We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costes

Costes
Raday utca 4, Budapest 1092, Hungary
+36 1 219 0696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,990 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: It's Hungary's first Michelin Star restaurant
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We ordered the 8 course taster meal which cost about 79euro per head- it was absolutely delicious. We did opt out of the cheese course as we mentioned to the waiter that we did not enjoy eating cheese much, although we were unable to swap this course for anything we were offered 10 euro discount to remove this course which we accepted.

Each dish was delivered beautifully and explained carefully to us of its preparation. My favourite dish was a potato and truffled egg yolk soup which was so delicious!

There were also several amuse bouche during the course of the meal which meant we were definitely not left hungry, we were also given a small chocolate box to take home.

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and food! Though not cheap I would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Vickaly,

Thank you for your message in TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the 8 course menu and we could solve the problem with the cheese.
The potato soup is also one of our favourites and we recommend for everybody who like the special tastes.

We are looking forward you again in here.

Best Regards,

Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    75
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Costes was not only our culinary highlight, but the overall highlight of our trip to Budapest. The interior design is ultra cool and beautiful. From the warm welcome to the perfectly attentive service, we had no criticism of this lovely restaurant. The fantastic wine list was fronted by the charming and knowledgeable sommelier, as a result of which, we now have a massively elevated opinion of Hungarian wine. Even though we ordered a la carte, there were many amuse-bouches to titillate our taste buds. All of the food was highly imaginative, made perfectly and extremely tasty. This restaurant is delivering at the highest level on the world stage and by those standards, represents unbelievable value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear FelixOnTour,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with us about your dinner in Costes.
We are happy that you got many information about the hunagrian wines from our sommelier and that you had a memorable culinary experience thanks for our Chef.
How you told we try to be on the highest level all the time and make our guests satisfied.
We are happy that now you are one of them.

Best Regards,

Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class dining in the heart of Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked a table in Costes out of curiosity since it was the first time for everyone in our group to eat in a Michelin starred restaurant. Afterwards we left smiling and talking about the experience for the rest of the evening. The service was immaculate as was to be expected and the food phenomenal. Perfect atmosphere for a couples night out, cozy decoration and not too stiff nor formal. The prices are really reasonable considering the experience. Special thanks to our waiter who recommended the dessert 'Pear'.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear antsaJkl,

It is always a pleasure for us to read a revenue like yours about the restaurant. These sentences make us feel that what we do is good and we always try to do our best.
We espaecialy liked that you were satisfied with the service and with your pear dessert.

We hope that we will see you again.

Best Regards,

Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We ate here on our final evening in Budapest. We hadn't booked but thought we'd try our luck. We were offered a table & had a glorious meal. We ordered one course each but were thrilled to be able to taste many small dishes that were offered to us. They were all delicious & each of the unusual combinations we tasted was explained to us by the head waiter. Our bill was not as high as we'd imagined it would be, particularly as the chef trained at El Bulli. All dishes were innovative in taste & presentation.
All in all a super experience not to be forgotten!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear JosieMB,

We were glad to read your opinion about our restaurant and your dinner what you could spent in here. We are also happy that you had chance to get a table without reservation because many times we are fully booked, but luckily you could be part of our life and the Costes experience.

We are hope to see you soon again and offer new dishes with unusual taste combinations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband booked Costes as a surprise for me and I was delighted to find that the food was gorgeous, tasty and beautifully presented.

The waiting staff and hosts were attentive but not over the top and all the little extra tasting dishes (like another starter and dessert on top of what we ordered!) they gave us took the experience up another notch.

The bill was expensive but I think that was something to do with the fact that the champagne was €27 a glass...probably wouldn't have had two if I'd known!

I'd definitely recommend it for a special treat!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear The-C-Girl,

First of all we would like to say thank you for your husband who guessed out such a good surprise for you like a dinner in Costes.
It is always a pleasure to read back that you found our dishes tasty and beautiful presented, that is why our staff work hard everyday.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costes also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.