We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Szent Istvan ter 3, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 70 383 1071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Ice Cream in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
Paris, France
1 review
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

They are just the best, i believe. Tasty, smily, relaxed, nice people, in a nice place! what else do we need? I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear gauthierroubichou,

Thanks a lot for your post. We are delighted you loved so much our shop. We hope to see you back in Budapest.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    211
    46
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very good chocolate! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It was amassing! We tried a chocolate with chili and goffri waffles. I recommend this place indeed! And they have very good wi-fi too)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kira K,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We use real chocolate for our ice-cream, we make our own waffle according a traditional Belgian recipe. We try to provide the best to our customers and are happy to give you satisfaction.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Prettiest gelato in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Want to impress your toughest of critics , large and small, and bring smiles to their faces? Present them with these beautifully sculpted desserts! They're as much fun to view as they are to eat! Great flavors, and so beautifully presented. YUM! YUM!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Quzy,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are like you, we love our shop. We saw that you visited many places in Budapest, it seems you enjoyed, we are very happy for this. We hope seeing you soon with an ice-cream in your hand.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

While living in Italy we had fantastic gelato over the years. We were really impressed by the flavors Gelarto Rose carries. The way they make the rose on the cone is simply beautiful!!!! One may think you're crazy for taking photos of gelato or ice cream but not here. The gelato is art!! We had the white chocolate lavender. Srumptious!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Gibsonchop,

We appreciate being compared with Italian ice-cream. We thank you for your visit and your post. You are welcome any time. We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic icecream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I loved the icream which were shaped into a rose, really pretty. I especially loved the white chocolate and lavender icecream. We went here twice, even when it was snowing outside! They didn't have many flavours, but I'm assuming they would have more during Summer. Staff are very nice and the icecream is very delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sophie888,

Thanks for visitng us and sharing your picture. Yes, in the summer we do have between 24 and 30 flavours. The shop has a different setting as well. We hope seeing you soon. We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelArto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelarto Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.