We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpe is my new family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Hostel

Save Saved
You added Carpe Noctem Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carpe is my new family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've been traveling Europe for 2 months now, and the 5 days I spent in Budapest has been my favourite place so far. AND Its all because of Carpe Noctem Hostel. They brought me into their family with wonderful smiles and a map of everywhere I should see and go to in Budapest. I met amazing people who were fellow travelers and just the folks working at the hostel and the sister hostel's. We partied every night - Magic Baths and random cool bars AND a boat cruise with champaigne. I laughed constantly. I tend to be a little shy and it takes a while for me to get out of my shell, but they made me feel so comfortable. They are up for anything, and extremely kind people. It was a very clean environment, felt safe with all my stuff out (but lockers are available) and lets just say, I didn't want to leave and am thinking about when I can go back again. XO to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Wow I came expecting a hostel but found a home! Placed within the heart of the city this party hostel is so so great. With only 22 beds this has an intimacy and family style which I have never seen within a hostel. The place is also spotless and quiet at night within the hostel but a CRAZY fun time at night with a different activity every night including pub crawls, party boat cruises and raves in the thermal baths. This place always knows where the party is. Great place for solo travelers to find travel buddies. If you are unsure where to stay in Budapest then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have to say this was the best hostel we stayed in Europe while backpacking for 2 months. A small place which let you meet everyone, but what made this hostel special was the staff. I have never stayed at a hostel where the staff just hung out with you and took you out drinking every nite and partied with you. It was more like a family than a hostel. Best time in Budapest!! I would recommend this hostel to anyone. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Carpe Noctem is hands down the best hostel I have ever stayed in. No where else will you be greeted by such a warm and welcoming staff. Their enthusiasm for Budapest will leave you in love with the city before you've even had time to explore it. Every night the hostel organizes awesome events promising you'll have a great time and guaranteeing you will leave Budapest with a new best friend. Budapest is an amazing city but staying at Carpe Noctem will make your trip unforgettable.

Hostel is super clean and beds are comfy.

I loved it so much I booked a flight back to Budapest before I even left the city. See you soon Carpe Noctem family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had to do justice to this one particular hostel, because not doing so will not do the owners any justice. Even though I left Carpe Noctem six months ago.

Carpe Noctem is rather diffcult to locae, given that it is located in one of Budapest's conservation districts. Since the municipality stipulates that no changes must be done to the facade, you will know that you've arrived only if you look at the intercomms cloe enough.

The runners and owners are real friendly people, real friendly. They tell you the places to visit, make you a cup of tea and make the check in process real quick. Bed linen is fresh too, and the rooms are nicely heated. The real highlights of this hostel are the parties...one different party every night. It may be a pub crawl, it may be a cruise trip. The good thing is that the hostel staff actually brigs you along to these trips, and believe me some of the bars are Budapest's best. They also organize day trips to caves, Szecheni Baths and other attractions. Naturally guests become friendly with one another. So it boils down to the difficult last day. Like the mural on their door, you can leave anytime, but you never really check out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Carpe Noctem is hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Because the hostel is so small, you really get to know all the guests and the staff well. It was my first time traveling solo and I felt completely comfortable and safe there, not to mention had an amazing time. It is a party hostel, so expect to be taken out every night. Each night has something different planned, and you get to party with their other sister hostels as well so you get to meet so many more people. Everyone leaves around 8:30, so it's quiet if you want to stay in and go to sleep early. I had read from reviews that most people end up extending their stay, so I booked 5 nights thinking it was enough...STILL ended up staying an extra two nights! It's true what everyone's saying - it is definitely just like staying at a friend's place. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had no idea the nightlife in Budapest would be so intense, and it impressed me how these guys were so enthusiastic to head out and party pretty much every night.

The staff are all very friendly, and are happy to direct you to the landmarks during the day... If you have any energy left.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 471 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.