can reach the Blaha Lujza Square public transport hub and the Keleti Railway Station is just a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Boscolo Residence.Featuring a subtle combination of brown and white tones, each of the apartments comes with a large flat-screen TV, a spacious seating and dining area and a modern bathroom.Guests can take advantage of all the services of the Boscolo Budapest Hotel 200 metres away. These include the buffet breakfast, spa and fitness facilities for a surcharge, and the bar with live piano music and the underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Luxury Residence Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.