We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohem Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bohem Art Hotel to your Saves list
Bohem Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #9 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunboyne, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Funky place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently went to Budapest for a few days with my partner and found it a beautiful city. We arrived at the hotel quite late and were greeted by a wonderful smiley receptionist. She gave us vouchers for a free drink, wifi passwords, a map of the city and a run down of the hotel. The room was spotless, had everything you needed, the bathroom especially was shiny and clean and the shower was great (not the typical hotel shower with a trickle of water). All the amenities were there. They provided free tea/coffee/snacks to all guests between 2-5pm which was a super touch. Had a huge selection of food for breakfast so you will not go hungry and breakfast staff were helpful and greeting. The best thing about the hotel is the decor. Very new and modern and had funky little touches all around...projector clock, lighting, chairs, tables...everything was arty. I would definitley recommend this hotel and if I am ever in Budapest again I will stay there. Also, there is a lovely Italian around the corner...but I cannot think of the name.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    358
    37
    8
    1
See reviews for
205
803
60
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Bohem Art Hotel on a stag do. We were greeted at the front desk with good customer service, very polite and informative.
The rooms were comfortable, very quirky art and trendy decor. Breakfast was great as was the complimentary happy hours.
The location of the hotel was fantastic. Located on the Danube, with a small walk to the majority of bars and clubs and other attractions!! It is about 20-25 minutes taxi journey from the airport.
Overall a brilliant hotel and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to a European River cruise. The hotel was chosen as it was 5 minute walk to the departing dock. It turned out to be an ideal location for sightseeing, and all of Budapest attractions. The Hotel is compact and well designed. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful.
We had a standard double room with breakfast included ($130 night). The room was tiny, but immaculately clean. Beds extremely comfortable. Air con worked well, and windows opened if you wanted fresh air. It didn't have enough room to comfortably store our suitcases - had to put the cases on the bed to unpack. This is the ONLY negative I can say about this hotel. For a 2 night stay it was fine.
The breakfast was the best buffet I've ever had in a 4 star hotel (I've travelled all over Europe and Australia many times) . Fantastic selection of cold cuts,salmon, and beautiful bread and pastries. Husband enjoyed the cooked selection, especially the sausages.
I would highly recommend this hotel - it provides great value, especially if booked on line. The tiny standard rooms could be a problem for some people though.
Check out the Market Hall at the end of the road - its similar to Queen Victoria Markets in Melbourne. Dionysis Greek restaurant is around the corner on the dock side if you need your dose of garlic for the day - highly recommended. If you prefer something more upmarket, have dinner at the Gresham Palace Hotel - they even provided a stool for my handbag, next to the table!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Bohem Art Hotel for one nicht at the beginning of November and it was an overall very delightful experience! The room was smallish, but it had everything needed and as it was towards the courtyard, it was really quiet. The decoration was fun and everything was clean. Also, the service at the reception was very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast was just perfect. The hotel is just around the corner of the market hall and very convenient for strolling around. I was very happy with my choice of hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This small art hotel was recently renovated. It's located near the Danube in the city centre, so very wel situated if you're here for holiday. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room was nice, modern and clean but on the small side. But the real treat here is breakfast. There is an abundance of choice (fresh orange juice, freshly made ice tea, hungarian champaign, lots of cheeses, meats and warm dishes,....). We stayed here for four nights and every morning I had something different for breakfast.
A very good place if you plan to spend some days in Budapest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrival:
An easy five minute taxi ride from the central train station. Call the hotel for taxi company recommendations to avoid tourist traps and ripoffs.

Check in:
Our rooms were not available when we arrived (early), but everything was taken care of smoothly after we dropped off our luggage, lunched nearby, and returned several hours later.

Rooms:
Small but spotless and very comfortable, with a different wall-sized artwork, photo or mural in every room.

Staff:
Very knowledgeable and helpful, even in English which was clearly a third or fourth language for some.

Location:
One block from the Danube, on a quiet street, easily walkable to most of the central sights, restaurants, nightlife, etc.

Breakfast:
Spectacular!
I usually skip breakfast, but this buffet had everything--attractively presented and prepared with care.

Value:
We got a great deal from a budapest themed travel website, and very nearly got two rooms for the price you would pay for one similar one elsewhere.

Overall:
A great site for a short stay. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Higher floors not facing the street are probably a quieter choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 1-4 November 2012, and found it just great. Right in the city center, well designed and beautifully finished, it is hard to beat for comfort and service. It was very quiet at night, the bed was just right, and there was an assortment of pillows, so that you could get things how you wanted. The room was not huge, but entirely adequate, and the bathroom was nicely laid out wet-room style.

Breakfast was as good as I have seen in any hotel, with a wide selection of just about everything you could require. Dinner is not available, but there are dozens of other choices close by.

The staff were very helpful and seemed as happy to be there as we were.

The rack rate was high, but we got a deal for about £70 per room per night on the web, which was great value for something as good as this. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the rear courtyard, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bohem Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohem Art Hotel

Address: V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest H-1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohem Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Bohem Art Hotel in the historic downtown of Budapest offers the style of a hip hotel with the feel of a contemporary art gallery. Thanks to its excellent location - just a few steps from Vaci shopping street and the Danube - our guests can experience the unique atmosphere of Budapest. The hotel offers a rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas. Our cozy and stylish rooms all feature different artworks from modern and young Hungarian artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Bohem Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohem Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.