We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service, Average Pastry, Great Ceiling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Book Cafe

Book Cafe
1061 Budapest, Andrassy ut 39, Budapest, Hungary
+36-1-461-5835
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Average Pastry, Great Ceiling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The 4 stars are for the fresco above your table which is a knockout and which must be from the 19C . i only wish I had a camera to show you. The service is - well absent( giving you more time to look at ceiling) . Remarkably this fabulous room is the second floor of an ordinary, large, modern book store. When I asked the waiter about the ceiling he said - without looking at me - i should read the sign on the wall. From 4-8 there is classical piano music which I am sure is great. Pastry is over sweet and not haute cuisine but they offer a range of classical Austro-Hungarian dishes . Emperor Franz Joseph would have felt at home on the second floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    184
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended this cafe/ resturant you totally hve to gps this or get good with a map .Mind you we found it and it is truly worth a major visit . So beautiful and the wine is fab we just whiled away a good hour sipping wine and gazing at the ceiling . oh theres also a antique shop up stairs do visit and also check out the exibit behind the closed door. we were invited by the staff to take a peek . you ll be surprized.Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
451 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

this lovely cafe is located within a book shop on Andrassy Ut and has very reasonable prices.
There was a piano player while we visited which added to the atmosphere.
Our drinks and cake were very nice(we had a voucher for free tea or coffee)

Our vouchers were excepted graciously by the staff.

I preferred this cafe to the New York cafe and would recommend it to my friends.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see! Nice break in between the sightseeing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Food is ok, coffee is fine but the atmosphere worth a million dollar. Its a hidden treasure of Budapest.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely place to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

.We spent an evening here drinking local wine which was both inexpensive and tasted great. We were given complimentary snacks by the excellent waiting staff. The cafe is situated in a huge room with a grand piano, played well by a very formal looking pianist. Decoration give's the feel of somewhere special. After you leave the restaurant there is a fine bookshop/wine shop on the ground floor en-route to the exit. No dress code and the other visitors were principally Hungarian, so bohemian/casual dress is de rigueur

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Book Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.