We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinions of this place...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dunaparti Matroz Kocsma

Dunaparti Matroz Kocsma
1011 Budapest, Halasz utca 1, Budapest 1011, Hungary (District I / Buda)
(1) 225-1673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed opinions of this place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Positives
- Nice atmosphere and layout. Wooden walls, I felt like I was inside a giant barrel!
- The goulash was tasty and had lots of pieces of meat, it also came with half a loaf of bread on the side, which is never a bad thing!
- Friendly waiters who spoke great English.
- Great portion sizes, everything was pretty big!

Negatives
- While the staff were friendly, they were very unattentive and it was hard to get their attention. Also there was one senior waiter training another man, when the senior guy departed for a few moments it all seemed to fall apart.
- Our two large beers took around 15mins to come to us, as our order was placed after a table who ordered eight cocktails. Surely common sense would dictate to pour the two beers first!
- After the meal, my boyfriend wanted a coffee and tried for 10mins to flag someone down, but they must've been wearing blinkers as they didn't acknowledge us. We finally got attention when we almost had to shout for them.
- We asked for the bill, it was placed on the table by the senior waiter, we then put down our notes expecting change. The senior waiter disappeared leaving the trainee, who also disappeared. After 5mins the trainee reappeared and placed the bill on the table of a French family opposite us, he then walked right past us whilst we were trying to get his attention to pay, but he didn't see. After another 10mins the senior waiter appeared, went to another table to take an order, then took the payment of the French family whilst we were still waiting to pay.
Eventually we left the correct money and left. If a customer asks for the bill, it means they want to leave, so why the big delay in taking payment?

All in all the food was nice, the atmosphere pleasant, the waiters friendly, but the service and payment was poor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
basingstoke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It had a good selection of main courses, mostly meat based. We ate there for the three nights of our break and had something different every night. The portions were large, but the prices weren't. Service could be a little bit slow as everything is cooked to order, but it's worth the wait. The food was delcious and the restaurant had a Danube view. On our last night they had changed to the winter menu and no longer had walnut cake for dessert on it, and I'd been looking forward to my walnut cake dessert that day. But, they still had a few pieces left and I managed to get it, even though it wasn't on the menu.

Unless you drink beer or wine, the soft drinks are quite small, I think the normal size id 0.25 L, so you need to order more. It wasn't just this place either, most places seemed to have small soft drinks, which was a bit odd.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Value and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Used this restaurant regularly whilst staying at the fab Art'otel near by. Staff are very friendly and helpful when choosing what to eat. Great value on food and wine. Very relaxed atmosphere. No need to book. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Something fishy...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped at this restaurant, on the Buda side, as we hoped it would be less touristic. little did we know. My husband wanted the fish stew (as he likes fish). When he got the food, it was deep-fried fish with a potato stew, we complained but were told that the dish we ordered wasn't avaialble. To avoid problems my husband accepted. 10 minutes later, another customer (English by the sound of it) also complained about not getting what he ordered, seems to me the restaurant has put this into practice, in particular when they have foreign visitors. We went back to the Trofea grill for a 2nd night after that!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good, most of the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have been to this restaurant a numerious times during our visits to Hungary and Budapest. We keep coming back because when it is good it´s really good. Allthough the service is really bad most of the times and it is hard to get in contact with the staff. BUT! The food is most often really good and their menu is fun to read with a lot of interesting stuff about Budapest. I guess the owners need to work on their staff to get a full score.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunaparti Matroz Kocsma also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Dunaparti Matroz Kocsma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunaparti Matroz Kocsma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.