We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nobu Restaurant

Nobu Restaurant
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus | Erzsebet Ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+36 1 429 4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Japanese, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy and explore Nobu Matsuhisa's New Style Japanese cuisine in the first Central-European member of Nobu's worldwide dining empire where traditional Japanese techniques are redefined by South American flavors. Nobu Budapest welcomes guests with 80-seats including a private room and the sushi bar while the Nobu Lounge Bar accommodates guests with separate menu card and a wide Nobu Signature Cocktail selection.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutley amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went here for dinner during our trip to Budapest and everything from the service to the food and wine was absolutely top-of-the-class. Are waitress was very helpful and accomodating, when we asked about sevral wines we were choosing from she did'nt recommend the most expensive ones and she let us take our time and order several times without questioning or seeming stressed even though the restaurant was full. The food was made to perfection, the alskan black cod in miso was one of the best dishes I have ever had - a must as everyone says! Expensive compared to the price level in the city but well under what you would pay for the same meal at Nobu in London or Dubai for example. Strongly recommend a visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    149
    64
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“When i decide to go to Budapest i made sure i went to Nobu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had Nubu before. I always consider Nobu to be the best Japanese food in the world. When i decide to go to Budapest i made sure i went to Nobu. Well it was as good as the rest i have been. The food in was excellent; its more than just food is the top Japanese by far. They have a specials menu that the price is affordable. Now as far as the decoration, i will say that is average for that restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Amazing. It's hard to say anything else. Service, fantastic and attentive. Food. To die for. I'm not a major fish fan, however when it's produced with this attention to detail and flavor balance, you simply can't say no.

Attached to a world class hotel, I'd not hesitate in recommending Nobu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came here for a celebratory dinner and we were not disappointed. We were expecting to spend a good amount of money as Nobu has a reputation for being quite pricey. However, the quality was good and the atmosphere was nice. It is not a quiet restaurant. If you are seeking something more intimate, this may not be the place for you. But for some good quality sushi and sashimi, I would definitely recommend it. Our favorites were the yellowtail with jalapeno and the grilled aubergine. The service was also quite good. Dishes were well timed and the wait staff was very pleasant, kind and friendly. If we are in the mood for a celebration dinner with Japanese food, I would definitely go back to Nobu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expecting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sushis, Sashimi (new style) and starters was fantastic! We were a bit disappointing with the main courses, too much chili sauce on the beef (no more beef taste) and with the side dishes only 2 pieces of mushrooms and sliced radishes (cold). The service was normal, not reactive, after the starters the waiter ask us if we have something after? and we wait 25min between starters and main courses. I was a bit sad for my first time in a Nobu restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Restaurant also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Nobu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nobu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.