We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO ONE LIKE CARPE NOCTEM !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carpe Noctem Hostel to your Saves list
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
“NO ONE LIKE CARPE NOCTEM !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I am still full of smiles just thinking about this magical place, so again - :DDDDD
I can't put in words how I feel about it, but if I could it would be a combo of awesome+hilarious+amazing+best ever+looove!
There is absolutely nothing I would change about it! The location is super sweet, they provide you with all the info you might need, they're very well informed and very helpful with everything. The place is clean and cozy and the atmosphere is amazing! I do couchsurfing, and I still did more sightseeing, had more fun and made more friends at Carpe! I had the time of my life, partied with the most awesome people one could meet and nothing can compare to the THE STAFF!!! They all live there, so they basically spend 24/7 with you and they are so amazing that not even those 24 hours are enough! It's definitely them who make it so special. Hanging out and having fun with these people every single night makes it a unique experience and makes you never want to do anything else. Not one day is boring. I haven't met a single person who hasn't overstayed. Some of them just stay there and never leave, wish I could be one of those lucky peepz. Even when they're overbooked they're nice enough to put you in the staff room.
I can't wait to see you all again, which is probably going to be in less than a month and then I'll kiss and hug the hell out of youz! I LOVE YOU, Carpe, you rock my world <3

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
102
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Carpe Noctem was a great hostel in many ways, the staff were friendly, rooms were clean, well organized event nights everynight and a GREAT PLACE to PARTY. I don't need to go into detail about those things, because im sure you will read the same reviews i did, and choose the hostel because of those reasons. BUT! although the hostel was great for getting people together and making them get out and party together, they were not very professional. Yes, the guy working that night will be great at enthusiastically rousing you into a cheap Jager night, but good luck getting him to help you check out and direct you where to book you're train in the morning. The relatively cheap "all in" laundry service seems nice, but when the guy who is supposed to dry and fold it leaves it on top of the washer because he is to hungover to do it for you on the morning you are checking out, it isn't such a great deal. If you are merely in Budapest for a 5 day binge (which we sort of were) than the hostel can be a ton of fun. But if you have places to be after Budapest, or are hoping for some type of control over the booze fueled chaos than maybe you should reconsider this hostel (or at the very least, organize the important stuff the day before). I mostly LOVED this hostel for its laissez-faire attitude, but it is important to know what you are getting yourself into before you go!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Ive been travelling all around the world and have stayed in countless amounts of hostels.

Like most good hostel, word of mouth travels fast amongst fellow travellers. Im so glad I ended up staying at Carpe Noctem.

Its a small intimate hostel with a family feel. 3 nice size rooms with a awesome common room to chillout and mingle with other travellers.

Why do I think that this is the best Hostel in Europe?
Firstly the staff. Big shout out to Scrumpy, Charlie and Sly. These guys will go out of their way to make sure you know the ins and outs of Budapest, met the other guests and to insure that you have the best night out on the town. Ask anyone who has stayed there, they become your family.
Location is close to Octagon and major metroline. Short walk to awesome pubs, clubs and cheap places to eat.
Because of the design of the hostel, the common room is a awesome place to meet others. With only 22 beds, everyone seems o be willing to party together or even just chillax during the day.
The downside to Carpe Noctem... I booked and rebooked to stay longer and longer. I never wanted to leave. This place is hard to move on from...
For a laugh, ask the staff about the story of the The Wolfpack and the Leopard Skin.
As soon as finished backpacking the rest of the Balkans, Ill be back to Carpe!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is actually the best hostel i've ever stayed in. Even if you don't leave the hostel, you'll fall in love with the city and everyone in it just by sitting on carpe noctums sofa.

Room Tip: You probably won't sleep, so don't worry to much about which room you end up in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

As much as I try, I cant seem to find words that can describe this hostel properly. The look, the atmosphere, THE STAFF!!!! Guys working there are the most amazing peepz eva! Im not even joking, soooo nice, so welcoming, so funfunfun!!! They grew on me by the speed of light and that was it, couldnt leave anymore, that was my new family. Guess Im not the only one, cause every single person there stayed longer than they first planned. Every night they take you out to some crazy adventures like Booze Cruise, Pub Crawl or DRESS UP! That was epic! But during the day you can get the info about stuff to do, places to see, where to eat, margaritas happy hour :D...The whole thing! Oh, and I do have to mention that the hostel is sooo clean. The crew does an amazing job in that part too.
I get so emotional talking about this experience, cause all Im doing since I left Carpe Noctem is- planning how to get back!!!
So everyone, I think theres no need to say how much I recommend this place!
Will never ever forget this trip <3

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

So, I arrived in Budapest without a single hostel reservation, but through some travel friends had heard of Carpe Noctem. I wasn't sure if they'd have space for me, but I made my way there, anyways, hoping for the best. Upon arrival, I talked with Charlie, and he fit me in, though I would have to change to one of the other hostels in the chain after a couple nights. That was fine.

Now, Carpe Noctem has a tremendous atmosphere. What I love is how it's a small hostel, with that intimate, small hostel feel during the day. But once night rolls around, you head out with the other three hostels in the chain, and it goes from a small, family-like feel, to a full-blown party - and do they know how to party.

Since they're in a building occupied by older residents, they have a relatively early quiet hour, which actually works out great. If you want to be up and loud, you can stay out as long as you want - no curfew, and plenty of fun to be had at the bars. But if you're ready for bed, you're assured to have nearly dead silence.

This is why Carpe Noctem gets five stars from me. I've been traveling for five months nearly, and I find I love two types of hostels: party hostels, and quiet, friendly oriented hostels. Carpe Noctem is the ONLY hostel that brought both of those together for me. I'd recommend them fifty times over, and still have more praise for them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

After a absolutely awesome time last year at Carpe Noctem I decided to return for 3 weeks. I cant Rate this hostel high enough the crew are absolutely awesome they are like a second family to me, love them to bits. The hostel is kept clean all the time every day when i got up there would be staff running around mopping and scrubbing and washing dishes and clothes. The crew were always willing to help out and whenever they were free would even join us on trips to wineries or birthday parties etc. Carpe also offered the best nights out that I have ever had, what more could you ask for than ridiculously cheap drinks great people and some of the best parties ever! Its not a matter of if but when I will return sooner rather than later I hope!

See you all again real soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.