We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Jókai bableves"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of For Sale Pub

For Sale Pub
Vamhaz korut 2 | District V, Budapest 1056, Hungary
06 1 267-0276
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 1,783 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best "Jókai bableves"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I think I understand the people who posted bad reviews of this place. I'm a returning (happy) customer of For Sale and I know that the staff can be funny sometimes. But if you are familiar with genuine Hungarian temper, this should not surprise you. Besides, the restaurant deserves praise just as much as negative criticism.

The place has an undeniably unique atmosphere. You could spend hours just checking out the business cards, photos, illustrated coasters and origami art pieces folded from the paper dining mats, that are stuck and pinned to the walls. Admittedly there are times when it's too noisy (music and/or chats of neighbouring tables) and it can also get a bit crowded at rush hours, but once you're seated, you'll be comfortable. I would say the restaurant suits best parties of 2-6 people.

The large baskets of delicious peanuts and the rule of depositing the empty shells on the hay covered floor impress every first time visitors even before checking out the menu.

The menu is HUGE. I probably never read it from start to finish, but then again, I usually go for one of my few favourite dishes.

Trying the Gulash here is a must. In my opinion For Sale serves the best Jókai Gulash in town and the size of the single portion is so big, a party of 4 could easily share it for starter - I'm not kidding. Then I do recommend to try one of the Hungarian traditional dishes. Anything "paprikás" will take the customer to heaven. If you're not squeamish, try something VERY different like fried pork marrow or smoked trotters with strapachka, and finish your meal (if you can still fit a dessert in) with a Hungarian pancake in 'Gundel' style, the Somló sponge cake or chestnut puree.

I warn you again, the portions are enormous (which actually justifies the otherwise quite steep prices), even if you are a big eater, sharing is not a bad idea, but if you fail to finish your meal, you can ask for a doggy bag too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    321
    83
    56
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I came across this bar by accident and by am I so pleased we did. The service is like any other restaurant/pub you go to in Hungary. It is very cozy and warm inside. You hear people from allover the world, you have peanuts all over the floor and a country western look which makes you forget you are in the city center of Budapest, Hungary, for just a brief moment. That is until you take a look at the menu and browse their 3 page menu with over 150+ options to pick from, from all over the world and of course you have the typical Hungarian dishes. They serve food late and are open late as well. The area upstairs is reserved for customers eating only, which I really liked.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rude and unfriendly - spend your money elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We made our way to this pub after some suggestions by other restaurants that were closing. It was a terrible mistake. Not only was it crowded, the music horrible, the staff extremely grumpy and rude (especially the older one), the food a horrible start to a beautiful city trip. Give it a miss and you will not regret.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Gulash!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our friend told us about this place and say it´s worth of visiting and she was so right! The big bowl of Gulash costs only 1490 HUF and there was pleanty enough to eat for two persons. It´s very popular and quite small place so if you´ll like to visit there in the evening, you should make a reservation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't want to be rude.......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have visited this place a few times and each time we go, we always say "it must have changed by now", but it never has.. Inside its a fantastic quirky little bar, it's very inviting from the outside with its monkey nut bowls on all the tables and its paper momentos stuck to the walls by previous patrons.. it's not the venue that's the problem but its moody staff.. When you ask for anything either in English or in Hungarian you get the same unwelcoming reaction.. None of the staff smiles, or makes half the effort to make you feel welcome.. I feel that I'm making their day hard.. Like I said " i always think iit must have changed by now" but no...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For Sale Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to For Sale Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For Sale Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.