We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4* value for money hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Park Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Park Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Nefelejcs u. 6, Budapest 1078, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 332 hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good 4* value for money hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We arrived into Budapest for a 4 days Christmas tour, we found the hotel to be clean, quiet and relatively modern. We chose to upgrade to a superior room for an extra 18euro per night, you get an espresso machine, a larger room and a much larger shower/bath room. The breakfast was adequate for what we needed, as eating in Budapest is relatively cheap than the rest of europe especially with a Macdonalds, KFC, supermarket and Burger King just a 30 sec walk away. The reason i liked this hotel is this hotel is just two minutes away from the metro where you can get to the city centre in 5 mins and is conveniently located to get to all the tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger, larger bathroom and an espresso machine but not sure if you are on a budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Sukh S!

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Royal Park Boutique Hotel and for posting a great review on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for your invaluable feedback regarding our location and our superior rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    256
    76
    16
    13
See reviews for
53
229
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is new but in a not very nice area right next to the station and very cramped. The ‘bar’ is just a small are by the door and the dining room small and not nearly adequate. Similarly, the rooms look OK on the surface but are crowded with two people and incredibly flimsily built, so you can hear everything from the other rooms and constantly disturbed by the lifts going up and down.

But the real problem was on the third day. Despite our having fully paid the hotel stay in advance (through Booking.com) the hotel suddenly turned round and demanded that we pay all over again and at almost twice the rate. My boy friend refused to pay, pointing to the confirming pre-payment (as well as no mention being made of anything when we’d checked in). The hotel simply got really aggressive and abusive. At first they wouldn't even let us get our things from the room until we threatened to call the police. The upshot was that we left the hotel without paying the extra but losing what we had paid for the other days and having to find another hotel for the for the rest of our stay.

To our amazement when we got home we found that the hotel had simply used the card details we had used to pay for a drink at the bar to take the extra they had demanded and had done so for all five of the days. In other words they just raided our credit card without any permission whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Carol P!

Thank you for taking time to share this incredible story. We can ensure all of our future guest that this story never happened in Royal Park Boutique Hotel. We have never charged any guest twice. The guest satisfaction is our top priority, we would never charge any guest after the check out. Our bar works by an outsource company and guest can pay ONLY in cash in the bar. They do not have any terminal for credit card payment at all, so this ensures that the comment is a false accusation.
This is a fake account to impair our good reputation.
We are very sorry that people can post comments without any real booking and there is no control to protect hoteliers.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel claims to be a ‘boutique hotel’ and have four stars – it’s neither. While it’s fairly new and therefore OK at first sight, that’s as far as it goes. It’s all very cramped and flimsy. The bar is just a small area by door (which is a single door, hence the weather blowing in and out). The rooms are crowded as doubles (but I suppose ok if you were alone) and very noisy from the combination of the lifts and street noise – it’s an insalubrious area right next to the station. The junior staff were nice enough but the management unhelpful and rather rude.
All in all, it’s poor value for money – a budget hotel for boutique hotel prices and charges. As someone whose been to Budapest several times, I know you can do a lot better elsewhere for the same price – I certainly won’t be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest, dear Jonathan L!

Thank you for choosing Royal Park Boutique Hotel for your stay in Budapest.

I do regret that we did not meet your expectations in certain aspects and you left our hotel with such a negative impression. We always encourage our guest to contact our reception team because I do believe that in most cases we are able to find a solution for any kind of inconvenience.

In case you would still decide to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can personally take care of you.

Kind Regards,

Szilvia Kecskeméti

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

No cleaning of garbich, they knock on the door and would like cleaning the room before 08:00 in the morning and wake us up.
Ok hotell but not like a real 4 star hotel, more like 3 star hotel.

Good beqause it was quite near city

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments; we at Royal Park Boutique Hotel take our guest feedback as paramount to our success and work on them as far as possible. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. I can assure you that all points have been shared with respective departments to ensure that such incidents do not happen in the future.
Please feel free to contact me personally next time you would like to visit us!
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Szilvia Kecskeméti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Everything as expected. Good service. Nice personnel. No issues experienced.
New hotel. quite close to the center of the city. Walking distance.
Good breakfast in the morning. Next to the East Railway station.

Room Tip: As expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear BMINLGM,


Dear Guest, dear Knudv V!

Thank you for completing a wonderful review for your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you had a great stay and it was not just the location, but the staff ensured that you enjoyed Budapest!

We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Szilvia Kecskeméti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good value for what we paid. Small room but clean and had good shower. Breakfast adequate. The area was a bit rough so in future I would pay more for a better area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free computers were provided in the dining area so we could email home

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Maria P!

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. Whilst I was pleased to read you generally enjoyed your stay with us, but we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with area. Concerning the road- and square renovation works, they belong the the new metro line M4, which will be opened very soon. It means, that these works will be terminated in the next weeks too.

Thank you again for the review and I sincerely hope that we can have an opportunity to welcome you back in 2014.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherkasy, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

All of it! Service at the hotel, the staff!!!!Excellent!!!!!All of it! Service at the hotel, the staff!!!!Excellent!!!!!All of it! Service at the hotel, the staff!!!!Excellent!!!!!All of it! Service at the hotel, the staff!!!!Excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szilvia-Kecskemeti, Front Office Manager at Royal Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest, dear Mykola1982!

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Royal Park Boutique Hotel and for posting a great review on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for your invaluable feedback regarding our staff and service which have been shared with the team here who are delighted to have made such a favourable impression.
We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Szilvia Kecskeméti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Boutique Hotel

Address: Nefelejcs u. 6, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Budapest opposite the Keleti pályaudvar. Excellent public transportation; Budapest International Airport (Ferihegy) can be reached within 30-40 minutes by taxi or shuttle bus. Hotel has also its own garage. This is a non-smoking hotel with 80 double rooms, free internet, air-conditioned rooms with in room safe and mini bar, 32-inch LCD digital cable television, telephone, hair dryer and soundproof, but openable windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.