We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too hot with evasive staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Gardens to your Saves list
City Gardens
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“too hot with evasive staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

a/c did not take the temperature down below 27 degrees. We were told that maintenance would fix it, but the large numbers of guests all being told this every time we passed the desk shows that this is a constant problem. After threatening to check out we were given a fan for one night as well as an apology and 50% of the room rate. The fan strangely disappeared the next night though. Someone did actually attempt to fix one of the units on the 1st night, although this did not change the temperature. In fact I think we were given the discount because the staff did not realise that I could understand Hungarian and caught them out acknowledging that this was an ongoing problem since March. Don't you hate when staff are told to lie to you to shut you up, rather than admit to a problem and try to fix it?! And there was a bag of stinking seeping rubbish left outside the next door room for 3 nights, despite at least 5 members of staff having to step over it. They claimed that it was not their responsibility because it was not their room!

Room Tip: If you are already booked and cant get out of it make sure you dont believe them trying to fob you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    96
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
58
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The apartment was in a great location to walk to major attractions on the Pest side of Budapest. It was clean and roomy. Staff were helpful and spoke fluent English. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Bar next door was a bit loud til about 10 or 11pm, but we were out most of the time, and were not there over a weekend. Love apartments over hotels just for the space. This apartment was very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the room at the City Gardens in Budapest! I had booked for five nights through Expedia and was surprised by how big the room was, how new all the furnishings were and how helpful the staff was! The hotel is in a great part of the city, everything is within walking distance. The Andrássy Avenue and opera house are just around the corner. The staff was very helpful with getting us extra pillows and toiletries. The only complaint was that the towels were never changed in the five days we were there. But I'm sure if we had asked, they would have been happy to do it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Good location near metro station & city center, large & clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms... Nice location.. Very good price.. all is comfortable!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Spacious and clean apartment. Great location.
Only unpleasant thing was - the girl on reception can not provide any help when my child was sick.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great apartment in a very central location only minutes away from the Opera House and within walking distance to the main attractions. We did not visit the swimming pool or the gym so are unable to comment on these but the apartment was certainly clean, spacious and modern. The only very minor things we had to sort out were the pillows which were tiny and had seen better days. We asked for another two which we were given after a bit explaining that it was replacement pillows we wanted and not pillowcases - anyway we got there in the end. The safe was not working but it just seemed like too much hastle to get this sorted for the short time we were there. In general the staff were helpful. On returning home the taxi driver took us to the wrong airport/terminal, as there are 2 (which we were not aware off and was not mentioned on the tickets). We then had to get the shuttle bus to the other terminal so it was just lucky that we had given ourselves plenty of time as they are about 10-15 mins apart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#106 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#34 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#74 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#50 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Terézváros
Town Hall Apartments
Town Hall Apartments
#25 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
District V / Inner City
BPHome Apartments
BPHome Apartments
#66 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.