We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One more place in Budapest you are paying something different from the menu catalog” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holdudvar

Holdudvar
Margaret Island, Budapest, Hungary
36-1-236-01-55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,147 of 1,987 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: International, European, Hungarian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One more place in Budapest you are paying something different from the menu catalog”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am still wondering and trying to understand why hungarians charge different prices at menu catalogs from the final receipts. Budapest is a beautiful place, so as the Margaret's island but....No they don't respect the tourists and the beautyness of their city.

Homemade lemonade to the menu catalog: 200forints. We order two lemonades. We pay 1200fiorints instead of 400.
They said that the price is actually per 1000ml. So pathetic. Why you do not mention that at your menu in English?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The perfect place to relax after wandering around Margaret island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The restaurant is located on Margrit Island - a green oasis in the middle of Budapest- where people of Budapest come for walking, cycling, jogging or swimming. We first went to Holdudvar in 2009 and since then we have visited it several times. The restaurant is open only during the summer months and it is the perfect spot for cooling down after exploring the island and for having lunch or dinner in a hot summer day. The food is tasty and well presented, the service is very good and the prices reasonable. Thus, when you go to Margit Island, do visit Holdudvar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went on our last night after going for a walk on the island. I had the wild boar stew which was incredible! Service was attentive (the waiter even brought me a blanket when it started to get chilly outside). We were impressed by the prices - the stew was £8 and cocktails were around £4. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must to visit for the food and area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

If you are new to Budapest there are many things you must do and visit,this is just one of them.The Holdudvar restaurant is located on Margit island,a large island in the Danube,access from Margit bridge(margaret to us) a lovely place to while away the time and very safe at night.the restaurant itself is a large mainly open air place,very easy on the eye,and serve very good food,and drink,at a reasonable price.It has a very good menu,my wife had wild boar stew,and loved it(it you are ever in Italy you must try boar sausage,rich is not the word)anyway after the meal take a wander around the island,good views from the water tower,closed in 2011 for refurb, swimming pools,cycle hire.ruins of the medievel nunary,and if your still peckish eat a LANGOS . I have travailed quite a bit but just love a short city break in Budapest in the autumn.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holdudvar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Holdudvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holdudvar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.