We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay, let down by 1 issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Residence

Save Saved
You added Boscolo Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boscolo Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8, Osvat utca, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An excellent stay, let down by 1 issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night, after 2 nights at the Boscolo Hotel next door (due to Ryanair's brutal decision to pull out of Budapest. Idiots.). At £40 per night this really is a superb option. After spending £80 per night at the hotel and being amazed by that price, this was even better. We were worried that without breakfast included we'd have to fork out extra but we found a bakery that fed us for less than £5 in total, which has actaully made us question whether we need breakfast at hotels any more! Should we go back to Budapest we'd actually choose this ahead of the hotel as at the price you get more facilities, albeit on a slightly less grand scale. However, that's not to say the apartment was anything but fantastic - a well equipped kitchen, with a spacious lounge, and a modern bathroom and large bedroom.

I gave the hotel 5 stars in my review, and even though we'd stay here next time, I'm giving this 4. That's only because afte we'd been to the baths we asked for new towels for the room as we'd taken the existing ones and they were wet - and the new ones never arrived. It's not the worst thing that's ever happened to a person, but in a 5* hotel I expect a request like this to be carried out, regardless of the price I've paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    107
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
53
134
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My hubbie treated me 3 nights at this hotel for my birthday and I loved it. Beautiful decor, modern, sumptuous and relaxing. Both the lobby area and the rooms where of a high standard. Spacious apartments, lovely minimalistic bedrooms (good feng shui!) The bathroom included a bath and a separate shower which was perfect fr us. Very relaxing and peaceful when we visited in January. The service was excellent, friendly but not in your face annoying like in some hotels. All our needs where catered for (we booked the Spa through these guys too!) For me a real treat in this hotel was having free hot chocolate whenever I wanted (a lot!), this was fantastic and not something I have come across before (also I didn't even need to put the kettle on!) Would return here and would recommend. A+ from us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely sumptuous hotel but my room was a mile from the facilities, with no water or other drinks in the room - nit even tea or coffee. I arrived in the evening and asked for a shaving kit and was told there wasn't any. When I pushed I was told to try again in the morning which was then sorted. The service is generally one if Sony care although the front desk seems very efficient and the coffee service over breakfast was also great.

Overall not what I expect from a 5 star hotel in a capital city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this establishment for 18 nights.
Modern decor, clean and quiet. The walls are thick enough to stop any noise from being heard from adjacent rooms.
The staff are extremely courteous and very helpful. They always had a smile on their faces.
I highly recommend staying at the Boscolo.

Room Tip: If you like light coming into the room, choose rooms looking out onto the street. Otherwise the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found an excellent rate on a room through booking.com before Christmas and thought we would have a little romantic get away and enjoy the Budapest Christmas markets. We were expecting something nice, since we have a Boscolo here in Prague and are familiar with the decore and ambiance, but what we got was even better than we had expected! Our apartment was massive, everything was perfectly clean, (and restocked if we asked), and was done in a tasteful fashion that we were shocked we had paid so little for the room!

Since we were staying in the apartment we did not have the breakfast, opting to eat food we bought from the local bakeries surrounding the hotel instead (cheaper and perhaps better in the end).

I would definitely recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a bit of romance, families or friends on holiday together. Because of the close proximity to all major forms of public transportation it's easy to get everywhere and anywhere quickly!

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the internal court yard where it was much quieter than the rooms out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a Trafalgar tour. Our location had been changed by the company, so this was a surprise. The apartment layout was very spacious, you could tell the company took over an adjacent property to the hotel next door and connected them. While we had tons of space, the room was extremely noisy. We could hear all the traffic due to the windows. I appreciate the view, but there was no insulation. The room had a small kitchenette, which would be great for a family. The living area was spacious and simply decorated, very nice. However, the bathroom was our least favorite part. The tub/shower combo was not effecient at all. Water poured out the sides of the tub/shower because there is only a small partition to keep the water in. Water poured into the bathroom and we used spare towels to mop up the floor, not a way to spend your vacation. Let me add that neither my husband or myself are big people, so maybe larger people could fill up the space in the shower and water wouldn't be a problem. Because we were part of a tour group, we were assigned to the adjacent hotel for our breakfast, which was much, much better than that provided in the lobby of the residence hotel. We did enjoy the centrality of this location. There are nice restaurants in the area, as well as a grocery store, should you need more food or supplies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamato, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just stayed a couple nights but it was super also rate was super , I was lucky.
The room is very modern & looking good & Comfy.
You guys , if you find the good rate of this hotel, should stay this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Residence

Address: 2-8, Osvat utca, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Residence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Budapest, these stylish 5-star apartments of Boscolo Residence offer lots of space and fully equipped kitchenettes.Within a 1-minute walk you can reach the Blaha Lujza Square public transport hub and the Keleti Railway Station is just a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Boscolo Residence.Featuring a subtle combination of brown and white tones, each of the apartments comes with a large flat-screen TV, a spacious seating and dining area and a modern bathroom.Guests can take advantage of all the services of the Boscolo Budapest Hotel 200 metres away. These include the buffet breakfast, spa and fitness facilities for a surcharge, and the bar with live piano music and the underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Boscolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Luxury Residence Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.