We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brody House is cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brody House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brody House to your Saves list
Brody House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Brody Sandor Street, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 160 Budapest B&B and Inns
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brody House is cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Brody House weekend in November and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Beautifully decorated rooms, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. It's very centrally located for exploring the delights of Budapest. Definite must for contemporary art/design lovers - the place is full of it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Brody House - I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time here.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.

Kindest regards,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    26
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
166
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Brody House is an experience in iteself and a must if you're staying in Budapest. The bedrooms are amazing; not for those wanting the convential TV, ironing board and decor, but a must for those wanting to try something different and truly stunning. The breakfast area, lounge, study and dining areas are quirky and cool; the relaxed breakfast and honesty bar make you feel like you're staying with great hosts, rather than simply as a hotel guest. The girls on reception and those serving food and drinks etc couldn't do enough; they were incredibly helpful with booking taxis, advice on the city and they recommended a great bistro (Borosso?) 5 mins away.
I would advise everyone to experience this fantastic place and I can't wait to go back. We stayed in the Droga room and imagine the rest are of equaly quality if the website is anything to go by. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and the positive feedback.
We are happy that you had a great stay with us and you were satisfied with all of our services provided during your holiday.
It was really our pleasure to make your stay as convenient as you expected.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back at Brody House in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is amazing. So much thought has been put into the way it looks. We had an appartment on the ground floor. Very spacious, beautiful flooring, walls, art. I was sad to leave...I would happily live there! The staff were helpful and friendly. I couldn't recommend Brody House more highly.

Room Tip: The Printa appartment is great, especially if at home you live in a small flat like us its really l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Brody House. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best wishes,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheltenhamPaul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. The staff are all very helpful....even before we arrived they had given us a lot of advise on how to get there and had recommended and booked a local restaurant for us. The room we had (Tinai) was very large, nice and warm and with a great bathroom. Breakfast was great too and available until 12.00 at the weekend....very civilised. Be aware that the reception and the lovely rooms where you have breakfast are on the second floor of the building. Being a lovely old building the ceilings are very high. This means a lot of steps up (76 I think....not that we counted). There is no lift. The young lady who met us at the door offered to carry our luggage up the stairs!! We cannot recommend it highly enough. It is the only place we will stay should we return to Budapest and they have rooms available.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tinai room. Very nice but I understand all the rooms are nice. If you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent Brody House experience, we highly value your feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with our services.

We hope you will stay with us again whenever you will return to Budapest.

Kind Regard,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked 4 nights here, but on receiving an email from brody house the week before we realised there had been a mistake and they had only booked us in for 3 nights. We phoned up and the staff were really helpful, and arranged for us to stay in a different (more expensive) room for the last night at no extra cost. Both rooms were great. Agi was cosy and comfortable, bullet was funky and spacious with a massive bath! Much needed after all the walking round Budapest! Breakfast, staff and location were fantastic. Only minor thing on reflection was the towels were not changed, but Im sure if we had asked it would have been no problem. Thanks brody house, a very enjoyable stay x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive impressions of our hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again, whenever you would return to Budapest.

Best wishes,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you love (or even like) art-this place is definitely for you! Brody House is like no other place I have ever stayed in-so full of character and atmosphere. I don't think that any future hotel/b&b will be able to live up to this experience.
The staff are lovely and speak really good English. Continental breakfast really tasty with an option of ordering other items (for a really small charge).
We stayed in the Claret room with a grand bath in the corner of the room and really comfortable bed. No TV but we didn't mind. My husband was slightly disappointed with lack of tea making facilities (he is very English like that :) but I am sure that if he only asked-the staff would make him a cuppa. They want to make you feel like at home-and I certainly did.To the point where I wanted to stay on the premises in the evening which NEVER happens to me. The house has got an honesty bar and really cool rooms to hang out in.
It is literally a hidden gem (no official sign on the front door)-make sure you write down the address before setting off.
I was considering not telling anyone just to be able to keep this place a secret...but wasn't able to stop raving to people about this amazing place as soon as we got back! Already considering going again next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are different,some of them may be too "full on" for certain people-go to the Bro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Aleksandra,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate your kind words.

Looking forward to have the chance to be your home away from home again!

All the best,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and loved it. This is by far the coolest hotel we've ever stayed in, but what made Brody House so fantastic was the lovely staff, who were genuinely welcoming and helpful. It's also in a really great central location, which was ideal for taking in the sights of Budapest.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienOrban, Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we were glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and good location.

We look forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,

Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brody House

Address: 10 Brody Sandor Street, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brody House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brody House is Budapest's first private members' club and private guesthouse, offering international travellers (members & non-members) an intriguing hip place to stay. With eight individually designed double bedrooms and an apartment, each showcasing the work of young contemporary artists, Brody House offers something unique. With fairly priced room furnished in a ruggedly elegant style, Brody House is a hip yet intimate base in central downtown Pest, offering guests discreet personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brody House Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brody House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.