We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream cake to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruszwurm

Ruszwurm
Szentharomsag u. 7, Budapest 1014, Hungary
00-36 1 3755-284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,582 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Cream cake to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This is the oldest pastry shop in Hungary--300 years old. It is on the Buda side near our hotel, the Hilton. We were told by several tour guides to try this place, but it was our tour guide today of one of the castles outside of Budapest who recommended the Cream Cake. It is their specialty, and oh my goodness, it is yummy!!! They gave us a pretty big piece, too. We split it and had two coffees, and it was very reasonable? Highly recommend this place, especially the cream cake.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    238
    124
    41
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tight but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

It's small and the room was packed, but we enjoyed a couple of cakes and tea/coffee. The cakes tasted differently than we expected them to taste, but that's part of experiencing a new place. Service was prompt and the crowd was mainly tourists.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for coffee brake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

When discovering budai varnegyed this is a perfect place for coffee brake, especialy on winter seasons. There a big choice of tasty cakes and deasent prices. Dont miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Sweets!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Don't you dare go to the castle and not visit this place. Very tiny patisserie right opposite Matyas church. Try these tradational sweets and many others. Every is so delicious! No so expensive as we were expecting due to it's location.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely old pastry and tea shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stepping into the shop you are greeted by the lovely smells! The old world wooden counter and tiny service window are still in use today. Service was excellent and we enjoyed coffee and almond cream cake. Don't be shy if you can't speak the language most servers speak English.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruszwurm also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ruszwurm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruszwurm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.