We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 3 Weeks of my life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carpe Noctem Hostel to your Saves list
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best 3 Weeks of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

After a absolutely awesome time last year at Carpe Noctem I decided to return for 3 weeks. I cant Rate this hostel high enough the crew are absolutely awesome they are like a second family to me, love them to bits. The hostel is kept clean all the time every day when i got up there would be staff running around mopping and scrubbing and washing dishes and clothes. The crew were always willing to help out and whenever they were free would even join us on trips to wineries or birthday parties etc. Carpe also offered the best nights out that I have ever had, what more could you ask for than ridiculously cheap drinks great people and some of the best parties ever! Its not a matter of if but when I will return sooner rather than later I hope!

See you all again real soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Myself and 7 friends from London visited Budapest for a long cultural weekend, we got a very drunk and well fed one! The guys at the hostel were great and knew all the places to go, just a few minutes’ walk from here is a strip of restaurants (we ate in most) and the food was amazing, we all came back a bit more cuddlier and would do it all over again without question! The hostel was like being at home, mostly run by people that are travelling, it is equipped with a vending machine for cheap beer, kitchen, TV room and decent toilets and showers, also they were cool with everyone playing music from their different rooms. If you want a fun and cheap place for a long weekend this is the place to go, we also stumbled across what must have been a Michelin star restaurant whilst trying to get to the castle, and we all still couldn't believe how cheap it still! Go to Budapest, check out the market and speak to some locals, all very friendly! Thanks Joel... if you still come to England for the summer, we'll be at the Secret Garden Party, Cambridge in July instead of Glade!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here two nights with my brother on a quick trip to Budapest and we thought it was great. The staff were incredibly helpful for recommending things to do, and just generally wanting to hang out/party with everyone in the hostel. Planned/suggested nightlife activities every day help to ensure that you will be social and active at night, which is great.

The building the hostel resides in is super cool as well, and is without a doubt worth mentioning. Walking to the top floor each time made the stay worth it from an aesthetics standpoint alone.

The place is perfect if you are looking for a very active, social party hostel (it's name isn't coincidental) that is also clean, mellow and safe. Do note though that if you do not want to party, I'd recommend somewhere else to stay as it is the general ethos of the place to party.

Thanks again, guys!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have you ever visited a place that felt like home ? Well this place is better and becomes your home. Budapest will forever be the best part of my trip to Europe, not because of the city (which was definitely nice) but because of the staff at Carpet Noctem and its sister hostels.

This place had a reputation of holding onto people and making them want to stay.... originally I was supposed to stay three nights, two and a half weeks later I was still there and forcing myself to leave. The atmosphere is addictive as hell and everyone becomes your best mate immediately.

The party here is epic. After being in Budapest for less than two hours I found myself digging through bags of costumes looking for a sex position.... the result was the Jack Hammer :-). This was going to turn out to be the weirdest and best night of my trip so far, which was nothing compared to what I would experience over the next few weeks.

God damn I want to go back.
Social and party people need only apply.

I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

great place, without a doubt would definitely stay here if in budapest again. and i probably will return. their pub crawls every night are great, always to decent and busy places. staff v friendly, give long decent introduction to budapest and mark all decent places to visit on a map when first check in. feels more like staying in a friends place than a hostel. decent communal area, always people there. was always clean too. and quiet enough to sleep in allll day ;).

Room Tip: beds in 'the loft' part are the best ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

and let there be party, Aussies, cheap drinks, clean rooms, amazing staff ... absolutely loved it!

Cheers,
Stacey

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Carpe Noctem made my stay in Budapest, and pretty much was the highlight of my whole trip.

It is a hard core party hostel -- particularly catering to the solo traveller by making it really easy to get involved with organised daytime activities and nights out.

I was really unlucky to be struck down with the flu on my 3 nights there, but I still had a great time. Checking in, you get to dump your bags in your room as a first priority (small touch but appreciated). Then comes a 30 min tour of a map of Budapest pointing out all the sights and personal favourites of the staff. It was the best virtual tour of a city I had anywhere.

Then the nights! Even being sick I had an amazing time, with 1 heavy night, 1 light night and 1 night in. I didn't get involved in the daytime, preferring to spend my time alone, but the staff were always on hand to help - give me tips, chat about the day, give recommendations.

I think Carpe Noctem have something really special going on. Even if you can't keep up with the partying you'll have the time of your life.

Finally, the important details: the hostel is clean, there is free coffee and unlimited free milk, clean free linens, good shower with lots of random spare toiletries, strong wifi in the common areas. The staff and guests go out at night so if you need a good nights sleep you can get one. Location is excellent and it's easy to get to from the train station.

Room Tip: There are single (non bunk bed) beds available, worth getting if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,337 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
The Groove
#9 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#8 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi Utca 5, 3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.