We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rate it highly enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brody House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brody House to your Saves list
Brody House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Brody Sandor Street, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 177 Budapest B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't rate it highly enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This has to be the only hotel I've really missed after leaving! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Ambiance: you feel as though you own the place after a couple of days thanks to the bohemian, laissez-faire ethos of the place. There's a suite of communal rooms equipped with comfy sofas and log burners to relax in, and a well stocked honesty bar and nibbles to help yourself to.

Food: delicious! Generous breakfast of pastries, bread, cold cuts, cheese, muesli etc, which is supplemented by a small but well conceived menu of eggs Benedict, French toast etc, all cooked to perfection.

Room: we stayed in the Agi and Tepper rooms, both were comfortable and quirky. The single beds feel a bit narrow but very comfortable, the shower was fantastic and there was lots of space.

Staff: impeccable English, friendly, couldn't be more helpful.

Location: Central yet quiet. Excellently located for art and culture, being situated next to the National Museum. We stayed in mid November and there was a small Christmas /winter market in the museum grounds selling antiques, mulled wine and some great Hungarian food which the hotel was happy for us to bring up to the lounges and eat by the fire in the evening. Just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    32
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
219
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with a couple of friends over new year. Our rooms were stylishly decorated and we made full use of the honesty bar, dining area, sitting room and snug. Most of the time it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. When we didn't the other people were good company and it felt a bit like a fun and relaxed party. The NYE party at their other venue was exactly what we needed to start our evening and then the DJ playing through the afternoon back at the hotel was a nice touch. A special thank you to all the staff who arranged all our dinners and to Maxine especially who was great fun at a point we were probably well past our best!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Brody House is simply something different. I've stayed in a lot of expensive hotels for business and leisure, but this is the only one I'd go back to for itself. I felt more relaxed on the first morning there than I had felt in a long time. Extended breakfast hours mean you never have to set the alarm just in case.
It's the kind of place that will make me keep an eye out for cheap flights to Budapest, because the Brody House is a destination in itself.
The staff are absolutely lovely too, especially Zsofi.
Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. I'll be back.

Room Tip: We had the Bullet room, which was quiet and extremely comfortable. Don't be concerned that the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Delicious breakfast, friendly staff and beautiful rooms. -our experience of Brody house couldn't have been better!!

We could go on forever about how wonderful this quirky little boutique hotel is ...from the gorgeous club lounge and honesty bar to the delicious breakfasts, the impossibly helpful staff to the unique and individual rooms and the perfect location just a short walk from galleries, bars restaurants and spas.... every little detail has been thought about to make a stay here a relaxing home from home.

We stayed in Yusuke Apartment and would massively recommend it - gorgeous japanese inspired split level apartment with a small kitchen lounge and bedroom - perfect for a romantic getaway.

Honestly can't wait to go back to Budapest just so we can stay here again xx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place is so beautiful and unique....loved every minute here. Staff are amazing, rooms are quirky but incredibly chic, lounge area is gorgeous with amazing artworks and cosy fireplaces....this is the best home away from home I've ever come across.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff was great, very helpful. Location was good. BUT the hotel is on the third floor and has 89 steps to get there - no elevator. that's fine for youngsters, but way too many for us senior citizens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is be the only place I recommend to my friends if they go to Budapest. The rooms are all so quirky and unique, Really friendly staff and good breakfasts! They have a honesty bar which is great if you want a drink after a dinner or before. The girls on reception had great recommendations for lunches and dinner which meant that not only was hotel amazing but the food was as well

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,856 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brody House

Address: 10 Brody Sandor Street, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brody House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brody House is Budapest's first private members' club and private guesthouse, offering international travellers (members & non-members) an intriguing hip place to stay. With eight individually designed double bedrooms and an apartment, each showcasing the work of young contemporary artists, Brody House offers something unique. With fairly priced room furnished in a ruggedly elegant style, Brody House is a hip yet intimate base in central downtown Pest, offering guests discreet personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Brody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brody House Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brody House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.