We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borkonyha WineKitchen

Borkonyha WineKitchen
Sas Utca 3 | Downtown, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 1 266 0835
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,994 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: International, European, Fusion, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
powys
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Want a return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had read the reviews before we visited Budapest and this restaurant was on the top of my list. However, visited on the first day to make a reservation - was told a private party that night followed by two full nights so my luck was out. Then on our final day in town with an early evening flight we managed to get here for lunch and am I glad that I didn't miss out completely. All the comments are correct - the food, the wines, the waiters are all brilliant and the cloakrooms are out of this world. I'd like to revisit just to take photos (and to visit the gentlemen's too as apparently their wallpaper is different !).
Both the starter and main courses for lunch were perfect, but what does remain in my memory is the starter of perfectly cooked scrambled egg surrounded by a green oil. A wonderful sight and it tasted beautiful. I just wish I could return to sample more on the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    232
    62
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fancy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The food was very fancy, we ordered rabbits, pigeon, pig liver, etc... My husband likes it, but i feel weird for eating those kind of food so i ate my salad the whole time. Very nice presentation and i heard the food was very good!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The restaurant is just a short walk from the St. Stephens Basilica. We were very lucky to get a table when there was a last minute cancellation so reservations are a must.

The restaurant is quite small and simply but warmly fitted out and the locals appeared to make up most of the diners there -- always a good sign. The best thing about this place was the food and it was great!

Being first timers, we ordered mostly from the daily menu. For starters we had the Hungarian Fish Soup (outstanding!) and Saffron & Tomato Soup (very good). For the mains, we tried the Calf Neck with Swedish Turnip Puree (tender and flavourful), Szilvasvaradi Farm Trout (delicious), Rolled Lamb (juicy, perfectly cooked) and the Pumpkin Ravioli (yum!). In short, the food was superb. The only letdown was the desert selection which was quite limited and not to our liking, so we didn't have any. But the wines were good and inexpensive.

When the bill came, it was very reasonable for the food quality they served and this made the dining experience that much more enjoyable :-). Overall,this was probably the best food we had in Budapest and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It changed our impression for European food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We traveled to many countries in Europe. Being Asian makes us pretty picky on food. We appreciate authentic food, good street food, local drinks but just never grew loveH-1051 Budapest, Sas utca 3 to European food. The food here in this restaurant really surprised us. We got the beef cheek and the roasted duck with foie gras. They are amazingly good. Paired with Hungarian red wine.... And ended with bitter chocolate desert. Really made our day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great wines, service ok but a little odd....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have eaten in some fanastic places while in Budapest so the bar is set very high.

The Borkonyha Winekitchen has fantasic food. Four of us ate here on a Friday evening, three courses each, and they were all excellent. My husband particularly enjoyed the venison and pigeon main. The chicken with lentils main was another hit.
They also have several specials on for both starters and mains, and I had both my options from there (black pudding starter, salmon main, both great) - so lots of choice.

Re the drinks - we started with a glass of the local sparkling wine which seems a traditional start in most restaurants, and is not pricey - less than £3 a glass.

We then ordered the cabernet syrah (2 bottles), which was not expensive and we enjoyed a lot. The great thing here though is if you all have different tastes, you can order so many by the glass that you can enjoy several different ones during your meal.
And they do serve the local hungarian beer for any who don't love wine!

The service was relatively prompt - it was just.... odd. We seemed to have a waiter with a slightly offish manner, while the others all seemed to be smiley, chatting in places to the diners, offering recommendations etc. Ours just nodded on occasion to acknowledge us and had quite a offish manner.

Not enough to ruin our meal at all - and we absolutely recommend this restaurant for the food and wine, and the rest of the staff seem good so might have just been an off day for ours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borkonyha WineKitchen also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borkonyha WineKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borkonyha WineKitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.