We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good space, shame nothing worked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Gardens to your Saves list
City Gardens
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good space, shame nothing worked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had previously stayed in these apartments, though with 'broadway' not city gardens and were suitably impressed with both the size and quality of the room and the leisure facilities on offer. In fact we were so impressed that we decided to stay here again when we took our friends with us on this trip to Budapest. We booked two 1 bedroom apartments with City gardens as the price for Broadway had more than doubled since our previous booking.

The rooms we were given were a lot smaller and not as well looked after (stains on carpets etc) but still a good size and we thought that was fair enough considering the price difference. However, it soon became apparent that the up keep of these rooms was virtually non existant and ths was made worse by the reception staffs approach as they wither either lied about problems or offered very little help (with the exception of one female receptionist who was more professional).

Our friends room had a bed that was old, lumpy and about a foot from the ground. The duvets were two childrens singles and the curtains were seethrough and did not close properly. Their wifi did not work, the u-bend on their sink broke almost immediately, the floorboards were comming up around the edges of the living area, two of the main lights did not work (not bulbs, faulty wiring), the handle of a cupboard came off in their hand, and paint had peeled away around the kitchen. When they spoke about this to reception they were told that nothing could be done or two days as there was a large group in the other rooms, we had booked around 6 months in advance so were a little surprised by this.

As they had little light to read they asked reception if they could borrow a reading lamp, this never arrived despite them asking twice, in the end we gave them one from our room to use. They asked for a different pillow as the one they had was very hard, they were informed that all the pillows were the same so nothing could be done, this was again not the case as each pillow was different across all three rooms we booked.

Our room was slightly better kept though the matress was old and lumpy, the smell of drainage swept through our room, the paint in the bathroom was peeling and the air in the bedroom was so hot at night that both my wife and I developed chapped lips after 3 days. Still at least it was quiet.

When I complained in writing about the quality of our rooms, this email went straight to reception and no higher. I was informed that all city gardens apartments were the same size, yet when the cleaners were cleaning i poked my head around the door of another room owned by citygardens and found that the room I saw was in fact the same size as our excellent broadway room from our previous stay.

Almost as a cherry on top, we were due to check out at 10, housekeeping knocked on our door and that of our friends on a different floor at 9am (this had not been done before and we believe it was to ensure we were out on time). At 9.50 they entered our friends room and began cleaning whilst our friends were still finishing thier packing. One lady even enquired about a tip (insert your own punchline here).

The leisure facilities are still excellent and the location is pretty good too. If you get a good room and have no issues then it is a tatty but good sized place to stay, but if anything goes wrong don't expect any help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    82
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
44
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Room was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed at in Budapest. Very modern with bath, kitchenette with everything you needed and sitting area. So, décor and space definitely gets the thumbs up. Way better than Radisson Beke close by. It does, however, also have some issues. Air-conditioning does not work, that is, however stated on their website. The wifi did also not work. There were several wifi codes written on notices in the room but none of them worked. We even tried to connect with cable as there was a router/modem in the room. We asked at reception several times but we never got it to work. If we went down the hall and stood right in front of a modem hanging outside one of the other rooms we could get signal. Several reviews here on tripadvisor have pointed out that the wifi does not work, so a real issue that management has not yet fixed it. It was actually the free wifi which made us chose this hotel. You have free use of the gym/wellness. However, the swimming pool is a little cold, as is the “hot” tub, which was coldish and we could not get the bubbles to work. Sauna was fine. There were no towels even though reception had told us there would be towels. A lot of reviews stated that the breakfast in the café was worth the price. We did not think so, dry bread, juice of very poor quality. There is a kitchen in the room and a big “Spar” supermarket around the corner so we bought some good stuff there for less. There is a big tv (but only channels in Hungarian), a dvd-player so bring a good dvd, but no hair-dryer which was really a miss. Also there were no amenities; thank god I had brought a small shampoo to get me through the first day. There was only one towel each, so for the ladies it is a real problem that there is no towel to wrap around the long wet hair and not even a separate towel to dry your hands. The shower head is fitted very low, not suitable for a man. Bed is very soft, and pillows are wafer thin. Plenty of power outlets to charge your phones etc., and plenty of space in closet. Nice solid lock on door. Some noise from the street. Good location, most things are within walking distance. If they fix these issues with aircon, wifi, bed and pillow quality this will be my regular hang out in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As an international traveller I purposely booked this accommodation for Wifi access. It does not have it. I had to wait 2 hours for my room to be ready and was promised Wifi would work in the reception lounge. It did not. I got to my room and again, no Wifi. I attended reception 5 times for assistance and invited the manager to my room to attempt on their IPhone. It did not work. I asked for another room and was told Wifi was not working in any other room and not likely to be available.
In addition, there was NO curtain or blinds in the bedroom, the aircon did not work and the mattress was like a sponge (soft and no support) and did not look very clean. I walked out of the complex and requested a full refund.

Room Tip: Be very wary in booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just to warn anyone choosing City Gardens specifically requiring wifi... the rooms do not have wifi... I've complained at the front desk and although pleasant they are helpless...

I deregarded every hotel without wifi as I need it for work - but still ended up with no wifi...

We were told as we checked in that the aircon was out too... it took 30 minutes complaining in reception before I could get a fan...

I'll write a fuller review about the facilities after I check out...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

First of all we were looking forward to using the fitness facilities provided with the hotel only to find out a day before
they were out of order and were having matinence done which was dissappointing. We were given a free breakfest the next day which it was not made clear whether this was for the entire week or not. The room with a street view can be exceptionally noisy of a evening and the bar can be open quite late and we were disturbed by the rowdy crowds in the street. The free wireless network did not seem to be available on any of our devices, we did ask at reception and were given the details of another connection to use but this also did not seem available to connect too.

When we eventually settled in our room there was no welcome pack or utensils which were suitable for cooking your own meals.

The room was ok, bathroom provided towels these were not changed for four days, the last day before we left.

Would go back to Budapest as had a great time here but wouldn't be inclined to stay at 'City Home' as the sign suggests
Not called city gardens!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is not the best i have stayed in, although i don't really need much more than this. What i like most about it is the excellent location. It's just a few minutes walk to 2 subway stations, and there are a LOT of pubs and restaurants in the vicinity.

Our room was quite large, and we had a really nice kitchen, equipped with a stove and a micro wave oven, and most stuff you need. The only problem we had with the room was that it smelled a bit from the drain when we got in, but the smell dissapeared after a while.

We didn't speak a lot with the staff of the hotel, but when we got there the receptionist gave us a quick info about Budapest and that was quite helpful.

I would recommend a visit to the House of Terror (about the two terror regimes) and the wine museeum in Buda. The wine museeum was quite nice, we payed about 8€ and got our own guide and three glasses of wine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

3-star hotel close to the Octagon area of Budapest. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and choose the hotel. But it is not as great as some of the reviews according to me. It is nice to have a pentry with fridge and a small kitchen but the beds are not good and there is not any english channels on the tv. And if you get a room towards the street there are noices from the street almost every night. I had some problems sleeping. Clean and cheap but there must be better alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.