We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costes

Costes
Raday utca 4., Budapest 1092, Hungary
+36 1 219 0696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,603 restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: It's Hungary's first Michelin Star restaurant
horsham
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Expensive but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were recommended the restaurant by te concierge of the Four Seasons and my husband and I chose the grand menu with wine paring. Every course was presented well and the wines were an excellent complement to the food. In particular we loved the duck liver with red cabbage and apple, the dover sole with cauliflower, guinea fowl with buckwheat and chestnuts and Fallow deer with green walnuts courses. Service was extremely good - friend but efficient. Highly recommend this restaurant for those with discerning palate and willingness to pay for this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear boaster,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our restaurant.
We appreciate your visit and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Costes Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    239
    45
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Skåne Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit this restaurant if you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fantastic food and great service! The whole experience – the food’s taste and presentation - makes us want to go back. The place is not cheap; on the other hand you get what you pay for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Edit R,

Thank you very much for your review, we do appreciate the rating.
We are glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and would be thrilled to see you again.

Best Regards,
Costes Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Costes - The Hungarian Restaurant with the Most-as”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wow! What a great evening. The restaurant is well worth the Michelin star and the reputation it bestows. From the moment we entered, we were treated by the staff as royalties. They were extremely helpful, attentive yet not intrusive. Everyone speaks surprisingly good English as well. The food was heavenly. We ordered Scallops, the "Pho" inspired Soup (SOUP-erb), Entrecote, Solefish and the mixed dessert. The Mango Coconut "exotic" dessert was our favorite. The sommelier also did an excellent job matching a wine to our diverse dinners (steak and fish). We were even treated with complementary amuse bouches and little bonbons for dessert. Every detail on the plate is well thought of and besides the amazing tastes, they also pay attention to the visual pleasures and design. Expensive but good value and an unforgettable dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Diana G,

Many thanks for your review!
It is always a pleasure to read passionate feedback like yours. It is also a pleasure to cater for people who appreciate the details of our work. We are thrilled that you had an unforgettable dinner at our restaurant and hope we can welcome you again soon.
Many thanks and Happy New Year!
Best,

Costes Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An experience of service and passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

As you would anticipate from a renound restaurant, great service, passion for food and wines. Worth every cent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Alex A,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your generous feedback.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best,

Costes Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food in classy surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We visited Costes on the spur of the moment and were pleased we did. We chose the 8 course tasting menu with wine, and it was great. The staff were attentive and friendly, always explaining what you were presented with in sufficient detail without being intrusive.

My personal highlights were the venison (delicious), the chorizo foam and the divine fish course.

Oh, and the cheese course was great, I just wish I could remember the name of the Brie as it was amazing!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras_Hodossy, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear jmcc500,

Many thanks for your review!

The cheese you are referring to is called Brillat-Savarin, a triple cream brie cheese from Burgundy.

We are delighted you enjoyed our grand tasting menu this much and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costes also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.