We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily rewarded!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungaria Koncert

Hungaria Koncert
Zrinyi u. 5 | Duna Palota, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+36 1 317 1377
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$14*
and up
Ranked #128 of 287 Activities in Budapest
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hungaria Koncert Ltd. was established in 1995 to assist foreign visitors to Budapest in gaining insight into the renowned Hungarian culture. There are not many countries beside Hungary, where the art of folk-dancing is at such high artistic level. We offer folk dance programs with the three best professional hungarian folk dance ensembles in Hungary. Almost in every second restaurant it is possible to see some hungarian folk dance, but we offer high standard performances in beautiful theatre venues. We offer not only Folklore Performances and Classical Music Concerts, but we would also like to show our guests the most beautiful sights of the capital's cultural heritage: our Folklore Package (Folk + Dinner & Cruise) program provides an opportunity for our guests to take delight in the unique panorama of Budapest from the River Danube
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happily rewarded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After being herded down to the dock which was reminiscent of an Australian Sheep farm and being ushered through a lovely vessel to find ours was a little more cosy than expected... my group, x2 early 30's, x2 in their 50's and x1 at 60 years of age, were delighted to find a very pleasant space with an amazing spread of good hearty and interesting Hungarian Cuisine.
That evening was particularily HOT and we were absolutely dripping but the staff eventually realised the air con just couldn't deal with the 42 degrees and opened up some side doors which offered a bit of breeze. Our meal was delicious and there was plenty of food available for the full house... The entertainment (yes you need to give these guys a little tip) was just that, the band did a fantastic job of setting the ambiance and once we finished our eating we moved up deck to enjoy the sites and some Polinka. The only downside is that the 2hr cruise went so quickly we debated if we should just stay on for the following cocktail cruise! If it took a slightly different course, I would recommend doing one after the other!

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    8
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well organised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did the cruise on a Saturday night and it was excellent , the service and organisation was very good. The cruise left at 7pm so we saw Budapest at dusk and night. You get 2 free drinks in the price so it was good value.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food good but ran out quickly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The replacedment dishes took so long that we were finished eating by the tame they came. There wasn't much cruising going on either. Overall, a disappointing experience.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try another company or spend your florints on a nice restaurant meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

First they were late taking us to the ship. Buffet was not especially nice, and the scramble for food was just ridiculous. Had to eat very quickly so no time to really enjoy the magnificent scenery. Be careful, they will offer you liqueurs, tea and coffee at the end of the meal, but don't tell you the cost until after it is served. Hot and stuffy inside the cabin, and if you were having the buffet you couldn't go upstairs. Maybe ok if you take the drinks only option.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Danube cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Definitely worth to see Budapest from a boat at night, but would not choose Duna Palota. To start with, the meeting time was 21:30 (and the specified that if you were late you would miss the cruise, no refund), but we left about 45-50 mins late (don't know why, they didn't offer an explanation). Also, we got the cruise with no dinner - and for this kind of ticket they had no seating arrangement, they just showed us to the upper part of the ship where they had some tables and chairs like you would see at a cheap terrace in the park (no offence) - we all sat where we found empty seats. On the upside, they offered a glass of champagne when we came aboard. Also a waiter took our drink orders but no-one asked us for any money (don't know if they were trying to make up for being so late, they didn't say anything of the sort). I do believe some of the other guests had booked cruise&drinks, but I'm not sure

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungaria Koncert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungaria Koncert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungaria Koncert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.