We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arazmatazz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Araz Restaurant Budapest

Araz Restaurant Budapest
Dohany u. 42, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
003618151000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,784 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arazmatazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the Continental Zara hotel for a long weekend. Decided to try the restaurant for dinner one night and glad we did. The restaurant served both French and Hungarian cuisine. I opted for the Hungarian menu and I wasn't disappointed. Great food, well presented and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The wine recommendation, a Hungarian Cabernet Franc, complemented the meal perfectly. After three excellent courses and a superb bottle of wine, the bill came to less than £30 each. A discount of 50% had been applied to the drinks for hotel residents. All in all, a very pleasant experience, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Steve S,
First of all let me thank you your lovely review. Besides the Hungarian and French Cuisine we offer vegetarian and original Jewish dishes for our guests which we recommend you to try next time.
I am really glad that our service met your expectation and I am especially delighted that one of the awesome Hungarian wines that we offered could make your dinner more perfect.
Yws, we offer 50% discount from the alcoholic drinks for our in-house hotel guests.
I am very grateful for recommending our Araz Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    95
    27
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really disappointed. we stayed in the hotel and decided to try restaurant, wish we hadn't. Far more in depth review read my hotel Continental Zara hotel review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Pami 196,
I was really shocked as I was reading your detailed Hotel review.
I am really disappointed that the main course wasn’t satisfying for you as you found it too dry and you missed the greeneries and sauces.
On our menu card you can find every detail of each dish and what they contain so if you miss anything from the dish you can order whatever you wish as our chefs can prepare it easily.
Next time if you have any quality problems with the dish, just let us waiters know it as soon as you realize it, and they are ready to fulfil your request.
Regarding the bill, this situation was really weird for me since we really intend to raise the attention of our guests to the service fee – you can find it on every page of the menu as well as on the bill.
I was deeply investigating the case and I think it must be only an unfortunate misunderstanding, however I am really sorry that you left us with such a bad experience.
I hope that you will give us another chance to prove you how great restaurant we have.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Part of the hotel we were staying in, I thought it might not be so good as it was the hotel restaurant, but it was lovely, and the staff couldnt do enough for you

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Laura R,
I am really happy that we were able to provide unexpectedly good experience for you.
We always intend to be much more than “just” a hotel restaurant and we do our best to achieve this. We only use the best ingredients for our dishes and we process with the newest kitchen technologies. Our staff is frequently trained for providing the highest level of service and for helping our guests to choose according to their taste.
If you visit Budapest next time, don’t miss to drop in, we always welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location for a biz dinner as well!!! Quality of food was exceptional, a group of 20 people enjoyed every min of it! Service was great as well as professional support from wine selection!Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear MK,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor readers.
We are always eager to organize your business dinner, but our restaurant is a perfect choice for any kind of family events or informal meeting as well. Besides the excellent food and professional wine selection our bartenders make you the best cocktails you have ever tasted.
I really appreciate your great feedback and recommendation
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely self service breakfast - a great start to the day! Huge choice (although feta cheese and peppers was a bit early in the day for my English taste)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Jambar62,

I am delighted that you found our breakfast lovely. We intend to satisfy every kind of taste with our huge choice.
If you visit us next time, don’t miss our a la carte menu.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araz Restaurant Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Araz Restaurant Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Araz Restaurant Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.