We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Budapest Panoramic View
Budapest Panoramic View
Budapest Panoramic View
Luxury German Kitchen and Dining Area
Lounge with Dining Area and Kitchen in the Background
Lounge Seating
Lounge with Panaramic Window to South Facing Terrace
Budapest
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shacklefo...
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well located, well appointed and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The penthouse apartment is spacious and comfortable. Eva's agent, Miklos, was very helpful (do remember to get Miklos' phone number before you travel).

We found everything we needed in the apartment, supplies can be bought from the SPAR shop, which is a five minute walk away.

The metro station is a ten minute walk away, and just three stops into the heart of Pest.

The gym and swimming pool in the basement is a lovely way to relax after a day of sightseeing.

Breakfast on the terrace is a very good way to start the day.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break in Budapest, and the Riverside penthouse apartment was perfect.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2012
Hello dear past guest, and many thanks for your lovely review. We are particularly pleased that you found our agent Miklos very helpful. In our opinion, having a great agent is one of the keys to having happy guests.Good tip about the phone number!
The SPAR mini-market just around the corner has just about everything you need for your stay, and to top it all downtown is just a short metro ride away.
Thanks again.Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
vinny73
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Stayed here in the week of the Sziget Festival in Budapest. Having visited Budapest for the past three years, we identified this part of town to rent an apartment in to allow us convenient access to both the festival site and city centre. We couldn't have found a better apartment for the price. Modern, secured access, lift up to 9th floor, nice open plan living space and a teriffic terrace to relax on. From the terrace you can see the Fisherman's Bastion and Mattias Church on the Buda side lit up at night.

The pool in the basement is free to use and also has a sauna and steam room. This is a particularly good facility to have.

There a small bar in the block which is good for drinks but too slow for food (pizzas for 4 people had to be grilled consecutively). However, there looked like plenty of other options nearby. There's a well stocked Spar only a couple of mins walk which sells everything you would expect, including British brands.

A bus runs down the main road outside the apartment that takes you to a tube stop so it's very easy to get into Pest. It's not much of a walk to Margit Bridge anyway.

The only small criticism I would have is the requirement for the agent to take you round showing you how everything works - not needed in the case of most people. He will also arrive at check-out time and inspect everything. Again, it's a bit unneccessary for adults to be subject to a plate and cutlery count before they can leave! Perhaps these checks can be carried out more discretely.

Overall, the apartment is highly recommended.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Sun terrace
Liked least: The requirement of the agent at check-out
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2012
We are delighted that you had such a good time staying in our apartment.

We are constantly striving to provide excellent value for money, and believe, that our apartment with pool and gym is one of the very best in Budapest.

Your comment regarding our agent's check out procedure is acknowledged.

However, you would be surprised how much gets lost or damaged over the course of a season's letting.

We are not talking the odd spoon here, but broken furniture!

Thanks again for the great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Linda P
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant city break in Budapest Penthouse river location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Everything excellent, lovely apartment and good communication with Eva the owner, good tips and information beforehand. Miklos the agent extremely helpful.
We all enjoyed our stay enormously and were only disappointed in that we were the only people unfortunately in the whole year to have the pool closed for essential maintenance during our week (however we were later given a discount because of this). As this was the principal reason we initially booked we were obviously disappointed but everything else was brilliant. We visited the city centre, walked and took metro, used the bus from the nearby bus station to visit Esztergom and have a wonderful 3 hour trip back on the Danube. An excellent day out and to be thoroughly recommended

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views over the river from the balcony
Liked least: The lovely little cafe/bar next door putting up its prices 40% overnight!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2012
Hello My Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for the wonderful review you gave us, despite the very unfortunate circumstances of the pool closure.

We (Miklos & I) try very hard to think of everything a guest would need to make an awsome holiday experience.

Budapest is a lovely, old city with so much to do there, but as always one needs to get into the spirit of things and not let it spoiled by any unforseen event.

You have managed to do that and more, enjoyed yourselves!

Congratulation to all of you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jurassic
Nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Stayed for 7 nights during May. Comfortable and quiet. Located in a residential area with easy access to small supermarket. 15 min. walk to the metro and a 10 min on the metro you are in the centre of Budapest. Decent sized balcony with good views of Margaret Island, the Danube and surrounding Eastern European apartment blocks.
Was disappointed to be informed on arrival that "the air conditioning has not yet been maintained for this season", so was unavailable. We were offerred a 20 euro rebate for this.
Really appreciated the spa to relax in at the end of a days sightseeing.
Budapest is a wonderful city. So much to do and see.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The spa
Liked least: No air conditioning as advertised
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It is always helpful for both the owner and future guests. I am pleased that you were happy staying with us, except one little hitch, the lack of air-conditioning.

I am very sorry about this.I was not made to be aware of this problem until you left. Should I have known about it, I would have taken action immediately.

However, in my agent’s defence, I have to say, that you were there in the spring season and Hungary does not really get hot in this time of the year. On checking the weather, it was 23C-24C, which is considered a pleasant temperature by the locals.

On the same topic: I was very pleased for you about the nice weather, as I seem to recall that your ‘special’ wish was warm weather on your booking form.

Your disappointment may have been more to do with the fact that you felt that you paid for something, which was not delivered. To put your mind to rest, I did not charge you extra for the air-con as it came with the package and I offered you a € 25 off of the normal price. So you see, you had a good deal of paying only € 440.00 for a seven-day stay, which you must agree with me, was a bargain!

On top of that, I refunded €20, which I did not charged for at the beginning. This was my way of saying ‘Sorry’.

However, we do not agree on one point, where the apartment was rated ‘Average’. Well, a penthouse over looking the Danube with two bathrooms and spa facilities is not an average property in my book. It it were in London it would cost 1£m. Penthouse is the only apartment for rent which offers these services.

I trust and hope that I have answered all your questions and apologised for any inconvenienced caused hoping that you still have faith in our services and will come back to us. If you do, I will give 10% off the listed price; accept in the months of July & August. Thanks aain for your valued custom. Mrs Eva Godden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Melanie S
Fockenberg-Limbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
“Great Location and Perfect Apartment for Small Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Easy walk to the metro. One block to a grocery and ATM. Fabulous bakeries within the block as well. Great view especially at night. Close to Margaret Island - bring your running gear if you are a runner - great cushioned trail all the way around the island. Pool and spa access although we didn't use it since we were busy sight seeing during the day and too pooped at night to swim.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Towels were all black and got black lint everywhere including all over your body. Picky, I know, but this was our only complaint.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for the very useful review and that you have enjoyed staying in our apartment.

I will rectify the point you made to make this holiday experience even better.

My Very Best Wishes

Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nina D
Budapest
1 review
“Great place for vacation/short rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We arrived to Hungary for a long stay with a family with 2 children. Thanks to Eva and Miklos, this very stressful time of family relocation we managed to turn into a holiday, during of which we relaxed and found a bigger place for a long time rent. We stayed in the apartment for 10 days, and really enjoyed that time. The location of the apartment is very convenient - close to everything, the quality of building and all the facilities is fine - we went to the pool, sauna and even to the small cafe in the building when we didn't have time to explore the city. The apartment is fully equipped, apart from hotels, you'll feel like at home there. So, this place can be highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2012
It was so good to have this great review! It helps us continually improve and keep the standards high. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us one of the best review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lizogilvi...
Monifieth
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in a wonderful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

My partner and I stayed with two friends in Eva's apartment over the New Year week. It is a fantastic apartment with wonderful views of the city. It is well equipped with everything you could possibly need for an enjoyable stay. The spa facilities in the building are a bonus and included in the price! The apartment was always warm and welcoming even on the coldest days. We spent each day sightseeing around the city and everything was readily accessible from the apartment. We would highly recommend this apartment to anyone. It is especially magical if you want to welcome in the New Year watching the fireworks from the outside terrace!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Bright and spacious with great views
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2012
Hello My Dear Past Guest,

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for the wonderful review you gave us. I am sure that you know how important this for us (Miklos and I) and for the future guests! Thank you!

Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$442
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Mrs Eva Margaret G
44 078 1660 5362
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2008
Response Rate: 70 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 13 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing