We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quirky little hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmo City Hotel to your Saves list
Cosmo City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel) (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quirky little hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great wee hotel in a fabulous location close to the Danube, the Market Hall and one of the main shopping streets in Budapest. It's about 10 minutes walk to a Metro line. The breakfast provided is adequate with a couple of hot choices, breads and toast plus a continental range. The rooms in the hotel are bright and welcoming and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The restaurant in the ground floor of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    206
    54
    9
    0
See reviews for
37
206
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just spent a week in Budapest. The Cosmo Fashion Hotel is perfectly situated on a corner of a side street and the main shopping street,100 meters from the Danube. Its close to everything which we loved as it meant we weren't tied to public transport and could walk everywhere from the hotel. The hotel staff were very helpful, the room we had (104) was big enough for a week and was modern, fashionable and cleaned daily. The breakfast was great, a bit of everything, more continental than big hotel style buffet but not lacking in anything, and the coffee was fine, just like the one you get in Ikea! All in all a great hotel for the price and again, the most perfect location. Also we pre booked Taxi4 from the airport to the hotel and it was 16 euro each way. We were greeted by the driver at the airport. No complaints and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the side of the hotel are off the main shopping street so are a little quieter. Either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taff in Transit
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited here overnight on a business trip and the first impression was super location, in fact ideal.
Arrived at 7pm and were close enough to see some of the city sights before going for a meal.
The staff were very polite and courteous, rooms were clean and comfortable.
The reason I have given 3 stars is simply because of the poor breakfast and considering it's location , could be improved even if near the tourist areas.
Would return if visiting with my partner for no more than a 2 night break

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed in this wonderful hotel from 3rd April until 5 April 2013 during my recent trip to Hungary. The location is awesomely strategic; in the middle of everything - food, entertainment, shopping, public transportation. The room is very nice and clean, and breakfast is included in the package too. The selection at the breakfast counter is basic - assorted of bread, pastries, cheese, salami, eggs, weenies as well as coffee and tea; but still fulfilling. Front desk personnel very helpful and friendly and they speak good English. One can arrange tour package from the front desk, I bought my Hop On Hop Off bus ticket from Front Office. The hotel has WiFi connection and the speed is AWESOMELY fast! Would be great if they provide tea coffee making facilities inside the room. Few minutes walking to Central Market Hall, National Museum, approximately 20 minutes walking distance to Parliament, Literature Museum. Cosmo Fashion Hotel also provide shuttle service at about HUF2,500.

Recommended for solo female traveler - safe, sound and don't have to share bathroom for sure :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is very central but I'd advertise spending as much time as possible away from the pedestrianised street the hotel is situated on which is full of tourist traps at much inflated prices compared to the rest of the city. The breakfast here was atrocious. After the initial disappointment we only returned once in four days even though it was included. Rooms are nice but the rest of the hotel is pretty shabby, quite small and not a lot going on. The cleanliness was pretty bad - no maid service just beds being remade with the same sheets. There is a sign saying leave the towels on the floor for fresh ones - despite 4 days doing this still didn't get any fresh ones. I'd recommend staying further north.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Easter, and chose it for the location and price. Its pretty close to the metro but once we got our bearings, it was an easy walk to the Jewish quarter which was much better in terms of food and nightlife, seeing as this location was smack bang in the middle of the tourist area, which wasnt as bustling as we thought it would be.

We had a room on the 3rd floor, and despite this being a non-smoking hotel, our room and part of the 3rd floor absolutely REEKED of cigarette smoke. I told the guy at reception and he just shrugged it off, so I was left to sit with our windows wide open for a few hours trying to get the smell out. Our room was also right opposite the cleaners so I was woken up to them being quite loud and chatty to each other. Also, the cleaners never really 'cleaned' our room, as there were always rubbish left behind.

Breakfast was pretty poor. Minimal and basically the cheapest stuff on offer, and they always seemed to be out of everything!

I've stayed in worse places, but I've definitely stayed in better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights before Easter 2013 in this ideal spot. Cosmo Fashion's staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and modern, adding to the relaxed atmosphere. Buffet continental breakfast was basic but fresh and varied. Only a few steps from the door is traffic free access to a good choice of restaurants and bars. (Don't miss out on the unique "For Sale Pub" opposite the Market Hall - goulash soup is superb: portions are big, so share to watch weight.) You are close to the Danube and bridge across to Buda, with wonderful views of Gellert Hill and the castle...the Market Hall is close by, from there trams and buses tour the city... in fact nothing seems far away as the entire public transport system works so well. [Also free to EEC citizens, if you are over 62 - and with Budapest Pass - check!] Do not miss the opportunity to relax in the city's magnificent baths and spas!
Our own choice of dates was not ideal - some buildings and attractions do not open until 1 April, so do your research - but there was still plenty to do and see . However Budapest is a lovely place and probably deserves another visit.
Running C's tip about booking transfers to and from the airport is a good one - ours was included and worked efficiently. [We also looked at the local trains direct to the city centre from the airport as a good cheap alternative. The stations are well served by the Metro, buses and trams to all parts.]

Room Tip: The streets alongside the hotel are quiet - Vaci is pedestrian only, and Havas is a cul de sac. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#67 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#92 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#54 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#43 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Hotel Kalvin House
#73 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmo City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.