We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Japanese meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arigato

Arigato
O utca 3, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)
353-3549
Improve this listing
Ranked #859 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Satisfying Japanese meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you are someone who appreciates Japanese food (and by that I don't mean California rolls), Arigato is a place that you should visit for some authentic Japanese cuisine. The dining space is nothing fancy, but nevertheless comfortable and informal. It is run by a nice Japanese couple who come out to greet you upon entry and exit.
This was our second time dining here and we enjoyed it both times. This is what we had: homemade gyoza, miso soup, cold tofu, udon soup, oyakodon and a cup of green tea to wash it down. It was all excellent and moderately priced. We will definitely come back again on our next visit to Budapest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We asked about what was in the sushi to place an order. They go away and then come back with two rolls that we didn't order. No problem, it was not great but ok. So we try to order what we want, and they tell us that they ran out of rice, can't fill the order. What kind of sushi restaurant runs out of rice? Very poor service, with bad attitude with server. I won't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

While there are a lot of orientals there (in fact all of the customers there tonight were oriental), a large number of them are korean and i would not consider their presence at a japanese restaurant "una garanzia di autenticitá".

We had their sake don and oyako don, while the rice used is japanese rice, it is of a lower grade than the typical sushi rice used in higher end restaurants and we could certainly taste the unevenness of the grain. The chicken in the oyako don was sparse and not fresh. My boyfriend enjoyed his salmon sashimi but not the rice which it was over.

This restaurant includes service in the bill, so there is no need to tip.

The green tea ice cream was good but not very strong (sort of like Haagen Dazs' green tea). We managed to add the azuki beans on top of the ice cream for additional 300ft, but they were stale and not the glistening, sweet paste that you see more often in japan or singapore. (see pictures). Also I thought 980ft for a scoop of average green tea ice cream is rather pricey.

The oyakodon was 1680ft and the sake don was 2900 ft, only slightly cheaper than nobu, in which case i'd definitely go to nobu, where the desserts are more creative as well.

The decor in the basement of the restaurant is quite nice though, not at all dingy or dark.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling - good and average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I've discovered this restaurant when living in Budapest, and my first visit in May 2009 was just wonderful! I remembered it as a truly authentic place with only Japanese visitors, very tasty food, simple and non-exaggeratedly minimalistic interior (they had a sitting area in the basement), and very friendly prices. So I happily took my spouse when revisiting the city after 1.5 year. The basement sitting area that I liked so much was closed and the upstairs interior reminded rather a Chinese bistro, the sushi was not so impressive, and we have ended up paying approx 60 EUR for a very modest meal for 2 and two glasses of wine. Maybe we were just unlucky this very time?

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Good, authentic Japanese Food, also by Japanese standards, at very reasonable prices. We experienced tasty food and a very pleasant service. I can’t comment on the sushi because we went after 8 PM and the sushi bar was closed. The interior of Arigato’s dining area might feel a touch unloved, however it didn’t spoil our visit at all! I would go back any time. After our visit the Japanese crew I went with started ordering their lunch boxes from Arigato.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arigato also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Arigato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arigato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.