We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, fantastic staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmo City Hotel to your Saves list
Cosmo City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location, fantastic staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in a group of eight and arrived in the evening around 7pm. The man on the desk got us checked in as quickly as he could and provided us with our bearings, maps and recommendation's. As it was raining he even provided an umbrella for my wife. In fact nothing was any trouble from any of the staff at the hotel. Taxi's and restaurants were booked promptly and they even surprised one of our party whose birthday it was with a bottle of fizz! The rooms were clean and of a good size, we had a corner room which also had a sofa. The bathrooms were more than ample. The only downsize to the room was the wardrobe space but this wasn't too much of a problem as we were only there for a weekend. Breakfast was a continental style with a couple of hot plates with scrambled egg and local sausage which was fine by us. Plenty to do in Budapest, really interesting place. Don't miss a visit to the Central Market Hall about 100 yards from the hotel, proper slice of Hungary with lots of tasty morsels to eat and visit the ruin pubs in the Jewish Quarter, nothing like them anywhere else that we've seen. Great hotel, top staff!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear B_JDerbysire,

Thank you for taking time to share your comment of your most recent stay with us.
We are very pleased you appreciated our well-appointed rooms, great location and excellent staff. Glad to hear that you and your friends were satisfied with our services.
Our entire team thanks you greatly for your very positive review and for recommending us, and we hope we can provide you with another memorable stay in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    189
    47
    8
    0
See reviews for
29
190
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

On arrival we where greeted by a lovely man who swiftly checked us in and gave us loads of information on Budapest which was great considering we have never been before.

The room was lovely and clean with a nice little window looking out on to the main street. The breakfast was fine - not amazing but a good selection of pastries, scrambled eggs, cheese, meat and cereal. With the price we paid (and breakfast was included) it was a bargain.

The area the hotel is in is fantastic - very safe and not too noisy.

I would stay here again - happily!

Staff are amazing too!

Thanks,

Suzie.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Zanysuzie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views and approval of so many aspects of our hotel, from our comfortable, clean rooms, to our terrific location in the heart of Budapest. Most importantly, knowing our team of hospitality professionals was "amazing and helpful" is the best compliment we can receive, and we greatly appreciate your recognition!
On behalf of all of us, please allow us to host you again in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very good clean and value for money hotel placed in a very good lovcation on Vaci utc. about 10 mins close to metro station.Staff was nice and helpfull.Very good and rich breakfast.Stayed there 4 nights and definetely would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Kounoupiani,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that we could contribute you to have great memories of your stay.
We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travel bring you back to Budapest either on business or pleasure.

All the best wishes from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week in January... The staff were excellent and spoke very good English. I the room was more than adequate for our needs with a nice bathroom and comfortable beds, and cleaned every day. The only downside was the breakfast, which would be fine for a short stay but a little tedious for a week. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Budapest.. Great value and excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Dtdb,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking time to share your comment with us.
Delighted to read that you were satisfied with our "excellent location", comfortable bed and personal services. Your honest feedback regarding the breakfast will be forwarded to the executives. It will helps us to improve our service.

We do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights start of feb. It is in my opinion the best location in Budapest. Turn right out of the hotel and you are a 2 minute walk to the Danube and 2 minutes in the other direction, takes you to the central market. It is on the main shopping street, at the end that is mostly souvenier shops but is just a short walk to all the major shops bars and restaurants.
Check in and out was simple and quick, the man on reception when I arrived,marked all places of interest on a map. The 3 reception staff, one night man, one Man during the day and a woman on my final day were all very helpful, polite and willing to help with anything they could.
The room was spacious and spotless, it was also very warm which was much needed as it was cold outside.
I didn't go down for breakfast so can't comment.
It is also reasonably priced and I hope it stays that way as I wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Dollyloulondon,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and for appreciating our efforts to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I will also ensure that your kind comments are passed onto our colleagues and they are given the praise they deserve for their hard work and commitment.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the not far future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a good stay at this hotel.
Very good reception, kind personnel, clean rooms.
We had good sleep and tasty breakfast.
Good information and recommendations provided at check in.
Good location (near the city center on a peaceful street).

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get a room which connects to the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Mihaela P,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking time to post your lovely feedback of your stay with us.
All of us greatly appreciate your comments and it makes us happy that you were satisfied with our services and central location.
It will be an honor to have you as a repeat guest, and we look forward to host you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great central location and good sized rooms/bathrooms. Bed very comfy and shower great. Breakfast rubbish we just had toast, can't complain as we paid a good price! They had some drainage problems at the time so the smell in reception wasn't pretty, overall it was a good stay and I would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Abigail B,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review of your recent stay.
We highly appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

We sincerely hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel in the heart of Budapest.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmo City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.