We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monarchia Old

Monarchia Old
Vaci Utca 79, 1056, Budapest, Hungary (Formerly Galilei) (District V / Inner City)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,703 of 1,992 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: All of the customers are welcome in our new restaurant in the city center of Budapest, where you can taste the traditional hungarian specialties, but you can try some italian food specialties as well.We serve approximately 100 types of famous hungarian wine beside the excellent dishes.You can find here all of the best values of the old times, in the design, and in the friendly atmosphere as well.
kuba
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were here with my boyfriend,it was excellent. The food was delicious,the service was very good, and the prices were reasonable. We liked it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    8
    20
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding delicious had a great time there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have eaten here few times, during my visit of Budapest. I really enjoyed dining here, the staff was very friendly, they have live musicians , and I could taste some real Hungarian traditional food. The place is old fashion , but very cozy. Location is great, one block from the Danube, right on the main street of Budapest. The price was average . Had a great time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very delicious hungarian dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have eaten here once, but it was lovely. The food was very delicious, the staff were kind and we have got a free hungarian "palinka" as well.The place is wonderful, it has old-fashioned style, but it's really special. It was very good, i recommend!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty and inexpensive tourist menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had the goulasch soup and the chicken paprikash with schpaetzles from the lunch tourist menu. Both were tasty, but the chicken leg came without the thigh part. Still -- for the price of 1650 Ft + the automatically added 10% service charge one cannot complain. Ambiance and service were fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were here 3 times in our holiday and it was pretty good. At the first time we had a real hungarian dinner, me and my wife had some steak in budapest style, and our children had some spagetti. All of the foods were very delicious and the prices were friendly. At the other 2 times we had just some dessert and coffe, this afternoons were also lovely here. We liked the service as well, everybody were kind to my family. We will visit this place again, if we come back to Budapest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarchia Old also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Monarchia Old? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarchia Old, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.