We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice while in Pest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lado Cafe

Lado Cafe
Dohany utca 50., Budapest 1074, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)
+36 70 350 3929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,993 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: We prepare the classic meals of the Hungarian cuisine from the early breakfast till the late dinner. We recomned the popular goulash soup, the little bit spicy vegetable ragout "Lecso" and the city's popular "Budapest style beefsteak with goose liver". Besides the meals, there are live jazz concerts every evening from 20:00 till 22:00.
Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Choice while in Pest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stopped in for a early dinner on a Sunday and the place was too empty considering the quality of food. We had the beef steak, the pork medallions and the pork cordon bleu. All disher were excellent and the price was quite resonable. We had the place to ourselves so the waite staff was very attentive. Located near a metro station and the hop on/hop off route.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "dakkinni" ,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad we had you as our guests. Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    347
    69
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Number 1 in my book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our first night in Budapest, I asked our hotel to recommend a place that serves typical Hungarian food, and they pointed us to this popular restaurant, giving us a pamphlet that gets you free beer or wine with a main course. They were not wrong - this must be one of the best restaurants in Budapest!

Fantastic atmosphere, with live music every night from 8pm. The food was absolutely delicious, although the beef stew was a bit tough. The goulash is served in a steel 'cauldron'. My wife had a surprisingly good fruit soup(!), and I had a steak with goose liver that was heavenly - one of the best steaks I have ever had. In fact the place was so good we returned 2 nights later. Sadly, the goose liver then was a bit overdone. But all at most reasonable prices. And we shared a memorable flaming rum pancake which the staff quietly plated separately for us.

The wonderful staff were warm and friendly, and one of the owners stands at the bar overseeing everything. I tried to give a large 20% tip but the staff REFUSED! The waitress said 7% was more than enough, "This is me telling you, so it is okay!" I gave her more, and it was still the best value meal for my money. I would happily return there to eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "Shunnie" ,

Thank you for your kind words about Ladó Café. We are so happy to know you have spent nice time at our restaurant and also have found our dishes tasty. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“all that Jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

we had an enjoyable evening ,mostly because of the music and atmosphere. the food was average. my husband's dish was very food - beef + veg. but my salmon steak was bed. i must point out, that we were not charged for the salmon dish. other than that, we enjoyed the place very much. its recommended to make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "adi48" ,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the music program and hope to see you again to try some other specialities at Ladó.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice place with a flair of the 50ies and cosy Jazz music. The food was excellent and the service impeccable!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "ChangLi" ,

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. Hope we can see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, very good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nice and clean Café with Jazz-Music. A good place also to stay and wait, if you wash your clothes in the laundry on opposite site !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "Ottmar1" ,

Thank you for your visit. We are looking forward to seeing you again for another nice time at Ladó Café.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lado Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lado Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lado Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.