We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Araz Restaurant Budapest

Araz Restaurant Budapest
Dohany u. 42, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
003618151000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,783 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This restaurant is connected to the hotel and looks very posh, however the staff were very friendly and the food was fantastic. We ate 3 courses in the evening from the a la carte, with wine and beer and the price was very reasonable for such well prepared and tasty food. Will definately go again on our next visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ulvik66!

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that you spent a great time in our restaurant.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    95
    27
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Bargain lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our final proper meal in Budapest. The restaurant is modern and stylish and it was very popular with locals when we visited.

The lunch menu has a sort of an Indian theme and while nothing blew me away, it was all perfectly acceptable. H and I had three courses including free lemonade and an extra espresso and it came to 3,719 HUF (€12.40). Yes that is €6.20 each! Amazing value!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear sdublin4!

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your nice comment. We are very proud that the ARAZ Restaurant provides you such a good impression. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent a great evening at Araz with friends. Staff is attentive, the hall is very nice and the food is very good. Itt all comes at a very reasonable price, too. You can choose between Hungarian and French specialties, and they have some Budapest Jewish dishes (the restaurant is in the Jewish District, after all).
Definitely at the top of my list of upscale restaurants in Budapest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear SzamoskoziPeter!

Thank you for your positive review of our Araz Restaurant. Your kind words are much appreciated by all the staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatou, France
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

For having visited some other places in Budapest, it appears clearly that this hotel restaurant is not the best value for money in town.
Yes it is a smart place to have an Hungarian dining experience but the meals I tasted were definitely not in accordance with the range of prices: pork fillet too dry, goulash too liquid, Jewish style cassoulet very disappointing. Besides I did not recognize the supposed French specialties in the menu. Yet I am French!!
Well, should make much better...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mordicus!

Thank you for your review. I am very mournful to read your bad comments about our food. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the dishes I hope you will give us a second chance to prove the high quality and care of our ARAZ Restaurant to you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Saturday menu for incedible price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Araz was such a surprise, the best thing that has happened to me this weekend! I mean, where can you get an incredibly delicious set three-course meal including a lemonade on Saturday for... wait for it... 1600 Fts! Besides, the service is seamless, and the environment is more than pleasant. Well, more Araz and less cooking for me on weekends! Yay!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear ohmyfoodness!

Thank you for spending time to express your good experiences. We are very glad that you liked our lunch menu. It's always a great pleasure to hear that our guests are grateful because of the service. We hope we can see you again in our restaurant!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araz Restaurant Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Araz Restaurant Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Araz Restaurant Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.