We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, great company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walzer Cafe

Walzer Cafe
Tancsics Mihaly utca 12, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,784 Restaurants in Budapest
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee, great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Delightful place. Excellent coffee, the sweetest hostess -- she took time to help us make plans for the rest of our visit. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming Kávéház.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I often go to Budapest,so 2-3 times a year and i explore many corners of Budapest to see what is going on there. On my last visit i was in Buda to look for a new kávéház (coffeeshop) i had heard of. When i found it,i was a bit supriced,it was in an open gate of a house in the street. It was winter and to sit in an"portal",wich was open,with no heating lookt at first no very attractive but wed' gave it a try.The owner was very friendly to us and gave us a warm welcome and a sort of big cloth to keep warm.She is Hungarian but speeks Englisch an German,so no problem there.
To warm up i had a few palinka's and my girlfriend had an Irisch coffee.I can imagine that with better weather and in the summer it will be a great place to go to.( it is 100 m further than all the tourist attractions, so it is not very crowded). A nice place that i will visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Walzer Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful place to have coffee, relax and enjoy the company of Silvia. The coffee and carrot cake were excellent. Highly recommmended

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The cutest little Cafe in Buda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

...and it has the sweetest owner - thank you for letting us a bit past working hrs in the pouring rain! Great coffee and complimentary dessert!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
“SIMPLY AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

such a wonderful place with an amazing hostess!
awesome coffe would do a nice job while walking in the castle area!
anyone should really visit it
inerior+treats=love

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walzer Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Walzer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walzer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.