We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Hotel Budapest

Save Saved
You added Silver Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Hotel Budapest
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hunyadi ter 11, Budapest 1067, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 155 Budapest B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent. Easy to go out and walk around Budapest. There were many restaurants near the hotel.

The room was clean and there were clean towels. Nice and beautiful bathroom. Soap, but no shampoo or hairdryer. Sometimes there was some noise especially in the morning and night. Earplugs and the problem was solved.

Service in the reception was great. They always helped us. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
17
66
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BASINGSTOKE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently stayed here as a friend of mine was supposed to be taking part in the Budapest Marathon and this hotel was ideally situated to be able to make a quick dart to the start in Hero's Square. He had booked very early and had a triple room with an external door to a balcony with a view out over the local park and to be fair his room was very good, en-suite, mini fridge, air-con and small kitchenette sink unit.
I made the decision to join him about a week before travelling and booked a double room.
When we got there I found out my room was in fact a twin, a pain as i like a double bed, but not the end of the world. But the main problem was no air-con, fridge didn't work, en-suite was if anything larger than my friends, very clean and i couldn't fault it at all, but the room was SO hot with no window to the outside for ventilation and only an electrical fan to try and cool you off, I don't do well in the heat and consequently despite the bed being comfortable, didn't sleep well at all and had to have the fan on all night............now this was early - mid October, it would of been stifling in high season.
Last time I was in Budapest I stayed at Le Meridian which was such a different experience and I guess goes to show you get what you pay for.
I would stay here again, but would make sure I had one of the triple rooms with outside door to balcony even if staying alone, it was after all only about £120.00 for 3 nights if booked early enough.
Location wise, great.......a stones throw from the closest Metro line which connected to the central Metro hub within about 7 stops (10 mins), very efficient, clean and safe.
If you are travelling on a budget and want to spend your time out and about exploring and not expecting to be able to use hotel bars, restaurants and general facilities you could do worse, try it.........what do you have to lose.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an external door out to the balcony to ensure fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Rio, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well, this is a very special hotel, like many of the europe hotels. The hotel begins in a common street in front of a dirty park, and there is a little announcement . . . but is 40 mt to the Vorosmarty metro station. You go inside and is an appartment stuf untill the 4th floor!!!, but the reception is at the 1st floor. Rooms with good size, clean, nice bathroom, So quiet. There is internet but near to the reception. The best : the people that is in reception!, wow, you feel like with deep friends, they help you in each of your problems, tastes, and needs. Day and night there is a very friendly guy that offers you security and support, even nice conversation about their country. I am from México, son i felt like if i was in a hotel with Mexican services, friendly, in good mood ald kind allways. Cost is Cheap, so, you can explain the full installations. Breakfast is unfortunatelly dissapointing stuf. Better a giid cofee and donas 2 blocks near. Cheers and enjoy Budapest!!!

Room Tip: Not much money but enough to carry your family, friend or alone? nice place!, you must adapt to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

silver hotel has very big clean rooms and just 1 second from adrassy street.it s also close to all the monuments.
breakfast is nice and stαff very polite and helpful !!!
every day they changed the sheets and clean our bathroom!!!
it is a very nice and quite hotel without a special decoration in the rooms but its for everybody.family,friends couples.
it has a big park opposite,market and the center is 2 seconds walk...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just had a week here from 7th to 14th Aug. Once we were buzzed in the door, the courtyard had a really nice feel and was a nice surprise. Our room was on the 5th floor and was a nicely decorated room, nice bathroom even if some pipes have been left exposed. TV had plenty of channels and we were happy to have Sky News channel to keep abreast of what's going on on the world whilst chilling out in bed, The bed was comfortable and there is a fridge in the room which was really appreciated so we could keep bottled water cool.

Things to be aware of:

1) There is no safe in the room so make sure suitcases have padlocks and lock passports, money etc in your case while you are out of the room.
2) We did have a free standing air conditioning unit but it was very noisy, the hotel staff did do something to make it a little better but it was still too noisy to sleep properly. It was made worse by the fact that the first two days of our holiday was a very intense heatwave - 44c during the day and 31c at night! One of the night reception guys was slightly abrasive to us when asking to have the Air Con looked at bust most staff seemed fine.
3) The courtyard gets noisy from about 8am onwards with people moving about and the cleaner wheeling trolleys along the walkways outside the room so if you like a lie in prepare for the odd disturbance.
4) The building is served by one one small elevator but even then at most we only had to wait a few minutes for it.

This hotel was really good for the money and a fantastic location close to the very elegant Andrassy Avenue. The streets felt peaceful and safe at night and it was nice and centrally located for everything. We didn't try breakfast so can't comment on it.

We would definitely stay here again and may well be next year on a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lot of negative comments about this hotel. Nearest bars 2-5 mins walk, 5 mins and your in the city centre with 100's of bars shops & restaurants . Why people say the area is unsafe is mind boggling, perfectly safe location . Rooms in general are basic but fantastic value for money. Location wise it is 30 seconds walk from the House of Terror literally. Great staff, great value, many thanks, we will be returning.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the square are the largest, BUT do not have curtains upto the skylight window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is great, very close everywhere to the centre + metro station just a minute walk from the hotel. The room was very small but nice and clean. I expected a little bit more judging by the photos, but the hotel was very cheap so I think it is fine.
The staff was great - very nice and helpful. Really nice people. We could check in much earlier without problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hotel Budapest

Address: Hunyadi ter 11, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hotel Budapest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Silver Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.