We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelarto Rosa

Gelarto Rosa
Szent Istvan ter 3, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+36 70 383 1071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Located in the center of Budapest (Basilica), Gelarto Rosa is THE BEST ice cream in this town! Owner, the charismatic Niki Szokron studied the secrets of old Italian family recipes straight from the source in Italy and brought it back to her city. The philosophy behind it: fresh and true quality ingredients, old Italian traditions, modern technic and as final touch, add artistic creativity.The pretty ice cream girls at Niki's shop "create" each and every portion or cone as a unique artwork using ice cream as art material. It's simply amazing! Don't miss Peti (the barista) great Italian style coffee, and have real French macaroon from Juliette McAron.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent and interesting ice-cream, very good handmade chocolate, friendly staff and wonderful atmosphere. I could stay there for hours. I tried white chocolate with lavender and even though it sounded awkward it was extremely tasty. So sorry I missed pistachio ice-cream - they didn't have it. Prices are also reasonable. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear HotelDina,

Thank you so much for sharing all of your pictures. We are really glad that you loved so much our shop. It gives us a lot positive energy and the desire to do more for our guests.

Many thanks again and we wish to all your family a Happy New Year.

Best regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    163
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kettering
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Went there based on reviews and were not disappointed. We chatted at lengh with the guy and girl who were very friendly. The had cream is pretty and tastes good, decent value for money (£1.80ca each for a large).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Assaggiatore_12,

We are pleased that you had a good experience with our product and our staff. We do like winter as well, we have more time to spend with our customers, it's a pleasure for us.

We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best in Summer time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been there a week ago (in January). The ice creams were very tasty and the staff were friendly. But as I was told, they have 20 more choices of ice creams in summer time, compared to winter. I would definitely go back there when I am in Budapest in summer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Kaan S,

You are one of the brave to taste our ice-cream in winter time. In summer time they taste as good as in winter, there is more choice obviously and a longer queue. We definitely would like to see you this summer and we are convinced you will be as satisfied as now. We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun cafe, even in winter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The ice cream was very tasty and looks just as good as the photos on here. I tried the white chocolate and lavender which was very interesting but tasty. I had also had a homemade lemonade, that was freshly prepared for me, also very tasty.

They also have a small selection of novelty chocolates. I picked up some Star Wars and Lego shaped handmade chocolate for my boyfriend. They were very reasonably priced and the chocolate was very creamy.

I would definitely recommend a visit here, especially in the summer as they have a larger selection of flavours then. The two staff were very friendly, great service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Amy8917,

Many thank you for posting your review. We are glad that you have tried and enjoyed many of our products. Yes, you definitely need to come in summer time. We would be happy to surprise you with our large range of flavours. We wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful creations from Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautifully created ice cream cones - they look almost too good to eat... Almost!!
The ice cream flavours are pretty different from the norm - Basil & Lemon, White chocolate & Lavender to name a few, but there are also "normal" flavours - Vanilla, Strawberry, Chocolate.
A must visit place en route to St Stephens Bascillica!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelarto, Guest Relations Manager at Gelarto Rosa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mark,

Many thanks for your review and uploading your pictures. The good thing with our ice-cream is that you can as much as you wish, we are able to reproduce the rose shape anytime.

We wish you a Happy New Year,

Kind regards,

GelaRto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelarto Rosa also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gelarto Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelarto Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.