We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else: unless you're a nerd.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carpe Noctem Hostel to your Saves list
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Don't stay anywhere else: unless you're a nerd.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you've been on the road for a while, or even if it's your first day in Europe ever, you want to be in surroundings that make you feel comfortable, circumstances that make it feel homely and people who make you feel yourself. Thats exactly what you get here. From the moment Anna greeted me at the door I felt like I had known her for years. Turns out she's my sister and I had actually known her since her birth in 1994. Only kidding these guys make you feel like you actually are family, the other travellers all become family instantly but once you return from a big night every night the only relations going on are 'the most glorious rainbow/do me on it' type. If you wanna sight see do it on your first day cause the only sights you'll be seeing this is Coltrane (one of the crew) mentoring you on how to bang a strawpedo breezer, {that's a drink not a girl} and offering you pasta that he can't eat cos "eating is cheating" and "this half drunk bottle of wine is enough for me". Bathrooms and toilets are all fine, nice common area an abundance of towels for you to take to the spa party. Solo traveller heaven.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was travelling to Budapest on my own and Stayed at the Carpe Noctem because they mainly host solo travellers . it is a tiny hostel (20 beds only) on the top floor of an old building. it can be quite difficult to find it as there is no sign indicating that there is an hostel in the street . But I got the shuttle from the airport and the driver just dropped me at the front door .
I had just arrived and I was already offered to go out , the hostel organised parties every night . The staff also helps you booking attractions and advise you on what to visit in the city .
I had an amazing time in Budapest . I didn't spend any time on my own , met some nice new friends to hang out with and go out .
Best hostel in an amazing city . I can't stop talking about Budapest since I got back home .

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've stayed at many strange and wondrous places in my time,
But none so far have been quite as debauched or as sublime,
None held me captivated like this Hungarian gem,
No other hostel quite compares against Carpe Noctem.

Forgetttttt the day and seize the night,
On boats, in ruined bars,
In ancient crumbling buildings,
Beautified by battle scars.

Languish in huge baths with strangers,
'Til your hangovers abate,
Buy dirt cheap wine and start again,
Night's young, morning can wait.

You'll feel welcomed and befriended,
With your first step in the door,
And when your time has come to leave,
You'll wish you could've stayed on more.

You'll walk away, bags in your hands,
Vow you'll come back again,
If not for all the parties,
Then for the handsome, bearded men.

And a woeful melancholic tune,
Is what your heartstrings will be strumming,
As you board your homebound plane at last,
You'll feel winter's surely coming

But fear not, fellow traveler,
For once you've been you will be back,
Returning for more vodka,
And more wine and bowls of smack!*

Like the hundreds gone before you,
And the hundreds before them,
Like wild birds returned for summer,
You'll fly back to Carpe Noctem!


*smack = spicy microwavable noodles

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Carpe Noctem Stay
For Fun and Games and Play
Luke WILL kick your shin

Energy found here
Keep all joyful like rainbow
Find Exit Point

Stay Carpe Noctem
Twinkle Nights Laughing
No Consequences

All helpful staff
Beautiful Budapest drunk
Terrorise Anna

Room Tip: The room with the Stoke City flags does not mess about, a big powerful route one room with a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great location - very close to ATM and supermarket
Great info from the staff - take advice on restaurants and pubs
Great nights out - all walking distance - four ruin pub crawl was great
Good clean rooms and communal areas

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Feels like a second home as soon as you walk in the door! The staff are awesome and know how to party HARD, taking you out every night and helping you to get home. But they are still there to help you out and advise you on places to go and things to do in the morning. Super super clean and cosy, no complaints on the facilities. Cannot think of anywhere better to stay, if you want to make new friends this is the place!
You will not want to leave...wish I was still there...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

OG is literally heaven on earth. Of all of the hostels I've stayed in, all over the world, I've never encountered a place like this before. The staff are incredible, I cried at the thought of being without them. And I've missed then everyday since I left. There are so many awesome activities that they can help you plan! Then every night is more fun than the last. Do yourself a favour and stay here! It will blow your mind.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,335 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
The Groove
#9 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#8 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.