We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carpe Noctem Hostel to your Saves list
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Carpe Noctum is a great place to stay during a trip to Budapest. The vibe I got was that the place was more suited to solo/single travellers in their 20's. Frequent activities are run from the hostel and it's centrally located so easy to get to any of the tourist destinations in Budapest. The place offered typical backpacker fare, clean rooms and a friendly environment. Top tip, if you're staying here ask to get the 'loft' in the room out the back. A mate and I were lucky enough to get this loft which is above the regular dorm and offers your own little space.

Room Tip: Ask for the loft in one of the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The biggest issue that comes with staying at Carpe Noctem is a rather grave one - subsequent hostel experiences will be, in comparison, as disappointing as feeding a hangover with soggy celery sticks rather than a juicy slab of steak! You'll book for 2 nights and then sack off other plans so you can stick about for at leeeaaast a week longer, a guilty glee bubbling inside you telling you that your next dwelling on the list can just bloody wait. BUT THEN! - You will have such drunken fun and tomfoolery with amazing new friends, hang about all day like its home with a cuppa on the sofa, see all the wondrous sights suggested to you by the staff... by the time you leave you will be questioning your entire existence away from such a fine establishment, wondering why in Ronald Mcdonald's name no one told you about Carpe before. I can only describe it as the crème de la crème of hostel experiences. It ticks every box for cleanliness, facilities, comfort, location and so on. But what you cannot describe fully is the fantastic atmosphere and the energy that fuel its distinctive vibe, collectively derived from the staff and other travellers. Genuinely friendly, interesting, excited for your company on any of the brilliant nights out, you'll come alone and walk away with a new family. Go there now, and brace yourself to want to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was so looking forward to coming back to this incredible hostel , after taking a fantastic trip here last September , I was not disappointed as again I had the best time. It was great being back in Budapest and amongst the best hostel I have ever experienced !!! Meeting again the most loveliest and welcoming staff ,some I had met before and was great to see them again, we were taken on the best nights out, had the best fun in the bath rave and just generally had a brilliant and enjoyable time! I know for sure I will be back at this hostel in no time !! I couldn't imagine going to Budapest and not staying at Carpe Noctem !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was supposed to stay at Carpe Noctem for 3 nights, I ended up staying for 6. I could stay longer if I didnt have to get home. The staff was great, the facilities perfect, and other travelers were amazing. Everyday there was something to do helped organized with the hostel, and every night they had something unreal planned i.e. thermal bath rave. I cant wait to come back here in year, hopefully sooner! Perfect hostel for solo travelers [and groups]

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot describe how much I loved staying at Carpe, I've never been in a hostel that has a more welcoming and fun environment. The location is perfect! its to everything you need (train, sights, hangover food), the staff will help you with anything and suggest heaps of great stuff to do and see. The staff and guests will become your new family and I can promise you'll never want to leave. It's my second time here and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Love you Carpe!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Carpe Noctem was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! If you go to Budapest you need to stay there. The staff are incredible and totally make the difference. They are super friendly, love to meet people, love to party with you, and do everything they can to help you from loaning you a swim suit for the bath houses to cooking dinner for the group. When I first arrived I could not tell who was staff and who was visiting. I immediately felt at home and by the first evening I was lounging around and chatting like I would at my friends house. So comfortable and relaxing. On top of this, the whole hostel (staff included) goes out and partys together every night. Its great. Theres no partying in the hostel so its clean and quiet but its still designed to have an awesome time.
One downfall: The hostel is located a short block from the train station but not very close to any metro stops and a fairly long walk from the main attractions. The awesomeness of everything else definitely makes up for this. Some of your best bonding experiences can be late nights wandering the streets of Pest back to the hostel.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the Original and not the Vite version of Carpe Noctem...they are two different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Could not have asked for a better experience in Budapest. Not only is the location spot on, but it's the staff that make you never want to leave!! It feels like you're in a house share with all of your best friends. They're extremely helpful, keep the place up to scratch, great at giving advice on awesome things to do during your stay, take you out every night and willing to make your trip as amazing as possible. I'm already planning my second trip back. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
The Groove
#9 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#8 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.