We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little bar opposite the indoor market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of For Sale Pub

For Sale Pub
Vamhaz korut 2 | District V, Budapest 1056, Hungary
06 1 267-0276
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quirky little bar opposite the indoor market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We didn't eat but spent a great couple of hours here, eating the free roasted peanuts and drinking a few beers after having spent a few hours in the indoor covered market. Not the cheapest in Budapest, I'm sure, but quirky & friendly - Worth a look.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    321
    83
    55
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“how rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went there on our first night in Budapest based on Tripadvisor reports to be met by a very curt young lady who said "no tables" ok thought maybe you have to book so said we'll just have a drink to be told "no tables if you want a drink you stay here" How rude so decided to leave and didnt go back so cant comment on the drink or food but to be honest it seemed very touristy and there are alot of lovely places nearby with far better manners we ended up going to Pesti Sorcsarnok just down the road was greeted warmly prices were good and food was excellent there was a table of about 12 locals next to us (which to me says it all) and a nice and friendly atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expensive and unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just laughing at the prices at this joint! 1600ft for a soup that costs about 400ft two blocks away. 900ft for a beer!? The food was okay, but prices are ridiculous and staff is quite unfriendly. The staff was very annoyed at serving us, and walked away in the middle of our order when one of us could not decide (the place was empty when we visited).

Would not recommend this place to anyone (but most places are terrible near the touristy vaszi utca)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRESHWATER,ISLE OF WIGHT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Super Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great little find. We never ate their, but the food looked great with humungus portions. Very quirky, with big bowls of Nuts everywhere. Vibrant atmosphere with little messages and peoples mementos attached to the ceilings and walls. Very bizarre, but gave it a wonderful edge. Staff were friendly and would happily book a meal on my next visit to Budapest. But most definately would be happy to make it my local boozer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Novelty pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This pub is worth a visit for novelty value - pieces of paper all over the walls that travellers have left behind. Peanut shells also cover the floors. I was disappointed that despite an extensive menu that of the 6 white wines on offer they only had two available. My friend loved her beer though

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For Sale Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to For Sale Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For Sale Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.