We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really stylish and comfortable hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bo18 Hotel Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bo18 Hotel Superior to your Saves list
Bo18 Hotel Superior
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vajdahunyad utca 18., district VIII., Budapest 1082, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct
Ranked #17 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really stylish and comfortable hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

It is really beyond my expectation that the hotel is really stylish and brand new.
Hotel staff is really helpful and informative. It is a little bit far from the city center, but really close to public transportation. (Takes just minutes to walk to both tram or metro station). The price is reasonable as a 3 star and what they offered. I am having really great experience during my stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    211
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
324
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

When first arriving off the tube and heading into the back streets of Budapest to find this hotel, we were slightly concerned as it isn't the most pleasant walk. However, after spotting the brand new hotel, our minds were put to rest. It was even better after we were greeted by the man on reception with a glass of wine! We were very happy! It had a lovely reception/bar area which sold very reasonably priced drinks for a hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean with a great shower. We had trouble getting food as it was Boxing Day but the man on reception phoned around different take-aways for us - the staff were exceptional. The buffet CHAMPAGNE breakfast was very tasty and you could help yourself to as much champagne as you wanted (both sweet and dry!). Again, staff were very helpful and always on the ball. There was a fitness suite but we did not use it. The rooms were soundproof - we had 6 perfect nights sleep (which is very difficult for my husband). On checking out we asked if they could store our luggage and even though we are frequent travellers, we have never seen a secure luggage room - at this hotel, we were given tickets for our bags. Our minds were put to rest. We were very happy with this hotel and its staff and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't think it makes a difference! It's a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
181 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Check-in was very friendly, informative and quick. The lobby is small, with a bar, an area for sitting, and the use of an ipad if you need it. There are two elevators, one directly in the lobby and the other right around the corner so you have to watch to see which one gets to the lobby first. Rooms are done in light colors, nicely appointed with a work desk, flat screen tv, small mini bar and fridge in one, a safe large enough for a laptop, and rooms are air conditioned. Bathroom is immaculant, tile floor, a nice shower. The hotel is very quiet being on a side street away from the main street by two blocks. Breakfast was included, large breakfast room, a decent buffet is served. The only negative commet is regarding the pillows for the bed. They are very thin, and not comfortable at all. They are certainly not of North American standards, or of what should be in a quality hotel like this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the middle of December and were absolutely surprised - and blown away - by both the standards and the service of this hotel. For a very good price (!) one must say this hotel offers great value for money. The rooms are beautifully decorated and has all the conveniences of a four star hotel. The breakfast buffet is varied and tasty, and the hotel even offers a glass of champagne to start your day with! The front desk staff is always helpful, cheerful and speak good English. We had a minor problem in our room and it was taken care of within minutes! That kind of efficient service one does not find even in 4- or 5-star hotels. If we will return to Budapest and stay in a hotel again, this will definitely be our choice!

Note that: The neighbourhood is not one of Budapest's best, but fairly central and you can reach anywhere within the city easily. This part of the 8th district is not "as bad" as others. You definitely don't have to feel afraid here, but just be aware that the streets surrounding the hotel have remained the same (no maintenance!) since the end of the Second world war. Part of the charm, perhaps?!?

Room Tip: Higher floors are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel a little while back and were really satisfied with the comfort & cleanliness of the rooms, the helpful staff and mainly, the excellent breakfast! The variety in food ensured that we didn't leave the stomach empty! A server also offered to cook something specifically for us when we asked whether it was available. Such service always makes my day! The location is not so central, but this gave us the opportunity to discover another part of the town... and the older metro system! Overall, we were very satisfied!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I spent a weekend at this hotel after choosing it for the nice impression it had made on us from the site and also tripadvisor rewies. However, the room was different from the photos, it was pretty dirty and the shower didn't work well either. When we had a problem we needed to ask more than once for the same. Breakfast was poor. However, the staff was helpful with advice about the the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna P, General Manager at Bo18 Hotel Superior, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Mr. Jerome G.,
Thank you very much for your kind stay in the brand new Bo18 Hotel***Superior.
We are really appreciated for the review you wrote, as the guests’ feedbacks are very important signs of the quality of our work, that is why it is really important for us that all of our kind guests leave the hotel with positive impressions.
We sadly read that you were not satisfied with our hotel, and let me respond our point of view in a short letter as follows:
Bo18 Hotel***Superior managed to welcome many satisfied guests since the opening in May, and we do believe that our hotel and the high quality of the services we provide are the main determines of our outstanding guests’ comments.
As our main target is to keep up this level and even to improve the quality of our service day by day, let me kindly inform you that we keep the responsibility for all the photos of the hotel published on different kinds of online sites and on our home page. After the opening our aim was to create truthworthly, believable photos, without any misleading information, and we do state that we provide exectly the same rooms and services what you can see on the pictures. We are really dissapointed that your experiences did not meet our standpoints.
Fortunately we have not had any serious technical problem since the opening of May 2011, as the hotel is equipped with up-to-date technical system approved by all the necessary authorities. We know that smaller (but important) mistakes, such as the wrong working shower can happen any time in the daily operation of a hotel running with good occupancy, but we do our best to settle them as soon as possible without disturbing our kind guests. Actual problems are written in our maintenance list and all the matters like that have to be solved in the same day, but at least in 24 hours. Overall, we do appologize for any inconveniences we might cause you with the technical problem, and we will try to solve these kind of problems as soon as we can also in the future.
The cleanliness of the rooms is checked every day and since the opening we did not have any complains, we do regret that you found the room „prity dirty”. Our collegues from the Houskeeping department have to work with high standards and great control to avoid any complain regarding the cleanliness of the hotel. We would like to thank you very much for the information you wrote us, and we did the necessary acts to investigate the complaint with more frequent controlling.
We regretly read that you were not satisfied with the breakfast we served, as we do believe that our wide buffet breakfast selection can be accepted also in 4 stars category. „Á la carte” menus are also available. The total selection is changed in every 3 days, with which we can assure various breakfast offer for our long-stay guests also. As our aim is to keep the 4 star standards, we offer free champagne during the breakfast time, moreover, we are waiting for the guests with a chocolate fondue on the weekends.
We try to create a memorable stay for our kind guest with many small suprices, such as the welcome wine served at the Reception Desk, the hot mulled wine which can be found next to the entrance of the hotel during the winter time in every afternoon, or the free WIFI, free I-PADS, or free use of the saunas & fitness machines.
Finally let me express my deepest appologize that we did not manage to meet your requirements, and I would like to thank you very much again for all the important information you provided to us.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcoming you again in the future, and we will do our best to create you a memorable stay.


Mr. Ákos Szabó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend to check out the Budapest Christmas Market. The hotel staff is very friendly and the hotel itself is very nice. The breakfast was a great spread and we didn't leave hungry. The room was spacious with a double bed, flat screen TV, mini bar, desk and bathroom with toilet, shower and sink. The parking lot is very close to the hotel and who can beat 8 EUR/day? I have an SUV and was able to park without a problem, although it is a little tight. The staff was able to direct us to an inexpensive but good place to eat. Public transportation is easily reachable, as well as a large shopping center.

We had two complaints. 1) The only spare power outlet was under the bed in a very hard to reach spot. 2) The walls are VERY thin. When we arrived we heard the neighboring couple enjoying themselves, and then later arguing and even throwing things (this was at 4:30 AM!).

Overall it was a great place and we would think about staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from other people and away from the service closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bo18 Hotel Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo18 Hotel Superior

Address: Vajdahunyad utca 18., district VIII., Budapest 1082, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bo18 Hotel Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo18 Hotel*** Superior, the newest 3 star category hotel in Budapest opened its doors in the first half of May 2011. It is located in the VIII district of Budapest, close to the recently opened Corvin passage and the Corvin shopping mall. The location of the hotel, which is easily accessible both by public transport and private car, is a security for a silent, undisturbed stay in the immediate neighbourhood of the bustling Budapest city center. Our hotel is waiting for the quests who wish to discover Budapest or arrive for a business stay with 45 rooms, three star premium services and with a buffet breakfast with champagne. Our friendly, elegant rooms, our inner garden and lobby bar established according to the latest design, our wellness corner and the outstanding niveau of our services are guarantees for an unforgettable Budapest relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bo18 Hotel Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo18 Hotel Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.