We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with lovely service and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Intenzo

Cafe Intenzo
1091. Kalvin Square 9, Budapest 1091, Hungary
+36 1 219 5243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 64 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Hungarian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Londrina, PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place with lovely service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My favorite place always when I do visit Budapest, great food and great service make this a special place near to the Kalvin ter church in from of Kalvin square...
Their wines are very good as well, highly recomemnded

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    92
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, good goulash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very well situated in the center of Pest, a block from the fabulous central market, the little garden at the back of the restaurant is an oasis of calm and relaxation in the middle of the busy city. Their traditional Goulash made for a very nice lunch at a very affordable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate here 3 times during a 4 day stay in Budapest.....lovely atmosphere, very friendly and efficient staff who coped very well with our party of 20+. The meals were very good and reasonably priced. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff...we will certainly visit again. Tip left to our discretion, not automatically included as in many restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pleasant restaurant in Budapest centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I had walked down the street around the corner from this restaurant looking at menus on the restaurants that line both sides but they seemed to be only a few traditional Hungarian ones. So the Cafe Intenzo seemed a good bet.
I was happy I chose there.
The menu choice is a little odd. There is the a la carte menu which I was given when I say down, but also there are other menus which don't seem to be written down, a "daily menu" and a "business menu" or maybe a " tourist menu". These are kept in the waiters' heads I think. Anyway, my waiters es spoke very good English and I chose the " business menu" .
The was a choice of soups, chicken or garlic, a chicken mail course and choice of desserts, one, a Hungarian specialty and the other, Tiramisu.
The garlic soup was food, the chicken dish, ok, and the Hungarian dessert, very good, though strongly laced with some strong alcohol.
The menu, with sparkling water cost the equivalent of €6 or €7
service was pleasant, the outdoor garden area nice and quiet, and the food good..
Would recommend Cafe Intenzo.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
192 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“lovely traditional italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we went here twice recently and really enjoyed much about everything
they do a mixture of italian classics and hungarian favourites
everything we had here was beautifully served and presented
Barbara the waitress had great English skills and made our night a lot easier
they dont do pizza but the pastas and hungarian dishes were great
wine list was well priced and nice wines
heartily reccomended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Intenzo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Intenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Intenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.