We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest GuestRooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest GuestRooms to your Saves list
Budapest GuestRooms
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kofarago 7 Gf 1, Budapest 1085, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #10 of 160 Budapest B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We actually had planned a 3 days’ trip to Budapest in March, which we thought is the beginning of spring. The reality was a bit different. Winter had returned, there was a blizzard and the day time temperatures went below the freezing point.

The more we were happy about the warm welcome in Judith’s guest house. The way from Keleti train station, where we arrived, to the guest house was easy to find thanks to the helpful trip advices we received via email prior to the trip. Judith provided us with a lot of tips about the points of interest and also the more hidden places.

The rooms are equipped with everything you need as a sightseeing tourist. Every room has its own bath room. We slept very well in the comfortable beds. There is free wifi, so that you can check your emails or retrieve infos about the city. All rooms are very clean.

Judith’s guest rooms are located in the centre of Pest in a quiet street. You actually can walk to most of the famous places. However, the public transportation system brings you to all areas of Budapest much faster. Metro and tram stations are nearby.

We liked the discussions with Judith who gave us some insight views into the Hungarian life. As Judith and her husband like trips to cities abroad they know what the needs of sightseeing tourists are. This is what you feel when you are a guest in Judith’s guest rooms.

We felt absolutely comfortable in Judith’s guest rooms and we are sure to stay there again during our next Budapest trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
40
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013. We were looking for a small and homely hotel close to the city centre and this choice absolutely met our expectations. The rooms are nice, clean, cozy and well-equipped, and Judit, the owner couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We really appreciated her advice, tips, and the breakfast she prepared for us was pretty tasty. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants to try something different from ordinary hotel chains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed 3 nights, the staff especially Judith is very helpful, our room was absolutely clean with absolutely comfortable beds, offering free wi-fi and smart tv internet connection too. In the neighboring street found many restaurants and cafes my favorite was called Brody, a real local one. If again Budapest sure to book again here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. I was looking for a place with ensuite bathroom but not expensive. This is basically someone's apartment and the rented out the rooms. In summary, it was an okay stay but I'd stay elsewhere if I'm ever coming back to Budapest.

Pro:
- Clean, quite modern
- Responsive host if contacted via email, good English
- Location is near tram and one stop away from nearest metro station
- Free sparkling water
- Good wifi

Cons:
- A bit difficult to find even with instruction, but once you know where it is, easy to go around
- The magnetic room card key failed few times for me. I had to try 6 times until it succeed. Its a bit scary as it was midnight that time and the host is living elsewhere. She said if there's anything just call her but tourist for 1 night like me would not bother purchasing Hungarian phone card and I'll have to use my origin country number which will makes it international call! Gah!
- I really had to go to the bathroom and there's no common bathroom at all beyond the private rooms (the host said). - doubt it tho because where would she go if she needs bio break? - think she has another toilet but guests were just not allowed to use it

If you find my review helpful, appreciate if you can press that helpful vote. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestGuestRooms, Manager at Budapest GuestRooms, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your staying with us and for your review. It helps us to develop to be better and better every day based on our guest requirements.
We are a small charmful B&B in a historical centre part of Budapest called Palace District behind National Museum and the famous Eötvös Lorand University.

What is fact we have no 24 hours reception as we have only 5 uniquely decorated very clean en-suit rooms with air-condition in a 100+ years old building.
However we always are here when our guests arrive as they notify us about their arrival time. We are here to serve their breakfast and we are here to clean the rooms and of course to help in any matter our guests signal to us. We also provide a phone number for emergency case where they can contact us any time and as we have here FREE WIFI connection.they are able to reach us cost effective way as well.

We have a safe door opening system used in hotels with chip card; to handle it easily you have to remember only few basic thinks what we carefully show to you step by step at your arrival time.

As our accomodation have only 5 rooms we have no separate toilet on the common area but naturally every room have own bathroom with private toilet .

In addition if you stay with us you can live here like a local does we provide friendly personal atmosphere and you will have more authentic holiday experience.

Judit Somogyi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here between 5th and 10th September 2012. Great location for sightseeing, spotlessly clean rooms, lovely breakfast (great coffee, fruit, cheese, meats, yogurts, super breads, cakes!) and local inside knowledge from Judit who couldn't have been more helpful and spoke fluent English! What more can I say other than thank you Judit for a great introduction to Budapest. We shall be back to finish off the sightseeing we didn't do and to eat the cakes we didn't get to try!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a really nice welcome and great advise for our our 1st visit at Budapest. The guesthouse is really well-situated, close to public transport.
Our room was really spacious, clean and comfortable. We were happy to be there for a rest after a huge day of visit.
Judith, the host, gave relevant advise which allows us to visit nice areas of Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed with Judit for 4 nights in Jun and my husband and I absolutely loved the rooms. The rooms were very clean, well-designed and functional. They were also spacious and having a couch in the room was a really good idea as we could sit and relax after a long day of sight-seeing. The bathroom furnishings were of good qualiy and the bedsheets were silky smooth. Judit was very warm, friendly and helpful and she gave us good suggestions to plan our itinerary optimally especially during the last 2 days before we were due to fly off. We enjoyed the breakfast and the conversations we had which helped us to appreciate the Hugarian culture & life. Overall, it was the best rooms we stayed in our 2 weeks trip (went also to Krakow ,Prague & Cesky Krumlov) and we definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest GuestRooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest GuestRooms

Address: Kofarago 7 Gf 1, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest GuestRooms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest GuestRooms is a family owned, charming, cristal clean, recently refurbished B&B in a classical building in Budapest city centre. At Tripadvisor we have been awarded in 2013 the Traveller's Choice and in 2014 the Certificate of Excellence. We offer a perfect solution if you are looking for a convenient and affordable central accommodation in Budapest. We are pleased to feed you with local information, recommend you what is going on in the city and help you to make programs. Our pleasant and peaceful guesthouse is located near to National Museum, Dohany street Synagogue, Vaci shopping street, the famous New York caffee, Andrassy avenue, lively pubs, restaurants, music clubs. We offer FREE WIFI, a bottle of mineral water, kettle with coffee and tea, fridge and air-condition in each room. Breakfast is optional. We have a convenient location to reach everything on foot in the centre, but if you would like to save time public transport connections are also excellent from us. Our street is a one way reduced traffic street, thanks to this the rooms are very quiet. There is a car park close to us in a new parking house the cost is about EUR 10/ day. Stay with us to feel like home and you will get real value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budapest GuestRooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest GuestRooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.