We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AltraCasa Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AltraCasa Apartments to your Saves list
AltraCasa Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Sas utca n.10 | 2 floor - office257, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“cheap and central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at one of their apartments in April 2013. It was right on Vaci utca but luckily didn't face the busy street so at night we slept like babies. net was good, too. very small bathroom and kitchen. 4 chairs for 6 people. still, loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for your review, we appreciate you enjoyed your stay in Budapest in our apartment. We thank you for your suggestions regarding additional chairs. We had a little problem during days before your arrival and we don't have enough time to replace it. We are sorry for this. We invite you to stay once again in our apartments! See you for your next trip in Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
41
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our stay in altracasa flat was a great experience. The flat was beautifully renovated and was very specious. Its location was great and is within walking distance from the city centre. There is a supermarket just round the corner and a variety of cafe and restaurants just round the street. The Metro station is just outside the building entrance basically and the bus station is a couple of minutes walk away. The hop on - hop off bus stop is 3 minutes walk from there and it is a great way to experience Budapest. The flat was very clean and is in a very safe building. Will highly recommend this to friends and will stay again on my next visit to Budapest. It comes at a great price for 6 people sharing - even cheaper than a hostel !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear George,
many thanks for your review! We are happy to had you as our guest, you are very polite person.
We try to do our best to let the stay of our guests good and we think to have satisfied you.
We are waiting for you for your next trip in Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Dear friends
we have to say that our stay in Budapest was perfect.
Marty has been very kind, and showed us the apartment in a nice spot of Budapest, in Front of the Market , close to the Liberty Bridge, 500m far from the closest metro stop (Kalvin) , close to N.2 Tram stop (which brings you to the Parliament), the perfect beginning for a walk through Vaci utca up to Szent Istvan Basilika.
The apartment is quiet, no noise. Clean. The bed was perfect.
Best regards
Enzo & Renata

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Google Translation
Ciao Ragazzi,

a nome di tutto lo staff vi ringrazio per il vostro commento. Siamo felici di aver reso bella la vostra vacanza a Budapest. Già la Perla del Danubio di per sé prende tutti i complimenti per la sua bellezza e atmosfera, ma siamo contenti di aver ricevuto un pensiero anche per i nostri servizi e per il nostro appartamento.
Avremo il piacere di ospitarvi nuovamente, anche perchè avete il nostro sconto fedeltà!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

You could live permanently in this apartment right on the main Cathedral square, but once you got behind the front door into the tranquil back yard entrance there was absolute quiet. The separate bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom meant that you got no food smells or fridge noise when you were sleeping. The staff were brilliant, both in contacting us before we arrived and asking if we had any special requests and when we got there. Efficient, friendly and helpful. The pictures of the apartment on the website and the descriptions were also totally accurate. We even got a wifi that worked consistently and effectively!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
HI Andy,
many thanks for choosing our apartment! We appreciated your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay in the wonderful Budapest.

We try to do our best for our guests and when we read these reviews we appreciate it so much.
See you next time in Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My aunt and I, and my three [very tall] guy cousins, rented two apartments in Budapest from AltraCasa Apartments in early March. The staff was very accommodating to our requests before arriving. Thank you, Manuele, for all of your help! However, we are glad that another cousin, who lives in Budapest, was able to visit the apartments before we arrived, as the first place we rented turned out to be much smaller than what we had expected from the write-ups on the website. When we rented the first apartment, we thought it would have been big enough for all five of us. But after my cousin in Budapest checked it out, the space turned out to be much too small for this to be possible. After our cousin visited the apartment, we decided to rent a second apartment as well…one for the ladies, the other for the guys. This ended up being a very good decision.

The locations of both apartments were outstanding. One apartment on Zrinyi utca was about ½-block in front of St. Stephen’s Basilica, and the other was about a 5 minute walk away on Arany János utca. Close to small cafes and restaurants, close to grocery stores, close to major tourist sites, close to the subway, close to the trams, and within a short walk to the Danube, the Chain Bridge, and to the Váci utca. We could walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. No complaints at all about the locations. Both apartments were in old, quaint buildings, with lovely interior courtyards, and both apartments were exceptionally quiet at night. Both places were close to the AltraCasa business office, so getting the keys, and returning them, was an easy process.

The prices were also very reasonable for apartments in a great location in a major European city. Please keep in mind that we were visiting in early March—not at the height of the tourist season—so the prices were most likely cheaper at this time of the year. I know, for example, that the prices were higher over the Easter weekend. The larger apartment on Arany János utca cost about $67.00 US/Canadian per night [$400 US for 6 nights, which included a cleaning fee]. In this apartment, the guys had two beds situated in one large bedroom, with a double bed in another large bedroom. There was also a single bed located at the end of a hallway…a little strange, as it wasn’t really a bedroom! There was a huge living room with a futon sofa and table/chairs, a kitchen, and a bathroom with a front-loading washing machine. In European style, there was a separate room for the toilet. The seating was sparse in the living room, and the chairs for the table were very wobbly with some broken parts. Two of the chairs could not be used by my tall cousins.

The smaller apartment on Zrinyi utca cost about $50 US per night. This apartment had two separate loft bedrooms—both located at the top of steep stairways. One loft had a double bed, and the other a single bed. There was also a kitchen; a large living room with a futon sofa, a table with chairs, and a spacious bookcase; and, a small bathroom with a shower stall, sink, and a washing machine. In European style, there was a separate room for the toilet, which was near the front door. You don’t need to bring a hair dryer, as there is one in the apartment.

The larger apartment had access to an elevator, but it was still necessary to walk up one flight of steps to get to the elevator. The smaller apartment was a walk-up on the second floor, with a large circular stairway. Both apartments were located in residential buildings, which added to their charm. We all felt safe staying in the apartments, as each building had keyless-entry codes to get into the buildings, and there were double-bolt, double-key latches for each apartment door. Window shades/blinds were located on the outside of the windows, and were opened and closed by using a rope system located inside the rooms. It took us a few days to figure this out, as this type of window shade is not seen in North America!

Beds were comfortable, and the bedding was fine. Extra pillows, blankets, and duvets were found in the cupboards. Towels were plentiful, but a bit worn. There was free Wi-Fi at both locations. The room temperatures were comfortable. The ceiling lights or wall lights were the main sources of illumination, so the lighting in both apartments was rather harsh. There were no table lamps or floor lamps to soften the lighting. Each location would have benefited from end tables, lamps, and softer lighting.

And, both kitchens could have been better equipped. Although both apartments had adequate dishes, silverware, and pots/pans, both apartments had many items missing. For example, neither apartment had enough wine glasses or dish towels. And, the small apartment was missing a cork screw and a functioning coffee pot. Also, it would have been nice to have information about how to operate the washing machines, as the directions on the machine were in German. We took a guess on turning them on, but the machines seemed to take hours to go through a simple cycle.

Also, in the smaller apartment on Zrinyi utca, we had to be fast with our showers, as the water did not flow through the drain very quickly. The water had a tendency to fill-up and over flow the shower basin, even after we checked the drain for blockages [there were none]. We learned to be quick in the shower!

Despite the small inconveniences, I would definitely rent the smaller apartment on Zrinyi utca again when I return to Budapest with my husband. The location was great, and the price was very reasonable. However, if you’re looking for luxury accommodations, these are not the apartments for you. They’re functional, clean, pest-free, and in a great location. With some fresh paint and upgrading of furniture and equipment, these apartments could be stellar.

Room Tip: This business appears to have several apartments in central Budapest, and it might be difficult to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltraCasaKft, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Marguerite
Many thanks for your review, we’ve read with pleasure what you’ve written.
We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay in our apartment.
We will think about your suggestions and we will try to do our best in order to avoid future problems with the waterflow.
We hope if you return back in Budapest to host you again!It was a pleasure make your knowledge. Wish you all the best - AltraCasa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and three friends have just returned from a three night stay at the AltraCasa apartments and can't believe the quality for the price we paid.
Our apartment was located on Vaci Utca, the main shopping street, offering almost everything you could need and almost all of Budapest's attractions within walking distance. Not that you could tell the apartment was just off the main street. Situated in a quiet and pretty courtyard, we never had any trouble sleeping. The specs were nothing short of amazing. A full kitchen, power shower and bathroom, two comfy double beds, a table and four chairs and just a general abundance of space made us feel really at home.
Betty was helpful and there to meet us off the coach, and gave us some handy tips for seeing the city. We were also allowed to put our luggage in their head offices until 4pm on the day of our departure. This was a 25 minute walk away from the apartment but was helpful as our flight wasn't til 9pm.
Budapest is an amazing city, with stunning architecture, quality restaurants, great shopping and some interesting attachments. Special mention to the huge spa near Heroes Square, and the Trofea Bar and Grill, which was a fantastic quality all-you-can-eat and drink buffet with show cooking and some tasty international dishes.
Overall, at 168 EUR // around £150 for three nights, so just over £12 pppn, this place is fantastic. Great location, helpful and friendly staff and a brilliant city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltraCasaKft, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we’ve read with pleasure what you’ve written. We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay in our apartment and we hope if you return back in Budapest to host you again!It was a pleasure make your knowledge. Wish you all the best - AltraCasa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the apartment located in Fovam Ter, n4. The location of the apartment is excellent (in front of the market), the building is very beautiful and we were very well received! It´s a quiet place, but near the main attractions of the city. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and has all the necessary amenities (wifi, heating, ...). Close to the appartment are available numerous services (restaurants, supermarkets, stores, pharmacy). I strongly recommend to anyone who wants to visit Budapest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltraCasaKft, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AltraCasa Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
HI Joao!
Many thanks for your review, we’ve read with pleasure what you’ve written. We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay in our apartment and we hope if you return back in Budapest to host you again!It was a pleasure make your knowledge. Wish you all the best - AltraCasa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#36 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AltraCasa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AltraCasa Apartments

Address: Sas utca n.10 | 2 floor - office257, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AltraCasa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AltraCasa Apartments offers 2/4/6/8/10 people apartments situated in Budapest's central 5th district around the main locations: Vaci Street, Danube River, St. Stephen's Basilica and Parliament. It offers well-furnished apartments with Italian-style furniture and free Wi-Fi.All guests are personally welcomed to their apartment, which includes a TV and a well equipped kitchen with a microwave, washing machine and vacuum cleaner. Bed linens and towels are provided in every apartment.Assistance 360° before arrival of the guest with email contacts ( the staff is available to give all the information you need), during the stay (if there are any problems or requirements staff will solve immediately) and after the stay with a special voucher that will invite the guest to return again with AltraCasa Apartments.The AltraCasa offers shuttle services to and from the airport for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AltraCasa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AltraCasa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.