We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brody House

Save Saved
You added Brody House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brody House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Brody Sandor Street, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 155 Budapest B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Stylish & Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed 5 very pleasant nights in the Claret Room at Brody House. Brody House was very conveniently located for getting around Budapest using public transport and the neighbourhood felt very safe. The breakfast was fresh and filling - particularly enjoyed the onion bread and croissants. Other options included cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit and cheese. If you wanted more, a cooked breakfast and some other options were available (at a cost). The staff were very helpful.

There were a number of "events" with music performances whilst we were there and lots of interesting artworks to look at.

Wifi worked really well in our room and elsewhere in the hotel.

The negatives were:
1. the lack of a lift - you have to carry bags up 2 floors (very high ceilings so the are a lot of steps).
2. No fridge in the room.
3. No safe in the room
4. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room or the common rooms
5. No TV (not an issue for us but for others it may be)

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    23
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
138
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked in to the Brody House for 2 nights during the Hungarian grand prix 2012. Really great place and glad my wife picked it. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Rooms were spacious, clean with a touch of communist flare about them. Breakfast was well cooked with plenty of choice. All in all a really good hotel in a centrally located area of Hungary. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is located in a very old building in downtown. When my wife saw the outside she wondered at my judgement, but when she saw our room she was enthralled. A huge room and bathroom. Art on the walls. The whole house was extremely 'artsy' with common things filling uncommon uses. Such as the door with the hinges still attached as the headboard to our bed, and the antique sled used as a coffee table in the large comfortable common living room. A guitar, violin and baby grand piano are available for you to play, but they ask that no music after 10 PM to let everyone sleep. An honor system mini-bar in one of the common rooms is always open, and the drinks are iced down in the evenings. The breakfast room is large and a nice breakfast is served. The front desk people are very happy to help you with questions or to mark places on the map they give you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a nice place. We had the family apartment on the back with 2 nice sleeping rooms. Great atmosphere, clean and lovely bathroom. The breakfast room is really nice with a piano and art. Probably one of the best I have very stayed for a city trip especially when you see the price. TOP

Room Tip: Go for a good meal to the restaurant on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Brody House. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Location was good. Staff very helpful and gave a great restaurant recommendation. Be aware you will need to climb two flights of stairs, no lift, with bags when checking in and out. One suggestion - we liked the honesty bar but it would have been better if the drinks were cold

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like other guests here, I booked my trip to Budapest on the strength of wanting to visit Brody House. Neither Brody nor Budapest disappointed. A beautiful place to stay that feels more like a home - the staff were all excellent, the rooms beautifully decorated and each with their own unique characteristics, and the rooms in the general area are worth a visit themselves. As much an art gallery as a place to stay. I've gone home with some lovely memories, and a lovely painting to top it off!

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique, so the best thing is to have a chat with them on the phone first and expla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts - we certainly take it to heart.

We are extremely happy to receive your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Meanwhile, the painting you took should be a nice reminder!

All the best,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found this hotel via a tremendous offer from Mr & Mrs Smith, so good we booked a trip to Budapest as a result. It's boho, shabby chic, great public spaces, tremendous staff, great location and just, a great feeling to be there. If you wanted to, you could mark it down, no telephone or toiletries in the room, no lift to the public area but, what's two very gradual floors and I didn't expect toiletries or need a telephone as there is free, strong, wi-fi, wherever you go.
Our room, Wilkinson, is not for the faint hearted, if you are unsure of your footing, or suffer vertigo as a steep, irregular (read arty) staircase up to the mezzanine bedroom would challenge the elderly. Breakfast was great, nibbles and lunch, honesty bar, nothing is too much trouble. The Mr & Mrs Smith offer is still live, do yourself a favour!

Room Tip: Ideally, on the second floor, adjacent to reception/public rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback which we appreciate very much. We are always happy to welcome guests via Mr and Mrs Smith and we are delighted to note you liked our chabby chic vibe and feel, location and staff.

Thank you for highlighting your thoughts concerning toiletries, unfortunately we will have to investigate this issue, as we pride ourselves in providing Pascal Morabito (Paris) toiletries to all of our guests. Apologies if they have not been put in your room for your arrival.

We hope to welcome you here again soon, and encourage you to try some of our other larger rooms as well for a different experience as all our rooms vary in style and size

Best regards,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brody House

Address: 10 Brody Sandor Street, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brody House 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brody House is Budapest's first private members' club and private guesthouse, offering international travellers (members & non-members) an intriguing hip place to stay. With eight individually designed double bedrooms and an apartment, each showcasing the work of young contemporary artists, Brody House offers something unique. With fairly priced room furnished in a ruggedly elegant style, Brody House is a hip yet intimate base in central downtown Pest, offering guests discreet personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Brody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brody House Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brody House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.