We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel with value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Residence Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Residence Budapest to your Saves list
Fraser Residence Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nagytemplom utca 31, Budapest 1082, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on your stay!
Ranked #14 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel with value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is located not far from the city center. One would think to book something else to be more in the city center of budapest, but this is not necessary at all.

The hotel room is clean, big and comfortable. There is a kitchen with an oven and a toaster and a big enough table too eat comfortable. For some longer stays there is even a washing machine provided in the room. Breakfast is sober, but good. You can choose from croissants to sandwiches or toasted bread. There is also a coffee machine, cereals and a tasty fruit mix.

The hotel is a 5min walk from metro station Klinikàk. From here you can take metro line M3 (bleu) and after some 4 stops (aprox 10min) you'll be in the city center.
For those who come by plane can take bus line 200E to its end destination (Kőbánya-Kispest). From here you can take metro M3 (bleu) to Klinikàk. Once you leave the the station, go to your right and turn right again at the main road. Turn right after you've passed the Leonardo da vinci street (easy to remember). Here you will find the hotel.

Next to the hotel is a parking lot, where I think you can park your car. Prices I do not know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedbacks regarding your recent stay at Fraser Residence Budapest. I was delighted to read that we managed to make a fine impression. Your nice comments on our facilities, location, cleanness and services are very much appreciated.

We are looking forward to be at your service again whenever your travels bring you back to Budapest in the future.

Sincerely,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    163
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
205
255
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I chose this hotel as it offered large rooms, more comfortable ones than a standard hotel on really good rates. I visit Budapest few times a year (business trip) and was happy to find Fraser Residence. The location of the hotel was also important, close to the metro station, only 3 minutes from a new shopping mall and restaurants. Fraser had all what I needed and looked for: nice and large apartment style room with well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, terrace to sit out (to smoke), and extremely helpful staff. Free WiFi was available in the whole building which was also crucial for me. Breakfast was rich and real quality with freshly baked bread and croissants :) Loved the peaceful garden terrace where I had my breakfast every morning. Can say nothing negative. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who needs comfortable, quality accommodation in Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Dorithy L,

I take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and the high scores you have awarded us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to notice that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fraser Residence Budapest.
We are truly happy that we’ve met your expectations; everything from the size and equipments of the apartment, the comfort of our beds, high speed free WiFi, location & the quality/ variety of our breakfast that you could enjoy every morning on our garden terrace.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fraser Residence, Budapest on a future occasion for leisure or business and thank you once again for your kind comments and high recommendations.

Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are a family of 5 so we chose a 2 bedroom executive apartment (room 705). Clean and spacious with 2 bathrooms and well equiped kitchen. We all were very pleased with it with one exception. The rails on the balcony are not high enough so it is extremely dangerous to leave children there without supervision (7 th floor!). Breakfast is acceptable but very small dining room, guests bumping into each other while trying to get to their tables. Staff is helpful. Subway station about 300 metres on Üllői út, it takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the center. If you can keep your children away from the balcony then this a place to consider for bigger families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Fraser Residence Budapest.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our spacious luxury apartments comfort and the well equipped kitchen during your stay.

I have noted your comments and concern in regards to the balcony rails and to assure you that this feedback was immediately passed to our maintenance department for review and action.

Any feedback is of the highest value to us.

Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

To rate the experience as negative would have to be an understatement. An inefficient hotel with a patronizing, over bearing, ill informed manager, with the ability to twist facts and even tell lies if the need arises to hide the fact that some mistakes may have been made by his hotel, does not make for the best choice of place to stay in Budapest. The rooms are average. The hotel is shoddily run through making it not a great pleasure being here. The breakfast room WILL give you a headache. Try it for more than 2 days at a stretch. The clattering of the cups and plates is amazing. The train sized toilets and bathrooms with luke warm water in the winter (and no better despite repeated requests to the front desk) in the showers are no delight either.
The lights went JUST ONCE NOT all the time and NOT due to over use of appliances but due to some technical defect at their end. It took about 45 mins to fix because everyone just kept waving their hands in the air saying they had no idea what to do. If a note was left for housekeeping, requesting that the room was done up while we were at breakfast, it would probably be completed in time for dinner. Another thing, we had ask the hotel to book us a taxi from the station to the hotel when we were arriving and requested them to fix the price for the journey, thinking that, booking through trusted people would allow us not be cheated. We paid Euro 20 for this ride and when we booked a taxi on our own while leaving from here to the station, in a similar taxi, on the same route, in the same time, we paid Euro 6. Small things make a big difference. Instead of addressing the problems in his group, as he should the General Manager will probably try and hide behind a hundred excuses including blaming the guests. That is not always the best route to take in the hospitality industry sir.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear “TanyaPrasad, your review being related to “InfiniteOceanFilms. New Delhi, India” ( see related response; as you travelled together and stayed in the same apartment). Is as much unfunded/ none factual and misleading & in big contrast with other reviews from satisfied and experienced travelers. This is the reason why; I cannot take seriously your review & other remarks either; although in normal cases I am very grateful for all reviews even if they are negative, but constructive. I can ensure all other readers/travelers; that corrective actions follow even the worst (for us) reviews, if they are FAIR (just need to refer to all other & for the most parts highly rated reviews shared by all other guests). As our aim is not just to maintain our high standards but constantly to be on the lookout to improve them! I always do take the time to analyze all reviews and respond as well to the constructive critics. It’s really not fair play that 1 single guest (or in your case 2) can sabotage with misleading facts; the entire Frasers’s team hard dedication to provide high standards now since 3 years since we opened.

And finally, if anybody is blackmaling a hotel with social media and with no return fictitiously, ignoring any constructive and evident reply and proof, is really not welcome again.

Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in March. There are a number of things that are not right about the hotel. 1. Housekeeping is not consistent. Instructions left for one are rarely followed by someone else who shows up the next time. 2. The bathroom and toilet are separated in two. This may have been done from the point of making both accessible to two people at a time. But it doesnt feel good at all. In any case the size of the toilet is no bigger than what you will find in any train.
3. the first night we reached, all the lights in our room went and they could find no way to repair it. So for 45 mins we were trying to move all our luggage to another room - which looked and smelt strange, before the lights finally came back on. All the while the front desk refused to do anything saying that they had no clue how to act in such a situation.
4. The breakfast room is horrible. It is small and very over crowded. You will develop a headache from all the clattering of the dishes by the staff there.
The room are nice and large and the sitting dining area is a great advantage. But this hotel needs a lot of work before it can make the grade really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
With all due respect! I do not quite understand your unfunded/ none factual and misleading remarks; which are in big contrast with other reviews from satisfied and experienced travelers. This is the reason why; I cannot take seriously your other remarks neither, although in normal cases I am very grateful for all reviews even if they are negative, but constructive. I can ensure you that corrective actions follow even the worst (for us) reviews, if they are fair. As our aim is not just to maintain our high standards but to improve them!

After further investigation;besides my nuemroues follow up visits to your apartment and phone calls with you during your stay; the facts are:

Housekeeping: It was unfortunate that during your stay you had a bad flu; therefore we provided you (as you requested) with additional blankets and heaters (despite that the room temperature was already set above 25 degr. C.) . Normally ALL our guest do appreciate to have a separate toilet (I don’t really understand your point regarding this discomfort). You indeed left instructions to the house keeping team; but since almost during your entire stay you left outside the door knob the „do not disturb sign”; the team couldn’t enter your room and follow up accordingly.

Regarding point 3: It’s incorrect that the FD team (incl. housekeeping, and maintenance) “refused to do anything saying that they had no clue how to act in such a situation”. Quite in contrary; as they always tried to satisfy your needs in timely manner; but it seems it was never enough. The reason of the power break (as you claim on the 1st night but in fact it occurred several times during your stay); was due to the additional heaters we added in your room that you wanted to be set on maximum at all times; the electrical heaters combined with the all the lights switched on (at times) and use of additional appliances obviously lead to those power breaks. What I also found rather odd; as I already mentioned above regarding the extreme hot room temperature; you often left your windows open.

I was happy to read that you were satisfied with your nice and large room and found the sitting dining area as a great advantage.

Best regards,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our group of 9 stayed 3 nights at Fraser Residence. All the staff that we came across were friendly, helpful and welcoming, from the concierge, the breakfast staff to the housekeeping staff.

Facilities were great and very clean. We had 3 apartments and all of us liked our accomodation. The location was excellent too. Fraser was within minutes to a big shopping centre and the metro. With the metro, we were right in the heart of the city in less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
The training of our team members plays indeed an important role in our company, therefore it is very satisfying to read that they contribute successfully to your well being and positive experience. I will certainly share this with the team for further encouragement. No doubt that a well equipped apartment and top location rounds up the picture.

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the "Fraser Residence Budapest" luxury serviced apartment hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed 2N in a 2 bedroom executive apartment during the Easter weekend.

We had booked direct from the Fraser Residence Budapest website, and enjoyed a 10% discount for their early bird booking promotion (for booking at least 30 days before check in).
It was a fairly good deal, as we paid around US$180 per night, for 3 persons, with breakfast and wifi.

Frasers Apartment is located off the city centre, but 1 min walk to the Corvin Shopping Mall (which is a modern and new shopping mall with a big supermarket, food court, retails shops, etc). As it is not near the main city, and as we have arranged a private guide and private transfers during all our time in Budapest, we are not sure if it'd be difficult for guests on public transport.

The apartment has a very small lobby (which has the look and feel of a small office building lobby), manned by one to two reception staff throughout the day. Check in was fast.

Our 2 bedroom apartment unit on level 5 is around 800 sq ft, and fairly spacious. The apartment is well equipped with all a large screen TV, sofa, dining set, utensils / cutleries, washing machine, ironing board, oven, comfortable beds, etc. There was a wrap around balcony in the living room. The wifi signal in the room was strong. We feel very much at home in the apartment. Frasers Residence uses Peter Thomas Roth toiletries, the same brand as what we've used at Hilton Old Town Prague.

The breakfast is served on level 1. The spread is quite limited (the smallest variety in our 16N trip) - yogurts, breads, hams, cheese, tea selection and coffee. The breakfast area is fairly cramped and small, with the tables / chairs arranged closely together. However, at least the food are freshly prepared, and we could taste the crisp on the bread rolls.

Our first experience with the house keeping was it was very slow. On the first evening of check-in, I've called around 11.30pm to request for additional pillows and a box of tissue. I had to wait for more than 30mins (with a second call in between), before they arrived. I was almost asleep waiting for them. The staff apologised that he was the only person working and hence the slowness.

The second evening, I called for additional toilet rolls and bath towels (as these not not replaced in the washroom). This time, it was prompt and we received these within 5 - 7 mins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind and detailed remarks regarding your recent stay at the Fraser Residence Budapest. I am delighted that you enjoyed “Frasers Hospitality “concept: spacious, well equipped and modern apartments and all the advantages of a 4 star superior hotel.

Please accept my apologies regarding the housekeeping issues. It clearly doesn’t reflect our high standard & procedures (as normally our team pays a lot of attention to the details and gets many praises for their services). I already addressed this isolated mishap with the team; to avoid those issues in the future.

Regarding the location. Budapest being split between Buda &Pest; the Fraser Residence is actually part of the city centre. The great majority of our guests do share with me that they are very happy to be next to the public transport (1 or accordingly 2 stations from all major & numerous cultural highlights). Like in most capitals; our guests prefer to use the public transportations (in Budapest they are extremely safe, clean, easy to use and very efficient).The advantage to be a little bit off the noisy main streets or avenues is that our property is located within Budapest in a very tranquil street and offers very spacious rooms (most with balconies or big terraces).

I duly noted your constructive remarks re the breakfast area: At times it can be indeed a little bit “cramped”; (especially when we are running at high occupancy); therefore we decided to ensure for the comfort for our guests; to open up soon some more space. During the warmer days our guests will be able to enjoy as well their breakfast “al fresco” in our covered garden terrace.

Don’t hesitate to try out for your next leisure or business trips; our “Fraser Collection” & luxury serviced apartments; located in (Paris, London, Scotland and many more in the Middle East and Asia).

The Fraser Residence Budapest team and I are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#26 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,852 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Budapest

Address: Nagytemplom utca 31, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Budapest
#6 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fraser Residence Budapest is centrally located on the Pest-side of the city, just off the Corvin Promenade, close to many bars, restaurants and shops. For short or long-term stays "Enjoy the flexibility of luxury apartment living with the services, advantages of a 4* superior hotel," including state-of-the-art technology and friendly, multilingual staff at your service 24/7 Both business and leisure guests will appreciate following facilities and services: - Free high-speed wireless internet - 24/7 reception and concierge. - Breakfast lounge serving continental buffet breakfast - Daily housekeeping service - Fast maintenance service - Welcome tray with tea and coffee - Welcome hamper for stays of 30 nights or more - Secure underground car park (subject to availability)* - Airport transfer* - Laundry and dry-cleaning services* - Order-in restaurant facility - menus available at reception* - Access to nearby fitness centre with swimming pool, saunas, Jacuzzis and day care for children* - Business facilities and services - Two air-conditioned meeting rooms in the penthouse, seating 15- 20 guests theatre-style or in a U-shape • both meeting rooms have large windows for natural daylight and can be darkened completely for presentations • Flipcharts, projectors, screens and other meeting equipment available • Roof terrace or indoor space available for coffee breaks or parties • Catering by arrangement - Business centre * Applicable charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fraser Residence Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Budapest Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Residence Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.