We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, small room, diverse food selection at breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmo City Hotel to your Saves list
Cosmo City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Clean, small room, diverse food selection at breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The room is small and lacks a desk (there is a small circular table). There is a TV with 15 channels. The hotel overlooks Vaci Utca. The hotel has restaurant. Each room has a: safe, queen-sized bed, air conditioning, and minibar in fridge. Thick dark curtains keep out most of the light. There is daily maid service. There is a functional shower and newly renovated bathroom. Breakfast is included in the price. Buffett breakfast includes: hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sunny side up eggs, tomatoes, peppers, cereals, breads, yogurts, cheeses, meat cutlets, 3 types of juices, and hot drinks, and is served from 7:00a.m. to 10:00a.m.

The hotel has rooms on 4 floors and an elevator that gets stuck on an almost daily basis in August 2011. Payment is expected upon check-in, either cash or credit card, and is accepted in Euros. A key for the front door entrance of the hotel is not given, but an employee works at the reception desk 24/7 and buzzes anybody into the hotel who appears to be a guest rather than a criminal.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask if the elevator has gotten stuck in the past week; if affirmative, accept a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    189
    47
    8
    0
See reviews for
29
190
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is very clean, our double room was enough large, all equipment felt new. The breakfast had enough variation, fresh fruits and vegetables, in addition to salty/sweet pastry, variations of eggs, sausages and juices. Two things could have been a bit better. First, the nice room we have received in the top floor had a shared door with the neighbouring room. Of course the door is locked, but the feeling and nice coming from your "neighbours" felt a bit too close! I believe the room can be "opened" and is used for families otherwise. Second, the "welcome package" was a funny name for a bag full of advertising, but gives you a starting impression, if it is your first time in Budapest. In general, the reception service could have been a bit more professional or friendly, but no major problems at all! I recommend this hotel! P.S. Never visit the neighbouring restaurant called Galilei, the biggest rip-off and cheaters!

Room Tip: Top floor was nice, but there was the "shared" door room, which I do NOT recommend, due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Location could not be better really. Hotel is located on Vaci Utca which is one of the main streets in Budapest. Literally steps away from the main market, shopping area and bars,caffees & restaurants.


The hotel was amazing. We had a really large room with big windows. Interior is quite funky I would say, very modern with use of pink, black and purple colours. Bedrooms very clean.

Reception staff was abolutely exceptional, very friendly and helpful. Even though we arrived in the middle of the night, the girl at reception was really nice and so proffessional. Welcomed us with a big smile and gave us a welcome pack (contained map, info about hotel and the city). I wish all hotels have such staff.

Breakfast was also really good. However restaurant staff was not very engaged with guests. Polite but had a feeling like they tried to avoid any conversation etc.

Anyhow, I would definitely reccommend this hotel and I would certainly return to Cosmo if again in Budapest...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The location of this hotel could hardly be better. Just steps away from a very large market, restaurants all around, shopping and just a walk from a bridge to cross the river. From here, we were close to busses where we skirted the city at our will. The staff were exceptional, accommodating all our requests and offering help/advise when needed. The breakfast was very good, and in line with a typical breakfast we received in other hotels in Europe. Although the room was very clean, it was also very small. If there were more than the two of us, we would have had to move. But I did have a peek at other rooms, and it seemed like ours was definately the smallest. We spent little time in the room, and as two adults, we did not really mind that much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
888 reviews 888 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 262 cities Reviews in 262 cities
539 helpful votes 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The combo of fashionable Vaci street location and a great price had me hooked instantly. Looking back I was glad I chose Cosmo fashion hotel as it offers great value for money. Everything was walking distance, the Parliament, Gerbeaud cafe, Castle hill, Citadel, or Gellert Baths. The rooms are very nicely furnished and decorated, they are clean and everything works. The walls are bit on the thin side and you can hear people talking when close to your door. The staff is very helpful and really nice. The wifi is for free and you can easily catch it everywhere in the hotel. The breakfast is not the best in the world, but to me it was edible and it did its job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We're just back from 2 nights in Budapest and stayed at Cosmo Fashion Hotel. Would definitely recommend it as it had everything you need. Great location and had such an amazing bright room overlooking Vaci Street and could see the Danube. The only downfall would be the breakfast but we paid €70 each for 2 nights it was a bargain. The hotel were very helpful organising a taxi to collect us at the airport as our flight wasn't arriving in until 12.00am. Spottless rooms, modern and simple and huge bathroom. Have already recommended it to friends who are travelling to Budapest in the coming months.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My BF and I stayed here for three nights last summer after the Sziget Festival. We found it to be very clean, comfortable and was a great base for exploring the city of Budapest. The staff on reception were so helpful, especially on the last day with storing our bags etc until we left for our flights.
The room itself was clean, with a lovely comfy bed (especially after a tent lol) and overlooked a side street, it was so nice to throw open the windows and hear the pedestrians chatting outside. When we stayed it was over 30 degrees but the air conditioning kept the room cool. Bonus for wi-fi, toiletries in the bathroom and the hairdryer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmo City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.