We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of For Sale Pub

For Sale Pub
Vamhaz korut 2 | District V, Budapest 1056, Hungary
06 1 267-0276
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #392 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Pub For Sale is a must if you visit Budapest. Unique atmosphere, interesting decoration for a pub, happy crowd, cheerful service, GREAT food in extra large portions. If you are 2 people order for 1! Have the goulash soup, it was the BEST goulash we had during our stay at the city.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    376
    105
    67
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Design, atmosphere, live music and of course the food - I enjoyed everything! I like the way they keep you busy while you're waiting for the food - first, you can spend some time reading the notes on the walls. Second, you can eat the peanuts :) Like I said, food was great, but beware - the dishes are enormous. For instance, letcho is big enough for 2 people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great pub food, better atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wife and I had lunch here. The food was great and lots of it. However it's the atmosphere of this unusual establishment that really made the difference. I would recommend this place to everybody.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Since we had to wait thirty minutes before we could eat (we didn't make a reservation) we decided to drink something at the lower floor. The interior is definitley worth a visit. Pinda shells should also be thrown on the floor, as demonstrated to us by a waiter.

After twenty minutes we were asked if we wanted to eat downstairs instead of at the upper floor. We said yes and half an hour later our diner was ready. First off, their portions are LARGE. In general their main dishes are around 1.5 times the size of an average meal. You can also request a smaller portion (around half the size) for 75% of the price. We had salmon with potatoes and roasted turkey with oregano potatoes. Both dishes were excellent. In total we paid 7000 HUF (two persons, drinks and main meal).

Would recommend this place to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Let it surprise you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is really cool! Food is very good (of course is pub-food), courses are huge, prices are fair. Leave a sign of your presence here writing on the wall used as a big guest-book. Live music is often played.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For Sale Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to For Sale Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For Sale Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.