We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, great company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walzer Cafe

Walzer Cafe
Tancsics Mihaly Utca 12, Budapest 1014, Hungary (District I / Buda)
36302505971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: In business for over 10 years, Walzer Café is an independent courtyard cafe located inside a 700 year old building in the heart of Budapest's historic Castle district. There is no shortage of cafes in the Castle but if you are looking for something off the beaten path with a quiet intimate setting then look no further than Walzer! We encourage you to come & get off your feet, get together with friends, catch up on reading, or even strike up a conversation with a local regular during your stay in our lovely city. At Walzer Café, we pride ourselves on providing excellent service & one of the best cups of coffee this side of the Danube. You can find us down the street from Matthias Church & the Hilton Hotel, as you head towards the Vienna Gate (Bécsi Kapu). We look forward to welcoming you!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee, great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Delightful place. Excellent coffee, the sweetest hostess -- she took time to help us make plans for the rest of our visit. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming Kávéház.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I often go to Budapest,so 2-3 times a year and i explore many corners of Budapest to see what is going on there. On my last visit i was in Buda to look for a new kávéház (coffeeshop) i had heard of. When i found it,i was a bit supriced,it was in an open gate of a house in the street. It was winter and to sit in an"portal",wich was open,with no heating lookt at first no very attractive but wed' gave it a try.The owner was very friendly to us and gave us a warm welcome and a sort of big cloth to keep warm.She is Hungarian but speeks Englisch an German,so no problem there.
To warm up i had a few palinka's and my girlfriend had an Irisch coffee.I can imagine that with better weather and in the summer it will be a great place to go to.( it is 100 m further than all the tourist attractions, so it is not very crowded). A nice place that i will visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jos v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walzer Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful place to have coffee, relax and enjoy the company of Silvia. The coffee and carrot cake were excellent. Highly recommmended

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The cutest little Cafe in Buda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

...and it has the sweetest owner - thank you for letting us a bit past working hrs in the pouring rain! Great coffee and complimentary dessert!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
“SIMPLY AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

such a wonderful place with an amazing hostess!
awesome coffe would do a nice job while walking in the castle area!
anyone should really visit it
inerior+treats=love

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walzer Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Walzer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing